We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveler rating
161
347
125
31
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
347
125
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle the bus the free continental breakfast funky rooms small shopping an enjoyable stay super close split level three adults hotel is clean until midnight would definitely stay here again family room secure parking shuttle runs perfect location check in was easy
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 678 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017

I'm not sure why you'd choose to stay ON the Mont; you have a better view of the island from the mainland, and the hotels are just as nice or nicer for a much cheaper price.

Case in point, Hotel Gabriel. This hotel is clean, comfortable, and provides a very nice, if spartan, breakfast buffet. And the price even in high season is very reasonable, and includes parking.

It's a little strange to have to get a code for parking, but one phone call took care of that, and it truly made parking easier in the MSM area. Our room had a slight view of the Mont, which was also a bonus, and a very spacious room with a large and clean bathroom.

Some notes: there was a bit of a smell to the hallway and room, I think perhaps from cleaning the carpets with water and the lingering smell you get while they dry? Not sure. In addition, our room had a single bed in addition to the double, but there was a hanging chandelier low over the bed that I kept hitting my head on.

Look, it's not a luxury hotel by any stretch, but it's clean, conveniently located, and has a nice staff. Use this to beat the tourist traffic by visiting the Mont early or late, rather than trying to visit and go back somewhere else.

While visiting, I recommend walking to the Mont for the first time rather than taking the bus. It's a lovely walk and builds the anticipation. For food, try the Relais du Roy restaurant if you don't mind paying the price for fine dining (still a fraction of what you'd pay in Paris, approx. $100 US for two people with 3 courses).

Room tip: Get a triple so you can spread out and get a view of the Mont.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindnuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Like most European hotels the room is small but suited our purpose. Bed was fine. Bathroom small but fine. Location is great for a one night trip to Mont Saint Michele. I would recommend it. Secure parking and nearby restaurants are a plus. They also have family size rooms which is good.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DebraNLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesportesMSM, Responsable commercial at Hotel Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Debra,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a message on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in the Hotel Gabriel***. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel to specifically visit Mont St Michel. Parking was free in the onsite car park. Hotel was quite funky and clean & comfy - see pics. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is on a private complex of around 4 or 5 hotels along with a cafe, shop and campsite. Buses are available every 15 minutes to and from the island and are free if you're staying at the hotel - however they are packed solid with visitors so be prepared for a snug journey! The only fault I can say about the hotel is that there is no bar. The only place that has one which is open late - until midnight, is the Relais du Roy restaurant, which is next door. All other bars seem to close around 9pm. Saying that though, I would definitely recommend a visit to this property.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank beanie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesportesMSM, Responsable commercial at Hotel Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment on TripAdvisor with details of your recent stay at the Hotel Gabriel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will definitly share your review with our staff.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

This hotel is basically the equivalent of a Travel Lodge in the US. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was very good, and the location is prime for getting the shuttle. But, the rooms are basically colorfully painted dorm rooms, and the prices are as high as they are only because there are no alternatives. NOTES: Avoid first floor rooms, and make sure to contact the hotel that day via email or phone to get the code for the gate. (They charge you the 4 Euros anyway).

Room tip: Avoid ground floor rooms - they have doors to the outside so you cannot open a window.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesportesMSM, Responsable commercial at Hotel Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Joel,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Gabriel***. We are very sorry that you felt disapointed with our hotel. Feel free to call our sales departement if you would like to talk about it.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

This hotel is inside the gated area of the town of Mont Saint-Michel. The hotel gave us the code so we could park our rental car in the hotel parking lot. Check-in was easy. They gave us information about restaurant hours, catching the shuttle to the abbey, and information about breakfast, which was included. We were in Room 106 (up a flight of stairs) and from the right side of our window we could see the abbey! I think Room 105 would have had a view as well as the rooms above us. It was awesome to see from our window at night. The room looked smallish for 3 people, but it turned out our daughter did not come with us. They also had free wi-fi and it was close to where you pick up the shuttle. The decor seemed a little dated but for what we got, it was a good value. When we checked out we mentioned that although we had a reservation for 3 people but our daughter went to London instead, the person checking out gave us a lower rate for 2 people instead. That was greatly appreciated. I would definitely stay here again. Please note, the restaurants have limited hours and it's important to make a reservation if you want to eat at anything in the evening other than The Rotisserie. Maybe this is only a problem during the busy summer months.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank KHW94587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews