We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Peaceful Home from home”
Review of Le Roc au Chien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Roc au Chien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you look at the location on Google Earth you would expect this hotel to be quite noisy as it is situated on what looks like a main road. In fact with a few exceptions, the main sounds are birdsong and babbling water which immediately provides the hotel with a relaxing quality even though it is such a short stroll from the centre.

We stayed in room 19 which, although it didn't have a balcony, was excellent. Newly refurbished, by the looks of it with a quirky modern bathroom in the turret. Bath was a little small, but perfectly functional and spotless although floor as greatly to the quirkyness.

Without exception, every member of staff we met, were excellent and very keen to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

There is clearly a programme of refurbishment and renewal currently taking place, so we may have been lucky to get a refurbished room and certainly there are areas of the common parts which need attention to bring them up to the standard desired, but the place is very well cleaned and smelled fresh.

Bar was a bit small but outside area on the pavement is good if weather permits. No bière pression though, just bottles. Garden was a bit scruffy but it had rained for quite a few weeks before we got there so maybe that explains.

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Interesting round bathrooms in the turrets rooms 4, 11, 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b4yah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

We had travelled from Massignac, after staying at Chateau domainte etangs which was outstanding so perhaps that tarnished our view of this hotel. The staff at front desk were helpful on arrival, we had asked for the room with turett and balcony and this had been provided but it was a bit run down, the room smelt of damp and the bathroom I would not have wanted to bathe in. We overlooked the thermal spa but as we were only staying one night as a stop over we did not have time to visit. We booked for dinner and walked into the lovely town, enjoyed the shops. One our return we asked for coffee and the lady was very kind and provided for us in the reception area. The Manageress, well we think it was the Manageress, she walked around in a offical way, was not very friendly from the outset. We returned to our room and my husband went to ask where the parking was. It would have been really helpful if this area had been pointed out on arrival. When he returned after parking the car at the back of the hotel he was asked to show the tread on his shoes like a school boy and the manageress checked for whatever had caused a stain on the hotel reception carpet. He returned shocked to the room after duly having his feet checked and receiving the all clear. We changed for dinner and the Manageress informed us we were not booked in for dinner. The other member of staff who was most helpful throughout our stay corrected her. Whislt waiting to go to dinner the Manageress bent down and made a point of mopping the floor behind us - for no apparent reason as there was no stain anywhere to be seen.

The dinner was ok, sufficient, certainly not excellent.

In the morning we could not enter the main reception areas as the door was locked, we could not get outside to the carpark to take our suitcases as we had an early start as the outside door was locked. This bothered us, if there had been a fire we wondered how we would have got out. Eventually after banging on the door we were let into the main reception area. The breakfast was nice and the staff in the morning were very accommodating and friendly.

This hotel has the potential to be a very high quality establishment but the whole place was just tired looking and the Manageress really made our stay uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank editham234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre 11 avec salle de bain dans la tourelle est très agréable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sebastiens993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres très confortables et très calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank veroniquelottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fabienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine r, Gérant at Le Roc au Chien, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagnoles-de-l'orne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Potiniere du Lac
La Potiniere du Lac
#5 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bois Joli
Hotel Bois Joli
#7 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
#12 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roc au Chien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roc au Chien

Address: 10 rue Professeur Jacques Louvel, 61140 Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roc au Chien 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Le Roc au Chien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roc Au Chien Orne/Bagnoles-De-L'orne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing