We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel!”
Review of B'O Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B'O Cottage
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We thought we'd booked a good hotel for overnight stay. Tired after long drive north, on our trip back to uk to see family, first we struggled to find it, signage is terrible. On arrival, we were surprised to be told restaurant was shut, and that we had to 'clean the kitchen and take out the garbage before you leave'! My jaw dropped. All became clear when we realised we had a sort of self catering flat. (We had had to upgrade to get a proper bed rather than a sofa bed.)
The flat was spotless and comfortable, but we hardly spent any time there though, as we were forced to go out to eat, and had to set off early the next morning for the ferry, so there was no time to use the pool and I had no intention to use the spa anyway. We went out to have a beer (bar shut too!) and to check restaurants in the town, and when we came back to change, the place was locked. We hadn't expected to have to use the entry code at 7.05!
It was good value, though I wish I'd settled for the sofa bed rather than upgrade, and my card was subsequently charged by hotel for the upgrade when I thought I had paid on line with the basic booking (must check this) and the breakfast, expensive at 12 euros, had good choice, but cooked food was strangely synthetic and coffee came from a machine. A pet hate. There seemed to be several young women on duty hanging about wafting people to tables and I was tempted to ask one to make me proper coffee.
The whole place had a really strange atmosphere, Sanatorium crossed with 'The Prisoner' (70s tv show). We hardly saw a soul until breakfast. Next time we'll stay in the town, much jollier and there must be a good 4* hotel there somewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AquitaineHirondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relationclient61, Responsable relations clients at B'O Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for write your sentiment about the tourist residence. In fact we are not a hotel but we offer optional hotel services, and include for guest free access to pools area ( adult and children) , hammam, kids club. We hope that when you come back in Normandy you choice to stay at bo resort to test all our activities

Chantal Defargues Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 440 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the B'O cottage on the way down to and back from La Rochelle in June. There were 4 adults and 2 children, we had the self catering apartments on the ground floor and the whole stay cost us something like 140E for both nights including the local tax.

We were all amazed by the quality of the apartment, fully equipped with fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, hob top, microwave and toaster. The beds were made up with duvets and linen that smelt lush and the (verry nice) bathroom was stacked with towels and bathrobes. There was also an outside area with clover grass which the kids loved after cooped in the car for most of the day.

We took them to the pool area which had a really lovely separate children's pool - shallow, warm as a bath and with slides and water sprayers. I didn't get a chance to go in the main pool but it looked very nice with jacuzzi areas.

Sleep quality was great, very quiet and dark and an ingenious bit if design which meant the kids bunk beds were sandwiched between the main bedroom and bathroom meaning no windows hence no early waking!!

Breakfast was good and plentiful and they even run a kids club at the weekends but have the play room with art stuff and board games open at all times by Reception.

Only grumbles are: restaurant only open about 3 nights a week but the town area is near and stacked full of places to eat, the Bar closes at 9pm and the lower bunk bed could do with a rail up as one of mine took a tumble out 1 night but was fine. The other night we barricaded him in with 2 dining chairs and it was fine! It's also a bit of a bugger to find if you have a crazy SatNav like we did and is about 45 mins from the Autoroute if you're using as a stop over.

Overall, a stunningly high quality place for the price we paid, would most definitely go back and would highly recommend.

PS - If you eat out go to La Belle Epoque - Michelin recommended and absolutely gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dynamene1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relationclient61, Responsable relations clients at B'O Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear guest,

It is very nice to read your enjoy after your stay in the tourist residence and write your satisfaction about the quality of the apartment, “fully equipped”, and leisure equipment for adults and children. We hope that you are staying another time in B’O resort .

Chantal Defargues
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 364maudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cyrille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Olimans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relationclient61, Responsable relations clients at B'O Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: n'y aller pas
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ecuba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relationclient61, Responsable relations clients at B'O Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Celine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relationclient61, Responsable relations clients at B'O Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel O Gayot
Hotel O Gayot
#7 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Camelias Hotel
Les Camelias Hotel
#8 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B'O Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B'O Cottage

Address: Boulevard de la Gatiniere, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range: $63 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B'O Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B'O Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B'O Cottage Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing