We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Le Manoir du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Manoir du Lys
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked a one night stay on our way back to the U K from a holiday in the Dordogne. Our room although very nicely decorated with with a pleasant walk in shower area, was very small. The hanging space for our clothes was only 9 inches wide without any length as this was taken up by the mini bar ( could have done without that). Lovely bath robes were supplied but once used no where to hang them. The hotel was very busy with many familes as it was a holiday weekend, but the staff were lovely all very helpfull and pleasant. The food once again was very good, but compared with a restaurant in Bergerac with a similar level of expertise we found it on the expensive side. There was a problem on the bill which I did not notice until I returned home. At which point I emailed them and also highlighted the problem of the small room. They responded very quickly and expalined as most guests were staying for several days that was why we had the smaller room and were most apologetic and made recompense for the error on the bill.and made an offer for our next stay. This is a lovely hotel, with very pleasant staff, near to a lovely town, and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks a lot for your letter, we are waiting for your next stay to make you more happy with a bigger room. We noticed all your recommandations. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 718 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with my wife, my daughter and with our dog. This hotel is perfectly located for hiking ( direct access to the hiking Trial gr32) and to visit the Normandy.
We had very Large suite with 2 rooms ' pavilion du Bois' located in a new building perfect for a family. The room was perfectly clean, very quiet with a large bathroom ( with a bathtub and shower) and a very nice terrace. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was terrific, only fresh ingredients and the Staff is really great, one of our best experience !

Only thing missing was the Internet connection in the room.

We strongly recommend this hotel, the staff is so nice we feel pamper and you can relax !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour vos encouragements, notre personnel est ravi et motivé. Nous avons pris bonne note de cette mauvaise connexion WIFI, un devis est en cours... Il est vrai que notre emplacement privilégié dans les bois, nous pose des soucis... Mais nous ferons tout pour y arriver cette année. Bien à vous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location was great and all the staff we met were excellent. The hotel restaurant was the main attraction and our meals proved to be exceptional. We concluded that this helped to achieve the Manoir's four star rating because there were too many minor flaws with the rooms (we asked to move from the first one provided) and general facilities to justify the rating.

Despite these comments we enjoyed our stay and thought Bagnoles a charming town and a good centre for visiting other attractions in the region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much, We appreciated your comment. Just to tell you that 4 stars is a new classification in france. most of the 3 stars will become 4 stars. and we know that will have to do more renovations. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

In a pleasant and calm setting on the fringes of Bagnoles, this hotel offers excellent facilities.The reception staff is welcoming, pleasant and speaks good English. The decor is smart without being pretentious or vulgar. The bedrooms are well appointed, spacious, and flanked by immaculate bathrooms.
We found the dinner service initially a little slow as they were busy with a large group of motor enthusiasts from Jersey in an adjoining dining room, but once our order was taken the food which materialised on the package menu was very pleasant, and Madame and the waitresses were absolutely charming.
The breakfast buffet was faultless and generous.
My husband is very absent minded and left his swimming trunks in the bathroom. I subsequently approached the hotel by e-mail upon our return home, and this morning the postman has delivered an enveloppe containing the said shorts immaculately laundered. We are immensely grateful and he is delighted as he disliked the replacement we bought in the intervening period.
I have visited many hotels in my time as as an inspector and have no qualms about recommending Manoir du Lys. We shall certaily use it again as a stop-over in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you very much. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights as part of a group touring Normandy in vintage cars. The English-speaking staff (especially Melanie) were extremely helpful with our advance arrangements and we all received a warm welcome on arrival. The rural setting is very pleasing and facilities (including pool), though not extensive, were perfect for us. Bedrooms vary between compact but well cared for rooms in the main building to spacious suites in the newer detached annex. Meals (in particular dinners) were one of the highlights, the cuisine and service being beyond reproach. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff who were the best possible advertisement for family-run hotels. In fact we have had nothing but praise from all those who participated in the tour and many are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and book a suite in the "Pavillon des Bois".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilledout52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Many thanks for writing about us. It was also a pleasure to welcome you and your nice cars. All the staf is very happy (especially Melanie). All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had four delightful nights at Manoir du Lys staying in a Pavillon Room, one of their new rooms on stilts, a short distance across the garden from the main Manoir. The room was spacious, modern and secluded with a private balcony overlooking the fields and a small herd of French cows! There was a small sitting area, comfortable bed, safe, mini fridge and luxurious spacious bathroom. The balcony had a table and chairs with a parasol so you could sit and relax in the afternoon sun with a glass of wine in total privacy. There was private parking for two cars underneath the room.
Breakfast was very pleasant but I am not sure I would pay 16 Euros a person for it if not included in the rate. It consisted of fruit, yogurt, delicious bread and homemade confites, coffee, juices, cold meats etc. It set you up for the day but you may prefer to spend 5 Euros for a coffee and croissant sat in delightful Bagnoles.
The hotel has an indoor and outside swimming pool and tennis court but we didn't use either. The grounds are very attractive and there is plenty of free parking both inside and outside the grounds.
Manoir du Lys is very well known for the quality of its food and dinner every night didn't disappoint. The courses were light enough that you didn't feel over full leaving the table but were beautifully presented and tasted delicious. There was also space for the delightful French cheeses! Service throughout the hotel was exceptionally good.
Wifi is available free of charge in the Reception area and the bar.
We had an excellent visit to Manoir du Lys, based on staying in the room we had, and if in the area again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel and would happily recommend it to others. One drawback is that it is a little too far to walk into Bagnoles, partly along a busy road but that is a minor point and didn't detract from the overall experience. A delightful stay and I would class the hotel excellent in all categories!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in one of the Pavillon Rooms for luxury and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

It was a pleasure to welcome all the group with very nice hold cars. Hope to see you again and thank you very much for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Le Manoir du Lys for a couple of nights in late August. We arrived late in the evening, so the first real experience of the place, after a very pleasant welcome at reception (including a free room upgrade), was the excellent restaurant. The food is good and the extensive wine list means that there's something for most tastes and most pockets. We had excellent weather, so were able to make the most of the pool and the surrounding grounds, countryside and local towns. Overall, a very nice place for a short break, and although it's not cheap, it offers a lot. The restaurant was the star attraction.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you very much and hope to see you again....
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bois Joli
Hotel Bois Joli
#6 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel O Gayot
Hotel O Gayot
#7 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
#12 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir du Lys

Address: Route de Juvigny, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range: $142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir du Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The manor is located on the orne, region of normandy in Bagnoles de l'orne, spa town. It is located in the heart of the forest and offers family atmosphere, with inventive cuisine awarded by international gastronomy guidebooks. Just one hour from the Mont Saint Michel and the D-Day beaches. "Theme" weekends including mushrooms and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Manoir du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Du Lys Hotel Bagnoles-De-l`Orne
Le Manoir Du Lys Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing