We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Digue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Digue
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Leonia, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We visited Mont-Saint Michel this past July 2013, and stayed 1 night at La Digue. Although the room itself was acceptable, the staff's attitude towards us was not. In order to get to the main street where the hotel was located, we needed a security code to drive onto that road - we were never informed that we needed this code, so that when we arrived in the area, we had to make several phone calls to the hotel just to get the code (they gave us an incomplete code the first time we called)!! Once we got through the security gates we were told check in was later, so we left the area to drive around. When it was time to return to the hotel, the first security code did not work! We had to call the hotel again for a new code !! They never told us we would need this new code. Finally, after visiting Mont-St-Michele, when we returned to the hotel that evening, we found out we needed yet another security code to get into the hotel building. The staff had not mentioned this when we checked in that afternoon. the person at the front desk was rude even with all the "code" issues we had; no apologies from them at all. There was literally no customer service or accommodating management. It felt like they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay in their hotel. I think it was unacceptable that we were never informed about the numerous security codes - what kind of management is that? I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    68
    71
    70
See reviews for
76
128
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is an example of what not to do when running a hotel. Having arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon, we were told that our rom would not be ready until 4:00 p.m. The front desk reception was surly and unhelpful. The room was very small, with a broken lamp and smelling of smoke and stale oil. While we did have a view of Mont St. Michel, the large ashtray full of butts outside our window made it impossible to open our window. The hotel staff frequently gathered outside our window to smoke, and since the kitchen ventilation system was also outside our window, the quality of the air was unbearable. We were given two small, thin pillows and when we asked for more (after waiting two hours for someone to show up at reception), they were delivered without pillow cases. The bathroom was the type on would find on a bus--a small, plastic insert, where the shower was fed by water from the sink. At breakfast, there were no plates or cutlery laid out--we had to find them in a closet on our own. All the staff were outside smoking. Staying at this hotel was a profoundly unsatisfactory experience. We ended up checking out after the first night to stay at a hotel nearby for our second night. Le Digue seems to be relying on its location to survive--they offer nothing else!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PowellOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. Worst nights sleep in a long time. It feels like you are staying in a school camp with very thin walls, terribly uncomfortable bed and flimsy pillows. It is very noisy. You can hear the front door bang closed every time it is used even from our room which was down the first floor corridor. Our bathroom did not look like the photos and our shower door did not close properly thus flooding the entire bathroom with each use. Our room was very basic- no fridge, no aircon & a basic wall heater. The restaurant here is appalling. Avoid it at all costs. Parking is available across the road for 1.50€ per day. Note: make sure that you get a response from the hotel when you let them know that you have a car. You must have an access code for the entrance to the road/carpark/hotel. It is not possible to park short term near the access point and walk down to the hotel to get it when you arrive. The police were at this point fining cars parked in this area when we arrived. If I were you I'd visit Mont-Saint-Michel for a day trip (2-3hrs should do it) and keep driving to better accomodation. This whole area is a dive for accomodation and if it weren't for tour groups it would be in trouble.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice location. Didn't book this hotel were moved here from another. Not value for money at all...room canary yellow and en-suite was damp, stale and in dreadful need of a good clean, let alone decoration. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel characteristic of a captive audience at a site like the mount...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loughie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte - BRAZIL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is nicely located with an extraordinary view (both dining room and breakfast on 2nd floor ) of the Mont St Michel.
Very clean room (with facilities) and good options at the restaurant (this a bit pricy though).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara_Vieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked it months in advance and we specifically requested twin beds. We we arrived we found that the rooms were one "double" bed (tiniest ever) in and even tinier room. We complained and finally they obliged putting us in a bigger room. It is not a great hotel, and definitely not a 3 star by any standards, but it is conveniently located to visit Mont Saint Michel (MSM) as it is absolutely advisable to go there as early in the morning as possible. Not recommendable but not many options around.

All what surrounds MSM is overpriced and tourist related, but when one sees the monumental view of MSM all is worthy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Vtxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Booked this due to proximity of Mont St Michel and the free parking through bookings.com.

Was expensive but thought it would be worth it due to proximity. The hotel could have been anywhere.

Room had a view of a fence and had a very bad red theme. The beds have very old blankets, no duvets. It was a family room for four but the room had four single beds. The beds are lumpy and we had horse riders and joggers passing by our window.

The bathroom was lovely - one of the nicest I have seen in a hotel and they have free wifi although it was a bit patchy and not consistent with loading.

The restaurant has a lovely view of Mont St Michel but it is expensive - €4.50 for a class of coke.

I offered to pay on arrival but was told I could pay when leaving. The price from booking.com was €120 for a room for four persons. When I got there they quoted €130. When leaving I was charged an extra €29 for the children, tourist tax etc which I questioned and was told in very suddenly poor English that they are on the booking conditions. Thetaxes where on the conditions but nothing about the children supplements. I had been told on checking in about the extra €39 I would have voted with my feet.

Not good value - best to avoid. Wouldn't go back.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yule42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#6 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Digue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Digue

Property: La Digue
Address: Lieu-dit La Caserne | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Digue 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you all year round in an authentic and congenial setting, overlooking the Bay and the Mont Saint Michel, often called the Eighth Wonder of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Digue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Digue Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing