We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food , great service, good value, great location...”
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lassay-les-Chateaux, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food , great service, good value, great location...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

...and great atmosphere. Always buzzing, this is what a traditional French bistro should be like. No nouvelle cuisine here, just good French fare in generous helpings served by friendly, welcoming staff. If you are a regular, there's even a loyalty scheme for a bottle of bubbly...enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeGormandiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    136
    27
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent food, great value and service. Highly recommended. With a lovely view over the lake, great food as always, what more could you wish for?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forget, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“I'm Surprised I'm Surprised !”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I wonder why we have not been here before. Tonight, whilst looking for a cheapish alternative to eating in we went to Bagnoles intending to have a pizza or similar. As most places were closed (January 2013) for the low season, we decided to try the Cafe de Paris (perhaps we should have looked at TripAdvisor in advance).

What a lovely little restaurant, over looking the "Lac".

The food was of a high quality, with polite and attentive service. The choice of food was good and was very good value. The portions were very generous, which is unusual for some French restaurants.

The only downside was that I had a large beer which cost EUR 8.20 which was a hefty portion out of the EUR 55 overall bill for 3 courses each (there were 2 of us). This is why I have not categorised the restaurant as "excellent". The Kir was moderately priced. For a change, we didn't have wine so I can't advise on this.

If you are in the area, this restaurant is worth a visit, but perhaps avoid the beer unless you are really keen on the stuff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch was as always excellent.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Service is as fast as you want it to be. You can take your time or say if you are in a hurry. The choice is good and the quality is high. The platters will feed a growing teenager!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Lovely view over the lake, excellent service with great food. Plenty of French people eating always a good sign.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, Orne
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, Orne
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing