We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel but costly barrier access”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vert
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel but costly barrier access”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed one night in a quadruple room (212) that was clean and comfortable, made up of a double bed, a single bed and a day bed that converted into a very comfortble single bed without the room feeling cramped. Breakfast was simple but quite satisfactory.

We booked online but were not advised that there would be a need for an access code for cars to enter the area housing the hotels at the base of Mont St Michel. The arrangements are such that EACH TIME you enter the complex by car you must pay 4 euro to obtain an access code from your hotel. Without this code the guards will not let you enter the complex. We opted to leave the car at the hotel and use the shuttle bus to and fro. If you are not staying at one of the hotels you can park at the car parks nearby and catch the free shuttle bus to the Mont. The walk from the hotel to the Mont is a VERY WINDY 30 minutes.

There are hotels on the Mont but if you have more than cabin luggage I would advise that you stay elsewhere as the Mont is steep to manoeuvre with suitcases.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    177
    102
    20
    3
See reviews for
105
125
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best way to see and ENJOY Mont St. Michel is to wait to at least 2:00pm when the tourist buses start to leave; by 4:00pm it's 90% empty. There are a few hotels on the Mont itself but don't advise staying there unless you don't mind carrying your luggage up lots of stairs. Just outside the Mont, on the causeway leading to it, there about 7 hotels and the Vert is one of these. It's OK at best and not all the hotels near the Mont have a/c and this is one of them so avoid staying here in the summer. As an option to staying on the Mont or the causeway, Pontorson is the first city off the causeway and there are inexpensive hotels there as well. Free shuttles run every 5 or 10 minutes from Pontorson which also pickup the tourists staying on the causeway up to 1:00am. We stayed at the Vert for only one night in June 2013 when the weather was still mild and the only reason why we stayed here was for the convenience of free shuttles to the Mont. It's a two-star hotel but offered a clean room and the staff were nice and spoke English except for the guy working nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel was clean and very conveniently located, the price was reasonable, so normally I would give the place a solid rating of 4 stars. Unfortunately the issue with the security gate brought the rating down for us.

Getting to the hotel requires a security code for the gate that changes daily. This was not communicated to me by Logis when I made my reservation. I've read on-line posts from other travelers explaining that the hotel emails you the code on the check-in date. I booked my stay on-line, so it wasn't unreasonable to assume that the hotel had my email, and will e-mail me the code.

It was hard to get wifi connection on the day we traveled to check-in, but I made an effort to check email - nothing from Vert. Unfortunately, the hotel never emailed me the code. I had to do a very long walk from the security gate to the hotel lobby just to get the code, and back. When I asked why the code wasn't emailed to me, they said they never had my email address. Other travelers have mentioned this issue, but the hotel continues on with this poor practice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location...
Close to a small supermarket.
Hot water was not hot enough to enjoy hot bath.
You need to pay 1.5 euro to come to this hotel with a car.( need to pay not for parking but for the gate pass code. And if ever you wanted go out of this stupid area once, you need to pay 1.5 for each time... strange system.)
Too many tourists and French people try to organize everything pricey and artificial.
Why I have to pay money just to get close to a Church???

Room Tip: When you arrive with a car you need to get a pass word for a gate ( When I was here 5 years ago it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernolakovo, Slovakia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

As we decided quite late to visit Mont St. Michel during our trip to France, there were not many options left to book.
We have chosen this hotel. The price for triple room was OK. The hotel is located where all other hotel in the area are so no problem with that.
Check in without problems, staff speaking perfect english and helpful.
The room was quite simple and basicly equipped but clean including bathroom. Only the heating could heat the room quicker but it was not a big issue.
The breakfast were simple and a bit pricey for what you really get.

Basicly you get waht you pay for and it definateliy serves it purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicroBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

we spent a night in the small huts, not the main hotel building, it was very cheap and in a great location very close to mont saint michele.
the room was clean not to small, but the bathroom was very small and i needed to be very carefull as im a big guy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almalik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodetour, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Vert, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank you for your message. Our hotel has 54 rooms, all equipped with television, bathroom, telephone and you can use also free wireless. The hotel has 2 buildings and it is true that bathrooms are bigger in the main building.

We hope to welcoming you again and remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room at the Hotel Vert (not to be confused with Hotel Verte) was simple but fine. We had a single large room with two single beds and a double. There was lots of space, no elevator, no AC, but it was clean and quiet...and you couldn't beat the location. We ended up having breakfast at the local Pâtisserie and then hopped back in the car, heading to the Loire Valley. Our family of four were happy, just a bit hot without AC, and woken frequently with the window open. This hotel is all about the location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodetour, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Vert, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your message. Our 2* hotel is situated 200 meters far from the shuttles to Mont Saint-Michel. Our rooms have no Air Conditioning but are equipped with television, telephone, bathrooms with separated toilets.

We hope to welcoming you and your family again in Mont Saint-Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Aubert
Le Saint Aubert
#16 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vert

Property: Hotel Vert
Address: Route Du Mont St. Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vert 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is open all year round. Its staff, ever mindful of your relaxation and comfort, are available to answer any questions and tell you about the most important places to visit on the Normandy or Brittany side of the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel.Facilities :BarWifiFree car parkBicycle hireSupermarket and souvenir shopGroup reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing