We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent with the price.”
Review of Hotel Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The location is convenient to the Mont and the shuttle. The room, though quite small, was clean. I knew there would be no AC, but a fan in the room would have been nice. We did not eat breakfast there so I've got no opinion about that. Check in was easy and the people were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 594 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was simple, clean and perfectly located for use ro enjoy St. Michel. The village is only car access able to those staying at one of the hotels. They emailed us the gate pass code the night before. It was a lucky chance that I even got it as the Internet was weak at our previous hotel.

There are no elevators. Rooms are small. Internet is not reliable. Parking is free at the hotel. The rooms were clean and bed comfortable.

There is a grocery store in the village and I found a laundymat that was affiliated with this hotel which allowed me access.

Shuttles to the Mont run regularly back and forth until late at night. It was awesome. Lots of stairs. No elevators. You have to be able climb stairs to get up to the Abby.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee5555565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Good:
Cheap, bang for your buck. Very convenient location. About 5 min walk to the shuttle bus. A grocery store right across the street, more importantly, a restaurant that has awesome sandwiches. If you on a budget like us, you won't regret picking this one. The breakfast is pretty cheap too, 7 Euro per person. The bathroom is quite ok for a hotel of this price range.

The bad:
Not so comfortable beds. Small. There aren't lots of power outlets in the room so if you have more than 1 device to be charged up, you will have to take turns. There is no elevator.

I would recommend this one to anyone on a budget.

To anyone thinking about a trip to Mont Saint Michel, its worth every penny for staying one night in the area. The best time to view this place is definitely the golden hours of photography, aka before 10 and after 6 (during summer time). And night view of Mt. Saint Michel is incredible as well. The shuttle runs very late (till 1:00 AM) and bring a tripod and set your camera for long exposure, you will end up with some incredible pictures to awe your friends. The weather can be unpredictable so always be prepared!

Room Tip: Pick a ground floor room if you hate stairs. But book early and email the hotel ahead of time cuz th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We thought hotels near mont st Michel would be really pricey but we stayed here for only 55 euro. The rooms were simple but very clean and comfortable and with tvs and wifi. Good bathroom. If you are looking for charm stay in the actual mont but this place is great to save money, still SUPER close ( especially as there are free shuttles every 5mins to and from
The mont) and spotless and tidy. Oh and the front reception lady was lovely and helpful. Heaps of parking

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amyandben1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The night time Receptionist was hostile, officious, and took 90 minutes of precious sunset time to book us in.
Daytime Reception staff were great.
We received an upstairs room despite a special request for ground floor in our booking because there is no lift.
But nothing was negotiable and as an older couple we had to lug our heavy bags up two flights of steps or pay the porter whom she would not call out at night.
The room however was large, spotless and allowed us to spread ourselves out with a Queen size bed plus two singles.
However there were no towel rails in the bathroom and no power points in the room to plug in and charge or download.
Breakfast was very good choices.
Parking was safe in the street outside.
Just 5 minutes from the Mont so location is very good, although there is only one main street of accommodation other than B&Bs.
The Receptionist did not even say Goodbye when booking us out and continued to be hostile.
I would never consider staying here again as it spoiled a wonderful place we visited.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the car park are noisy even with windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

For visiting Mont St Michel, this is a fine, convenient option. The room was clean, quiet (we stayed in mid April) and seemed perfectly secure. We enjoyed good water pressure in the bath/shower and a comfortable bed. There is plenty of storage for your luggage and belongings. We appreciate being able to open the windows for fresh air.

Breakfast was satisfying: the European standard of lovely baked goods, hard cooked eggs, cereal, cold cuts and tea/coffee/juice. The staff were polite and helpful.

Even in the shoulder season there were many motor coaches carrying tour groups through and I would expect that July or August could get very crowded. Mont St Michel and environs are fantastic to visit and I would be happy to stay at Hotel Verte again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel this is not what you are looking for, however if you want a good price hotel, friendly staff and a hotel that is conveniently close to Mont Saint Michel you have to choose Formule Verte. If you have a car you are close by Mont Saint Michel, the hotel is in front of a super market, an automatic laundry open 24hs, 10 min in car to a Mc Donalds, and the rooms are clean and our in particular was big and comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FedeP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel

Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: $118 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Gabriel has 45 comfortable rooms with shower and W.C.. Twin beds, doubles, triples, or family rooms for 4 or 5: alone, with friends, as a couple, or a family, each guest will find the room he or she would like for the stay at Mont Saint-Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing