We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Clartiere

View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Lounge sitting area with log burner Kitchen with all facilities new 2010
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View of cottage from south facing garden. No adjacent property within 50m
Lounge sitting area with log burner
Kitchen with all facilities new 2010
View of nearby lake which is 10 minutes walk away
View of cottage from south facing garden
Date stone
Master double bedroom with ensuite
View over fields from 1st floor
View from the garden over the fields belonging to the cottage
View approaching down 50m private drive
Hall entrance and downstairs cloakroom
Upstairs landing
View of 18 hole golf course 1km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie S
Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely house It looked lovely on the photo, but it's even better when you see it. Beautiful cottage. We were very comfortable, it felt just like home. It was very well equipped, the only thing we did find difficult, was the drying of our washing. There didn't seem to be a washing line, only a clothes horse. But that was a very minor thing. I loved the open plan set up, perfect when you are on holiday with others, as you didn't feel left out by having to spend time in a separate kitchen, you could cook and chat and as in our case keep half an eye on the footy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The open plan
Liked least: No door on the twin room en-suite
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. There was a washing line but the Apple tree it was fixed to collapsed!! in May. Glad you enjoyed your stay we have equipped it as if it was our home rather than just a rental property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasH48
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and very comfortable”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful, secluded cottage, well equipped. A good centre for sightseeing in the Calvados, Orne and Eure areas of France. In easy reach of a small town, Vire, which has a number of restaurants and good supermarkets

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: The only complaint we have was that there was no wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
We bought the cottage after staying in it for exactly the reasons you list. Glad you agree with us and hope to see you again
Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
2 reviews
“Hard to beat Holiday Accomodation in Swiss Normandie”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Visitors Book in the lovely Cottage covers 15 years and every page is complimentary. Says it all ! It is home from home and quietly secluded but not too far out of the way. Great base for visiting this picturesque part of France and only one hours drive to the West coast if you want a day on the beach. Lots to see and do.
Would definately stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Picturesque and peaceful
Liked least: only the weather....very mixed !!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
The visitor book is now full and we have a new one. Only one bad review in 15 years - you cannot please everyone!!!
Thank you for your kind comments
Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippaa...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really lovely cottage”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We really enjoyed our stay; we are a family of 4 and the space and layout worked extremely well for us, and the kitchen is very well equipped. We had a fair amount of rain during our stay but there is so much to do in the area that we still had a great time and did loads of things. We definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Glad you liked the cottage and location. Sorry about the weather. we are sure you would have better luck if you came again. Thank you for your kind comments
Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfy, well equipped cottage in rural setting well placed to tour Normandy”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Only an hour from Ouistreham you will find this delightful thatched cottage set in the midst of beautiful, peaceful countryside. With family and friends we have holidayed in Northern France over a 15 - 20 year period. La Clartiere gets our vote for the most comfortable and well equipped gite we have had the pleasure to stay in. A short walk, or a few minutes drive, visit Lake Dathee which offers easy walks around the lake, boating and fishing opportunities. There are marked cycle routes across the area suitable for families to enjoy. Whilst in a rural setting, we found easy access to the road network for visiting Omaha Beach, Bayeaux, Le Mont St Michel, Granville, Avranches. Wonderful friendly local bar/store owner who provides a daily menu of starter, mains, cheese and sweet plus a glass of wine or cider for 11.50 euro! (as well as fresh bread, croissants etc) Nearby Vire offers a wide variety of eating choices at very reasonable prices. An amazing relaxing, get away from it all holiday with, when you wanted to be active, plenty to see in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property overall and its location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Wow - we are pleased to be the best you have stayed in. We strive hard to maintain standards that we would expect and are used to ourselves and will continue to do so.
Thank you
Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie G
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent get away in comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful cottage in an amazingly tranquil setting. Well equipped for four people with lovely wood burning stove. Cycling in the area is excellent with places such as Mont Saint Michel and the D-Day Landing beaches within easy reach. Would highly recommend. About 5 km from the main town Vire with limited places to eat but good market on a Friday and excellent large supermarkets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, it was comfortable and home from home
Liked least: Small double bed - 4'6" (but it was very comfortable)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The location and tranquillity is why we bought the cottage after staying in it 8 years ago. Hope to see you again. Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I S
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Rural Idyll”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage has everything, combining rustic charm with all mod cons. Peaceful environment but close enough to Vire for shopping or eating out. Not overlooked with south facing patio on which to relax on the loungers provided or to take an evening meal.

The owners have thought of everything including restaurant recommendations and also provide a generous welcome pack. Plenty of brochures and guides to Normandy tourist attractions.

Bicycles available if you feel energetic enough to ride on quiet roads and cycle path nearby. On the other hand you may wish to take advantage of the supply of DVDs and books.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful spot to relax after day's touring
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurants! It certainly is peaceful which is why we bought it after staying there one summer 8 years ago. An opportunity to get away from it all but at the same time in easy reach of every facility. Thank you again. Stephen & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing