We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely expensive and surly service”

Restaurant Le Relais du Roy
Reserve with
Restaurant Le Relais du Roy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Extremely expensive and surly service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I don't know if I blame the workers for their poor attitude as so many visitors were rude and obnoxious. I suppose that takes its toll. We purchased overpriced juice, water and pastries there and ate them American style (on the run) as the place was cold and unwelcoming - and it definitely did not look comfortable to sit in. Perhaps the atmosphere is nicer when the weather is clear and sunny - but we understand that is uncommon in this part of France.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    187
    68
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It may not be a top-ranked quality of food and service, but I found it relatively delicious and acceptable, epecially sea food. We had moules and fish (set menu 19 euros) as well as blood putting. The deserts were quite delicious, too. I haven't been to other restaurants on the same block so can not compare.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank debrakuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Food could be a lot better”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We ate there because we were staying at the hotel and were tired, although we knew there were more highly rated restaurants a few doors away.

it began with the service. Although the restaurant was almost empty, it took quite a while for the waiter to show up. When he did, we said we wanted to order wine and dinner at the same time. He said he would bring the wine before we ordered dinner. We pointed out how long we had been waiting and insisted that he take both orders then (we were tired and wanted to go to bed). He did what we asked, and after that we had great, though haughty service.

The food was good and bad. The bad: the mussels were gritty, the fries were mediocre, and the "puffy omelet" was yucky. The good: the lamb stew was very good -- served with broadbeans, and bites of other tasty sides. The minty, chocolate desert was nicely presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty fare, awesome desserts”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Large, airy room that made me think of a banquet hall, but the enormous fireplace was lovely. Staff were about 10 min late opening and our reservation was for opening time, so we were met with locked doors when we arrived. There was unusually poor weather the day before, however, so we can forgive that. Starters were pork rillettes and fish soup (more of a bisque) and both were very tasty. We ordered the same main - stewed lamb with local vegetable mix including broad beans, salsify and tomatoes. This dish was truly delicious and we would definitely order it again. A selection of local cheeses followed, which we enjoyed very much. Dessert was a chocolate mint milles feuille "after eight" and vanilla caramel creme brûlée. Both were excellent. It was a great dining experience and we would recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a good, medium priced meal with local foods.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dyberrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Relais du Roy also viewed

Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 

Been to Restaurant Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing