We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, nice restaurant and decent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Certificate of Excellence
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice restaurant and decent stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hard to beat the location - walking distance to Mont. St. Michel, or if you prefered, a few steps to the shuttle bus. The staff was nice and friendly, the room was decent (we had a nice view of Mont St. Michel from our window), and the restaurant was very good. We really enjoyed our dinner there and the breakfast was decent enough (although I would have been happier if there were other options to explore nearby). Spent two nights there and would certainly go back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tkemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodetour, Responsable commercial at Le Relais du Roy, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you for your compliments on your way to the Relais du Roy. Our team will be very touched by the notes that you have assigned to your meals, both in service and quality of food and accommodation.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible to enjoy a fine time!

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    263
    108
    21
    4
See reviews for
102
296
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is within walking distance from Mont St Michel and was worth the cost to be so close. It was a large room and comfortable. One problem we had was the toilet got stuck and were unable to get it fixed (happened over night and we were checking out in the morning). The Wifi codes also had to be re-entered a number of times to remain online (even to send an email had to re-enter the codes a few times). Other wise the room and the restaurant were great. We had dinner there and was quite a filling 4 course meal which was quite tasty. We also had breakfast which was not included but offered more food than the traditional buffet and worth the price. It was great to stay so near the Mont as we could see it all lit up at night and would highly recommend anyone coming to see this site to stay overnight to see that!

Also, getting to the hotel was quite easy even by taking public transportation. We arrived by train in Pontorson and right outside the train station was a bus that was a shuttle to Mont St. Michel. The shuttle driver asked us where we were staying and let us know when to get off so that we were right across the street from our hotel. There is also ample parking in the area if you are driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mont, was awesome to see right outside our room. Also, if traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ctthrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel itself was average. Clean, good staff, adequate rooms, nice window view. The location was great, very close to the shuttle stop to Mont-St. Michel and close to the bridges where you can watch the tide come in. WiFi was a bit sketchy and kept timing out. Compared to other French hotels it was average, definitely seemed to be catering to a touristy crowd with the goal of providing adequate service to tourists but not creating a memorable lodging experience.

Room Tip: A room on the beach side rather than the street side is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Location is as close to Mont Saint Michele as you can get with views from balcony rooms. Only 50 metres from Le Barrage which is interesting in itself & offers great views of the Mont. Check-in was pre arranged & prompt. One of our suitcases was taken to the wrong room with someone else's left in ours. The room was comfortable with twin single beds, no air conditioning, though balcony door could be left open. Toilet was separate and a little difficult to enter and shut the door. Shower over the deep bath would be a problem for people who are unsteady or with balance issues. No room safe. Free very slow Wi-Fi inc. Evening Dinner was a fixed menu and was fresh & tasty. Breakfast menu had an acceptable range of typical cold selections. Hot food was powdered scrambled egg & bacon. No Espresso coffee!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Le Relais du Roy is about as close to Mont St Michel as you can get without actually staying on the Mont, so access is great. Other than that, its very average compared to other hotels and B&Bs we stayed at during a recent trip to France. The room was about the smallest I've ever been in with an incredibly small bathroom and WC room (yes they're separate "closets"). Bear in mind that I'm not comparing the size to a average mid-range US hotel room, but to other hotels I've stayed in in Europe (I've traveled throughout Europe and used to live in Switzerland, so I've seen many a European hotel room in my day), The room was also not that clean and a bit dated. My review on the staff is mixed - some of the people we dealt with were great and others not so. There was an issue with access (I never got the access code for the gate to the area in which the hotel is located), so we parked and I walked to the hotel to get the code - no biggie, I suspected that might be an issue since I read that the area in which the hotel is located is restricted. The front desk person almost argued with me that I should have the code on my confirmation and felt like she was going out of her way to look up the code - not the way to begin your interaction with your guests. Other staff we dealt with were professional, friendly and great to deal with. Honestly, the best thing about the Le Relais du Roy is its location. The next time I come to MSM I'd be inclined to stay in one of the many B&Bs in Beauvoir, just down the road. Beauvoir is about two miles south of the Mont, but a real village with great restaurants and an absolutely amazing patisserie. To visit the Mont, drive a few minutes and park in one of the lots closer to the Mont. You'll be able to experience real France and save a few Euros at the same time.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the very end of the halls - they have awkward layouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We did not want to haul all of our luggage up to the Mont so we elected for a more modern hotel right in the center of the town on the mainland. It was modern and clean but the room was very small but we made do. Did not take the breakfast. We had been seeing all the pastry shops in the cities and decided to take breakfast at those as compared to $13 euro + - hotel breakfasts.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the end of the hall where the building was slanted so the room was very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpm5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a great hotel to visit Mont. St. Michel. The deficiencies were the lack of elevator, the small parking spaces and the lack of enough parking. The room was clean with a view of the sunset. Also, very close by you can take a photo of the Mont at night when it is all illuminated.
The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
532 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Property: Le Relais du Roy
Address: la Caserne | BP 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing