We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and very accommodating with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Manoir du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manoir du Lys
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and very accommodating with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks with 3 children, 5yrs, 7yrs and 10yrs. Stayed in a bungalow which had a separate bedroom with 3 sofa beds for the children. Not many hotels provide 5 beds without having to pay for 2 rooms. Lovely outdoor swimming pool with undercover area. Smart restaurant with equally impressive food. Had childrens menu and very accomodating if they wanted something different. Don't expect chicken nuggets/pizza and chips! Wifi quite slow and not available in bungalows which are a short walk from the main hotel. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Bungalows ideal with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ompom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks a lot for your note, it is very nice of you to take time. It is sure that for the children is very fun when the sun is here. All the best and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    164
    52
    14
    8
See reviews for
82
426
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Manoir for a couple of days for the 3rd time in June and it was every bit as superb as our previous visits!
Excellent service, beautiful characterful room, superb dining - all one could ask for in 4 star accommodation!
On this trip we stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the front and it was lovely and quiet, although the main road could be seen. This was a different room from those we have had in the past, but was equally as good!
All 3 that we have stayed in have been different and no complaints on any account.
Dining is an experience in itself and we have never found it to be anything other than superb!
Knowledgeable, attentive staff assist make this a culinary delight from start to finish and the food truly is Michelin worthy.
The car park is set slightly away from the hotel front to ensure cars aren't parked all over the place or create any noise and it's very safe with lots of room.
We would not stay anywhere else in this beautiful little town, that's worth a visit in itself, and I was more than surprised to read some slightly disparaging reviews about this excellent hotel. We have found it to be first time lucky on each of our 3 visits and could not recommend it highly enough! I know we will keep staying here whenever we are this part of France.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your very nice note. The staf is very proud and will be happy to welcome you another time. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

every last detail is covered and every and the food and service impeccable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
thanks a lot for taking time to writing, every one is glad to read...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel in the atmospheric spa town of Bagnoles de lorne near Alencon in the Orne region is lovely and an excellent value. The restaurant has a michelin star restaurant and cooking classes are offered once a month.

We thoroughlz enjozed visiting this undiscovered part of France, especially in May when the apple trees were in blossum.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks a lot for your compliment, very happy for the staff, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We found Le Manoir du Lys via a 'coffret smartbox' -
Very nice and very welcoming service - we even received a call from reception on our way to the hotel asking whether we'd like some advice on how to best reach it by car.
Excellent dinner (part of the coffret offer), very nice buffet breakfast. We did use the indoor swimming pool which is not very big, but sufficient to be able to relax.
Only suggestion I'd have is to add a fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russule, Propriétaire at Le Manoir du Lys, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
thank you very much for your congratulations, we think about a spa in the Hotel. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domfront, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Th room was a little small but very well equipped. The staff were friendly, efficient and warm all of the time. The restaurant experience was amazing, great food and excellent engagement with the staff. A little pricey but a great trip and stay

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a06192013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a wonderful resort. Restful, quiet and we stayed in a beautiful chalet room. The staff were excellent, the restaurant would be hard to beat and seeing deer and foxes on one of our evening walks was magic. The cooking demonstration was fabulous. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEurotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bois Joli
Hotel Bois Joli
#7 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Roc au Chien
Le Roc au Chien
#3 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel O Gayot
Hotel O Gayot
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir du Lys

Property: Le Manoir du Lys
Address: Route de Juvigny, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir du Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The manor is located on the orne, region of normandy in Bagnoles de l'orne, spa town. It is located in the heart of the forest and offers family atmosphere, with inventive cuisine awarded by international gastronomy guidebooks. Just one hour from the Mont Saint Michel and the D-Day beaches. "Theme" weekends including mushrooms and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Manoir du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Du Lys Hotel Bagnoles-De-l`Orne
Le Manoir Du Lys Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing