We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable, Suprisingly Spacious”
Review of Le Relais du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais du Roy
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took the advice from most and spent a night outside the Mont and not within. Good advice, given that most of the hotels on the Mont was quite ridiculously priced. This property is among the nearest to the Mont on the causeway if it matters to anyone, and apparently every room has a balcony view of the Mont. Ours did, but I did have to crane my neck out to look at it. It's not like I could set up a tripod on the balcony... However this didn't matter because the property is 50 metres to the free shuttle that will take you to the base of the Mont every 10-15 minutes. I was expecting the room to be tiny but surprisingly, to their credit it was not. There was a good size for my 3 year old to jump around. Supermarket and café right across the street, restaurants are abundant on the causeway. Only reminder I would give is to make sure you call the hotel before arriving to obtain the passcode, which you will need to present to traffic control on the perimeter of the immediate MSM area, before you can enter the area to park on hotel premises. It's Eur 4 for this access which is anyway totally worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LambShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 571 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is not on the island, but very close to the beginning of the causeway and affords beautiful views, particularly at night from the viewing/photography platform behind the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms quiet and spacious (even had a separate toilet which was a surprise). You can’t drive in without the keycode for boom gates, so need to park outside and walk a few minutes into the hotel to check in and get the code.
Our favourite part of the hotel was the food. We took the half board option for €161 (which covered 4 course dinner, breakfast and room for 2 people). The dinner was the best we’d had in France, absolutely delicious, had such an enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends and paid for half board, so dinner and breakfast where included. What a great decision, the four course meal was amazing and breakfast was very satisfying. The room was spacious and comfortable with river views.
We where a short walk tithe bus stop to get to the base of Mont saint Michel (but it is also only a short walk). Another close feature is the weir just behind it that is great for getting Photos of the Abbey. Great night spent hear.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel forget got to send the promised security code the day before.
I emailed and got no reply.
I rang and had to wait 10 minutes while the reception found the code and believe I had a booking.
We were sent round and round the outside car parks 4 times by an old french gentleman who must have been told not to let anyone go through the barrier to the hotels.
Eventually we got the code and made a dash for the barrier guarding the hotels. Punched the code in and we were through.
At the hotel, the receptionist looked at us when we told her our story. Shrugged her shoulders and pouted her lower lip as if, what do you expect me to do.
It really spoilt the beginning of the experience. We laugh now about the old boy who would not let us get to the hotel.
PLEASE GET THE CODE BEFORE YOU ARRIVE or just make a dash through the barrier.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is outside the wall but I think the location is perfect if you want to photography Mont St Michel from a distance. The room was nice. Good size. Two sinks in bathroom. The floor was a bit squeaky. Wifi in room. I had to arrive at Mont St Michel one day later than I had originally planned. I phoned the hotel on that afternoon I was due to arrive and the lady was very understandable. So I just switched my arrival date to one day later. But when I arrived at the hotel late at night, the two guys working there were in such a hurry. I was only handed my room key. No telling me where my room is. Didn't have a chance to ask about wifi, breakfast, or checkout time. I think customer service needs some improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What can we say that has not been said already??
We loved the staff especially as we had a 9 months old with us at the time. The staff was very helping. Unless you stay in the Mont, you cannot stay closer to it: 3 minutes away with the shuttle that is on the hotel's doorstep! The restaurant is also a must. We went for lunch before driving off and we were pleasantly surprised (the "house cider" produced locally at a farm is EXCELLENT).
Only negative for us: it needed a little refresh but I now read that this happened since our visit so it should be 5/5 by now.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a view to the Mont, request it when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I took my mom (68 years old) to MSM from Paris. Our bus from Rennes arrived only a few steps away so it was really convenient. We elected to eat dinner at its restaurant and the experience was good! Even though there were a tour group of Japanese (about 30-40) but they were really quiet and orderly. Because of the large group I was prepared for slow service but it was actually not the case at all!

My mom and I thoroughly enjoyed the embiance of the beautiful dining hall as well as the food and service. Furthermore, our room (105) has a tiny balcony where you can stick out your head and see the gorgeous MSM! It is small, of course, but I like the sight of it.

Speaking of convenience, the supermarket is just across street and the free shuttle to MSM is only steps away. I bought a bottle of the famous cidre at the display stands right next to the hotel; later I found out the prices at the supermarket were a lot lower. Though I liked the supermarket in general I did feel that I was ripped off big time by buying a 4GB memory card from it (about 19 euros), even the souvernir store in the abbey was much cheaper (10 euros for 4GB).

It is very chilly in the evening there so make sure you bring eough warm clothes with you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrakuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Aubert
Le Saint Aubert
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Roy

Address: la Caserne | Bp 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: $69 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is Tastefully decorated in a classic style, the hotel's bedrooms have all that is necessary for a short stay or undisturbed holidays at the foot of Mont Saint-Michel. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view of Mont Saint-Michel and the River Couesnon. There are duvets and soft pillows for refined comfort.The hotel has rooms for 2 and 3 guests, and one for a family.Facilities :Non smoking roomsfree wifi accessFlat screen satellite television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Roy Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing