We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price - could be better”
Review of La Vieille Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Vieille Auberge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price - could be better”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After Paris I went to this hotel. It was cheap, but I was expecting something better. The staff was nice and helping. It is always à pleasure to visit the Mont Saint Michel
We have been woke up by à dog in the middle of the night, which is never good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferenc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    58
    31
    56
See reviews for
65
152
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room's size didn't match the pictures displayed on the website at all, but everything was clean and comfortable. We were awaken around 5 AM by people working in the Auberge, thought - my guess is that they took advantage of the early hour, and the main street's emptiness, to carry big amount of bottles. This happened the two nights we spend at this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in the annex. The rooms are small, but clean. The important thing is to stay on the island one night and enjoy this magical place once the crowds have gone - our visit will be something we will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrosencpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

One night on the Mont is a must do. This hotel provided that at the right price. It's not cheap but it's not the most expensive. The rooms are small but the views and experience are incredible and not to be missed. We had room 201, it was small but very clean, comfortable, and completely adequate with a terrace that had a fantastic view of the sea, The bell tower of St Pierre, the parish church of Mont St Michel, can be seen from the balcony and the beautiful bells heard throughout the day. I guess it's just your perspective on if church bells are 'bothersome' or beautiful :-)... Check in was at the La Vieille Auberge restaurant, then the receptionist came and guided us to our room which was way up the Mont at the foot of the abbey. Everyone was very nice and accomodating. We spoke a bit of French but everyone we encountered at the hotel spoke English.

There has recently been a switch on how you get to the Mont. You now must park before the causeway and take a shuttle to the Mont. Call the hotel the day of your stay and they will give you a code for the gate on where you must park. Add a 'V' to the end of the code which means 'enter', this might be evident to others but it wasn't for us. The hotel didn''t tell us this, but after some confusion at the gate we figured it out. It was the first weekend for the shuttle process and I think everyone is feeling their way through it.

We would recommend staying at La Vieille Auberge - great location, wandering the Mont at night and early morning is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room 201 is wonderfully located close to the Abbey entrance, but pack light as you will need to brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our second stay in La Vieille Auberge. We had room 203, which is one of four (201-204), which have a terrace. Our friends were three (and we were three last time, in August), and though the rooms can accommodate a third person, they are small. In my opinion, if travelling with three people, find a different hotel, though the avaiability of a terrace (unique for all hotels in Mont St Michel in my opinion) might outweigh the small size of rooms.
The bathrooms are basic, but clean and satisfactory.
Breakfast is offered in the Auberge St Pierre and that is always a lovely experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We wanted to stay on the island, but were finding prices way too expensive. We declined the hotel's first price and they came back with another room up the hill from the main hotel. It was barely in our price range! It was worth it!! It's not so much about the room as being there. The room was small, dated decor, but fine. It was clean. We had a double, a twin, and a twin murphy bed. Tiny bathroom and an odd long hall from our door to our room. We had a rooftop deck that was amazingly private with an amazingly beautiful view. Spent the evening after all the tourists were gone walking the island and watching the sunset. I found the island during the day too crowded. It was like being at Disneyworld on spring break. Dragging our luggage through the cobblestone streets in the crowds was not fun. I would recommend staying here just to be able to enjoy the island without the hordes of tourists.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs on the island. Decide how much you want to carry your luggage when choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were in France for seven days and this was our favorite spot! The view from the terrace was awesome and ever changing with the tide and sun. The church bells added to the authenticity. The room itself needed updating, but it was clean and comfortable. I was not buy the 10 euro breakfast as it was just bread, coffee and orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Auberge

Property: La Vieille Auberge
Address: rue Principale, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Vieille Auberge 2*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Vieille Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vieille Auberge Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing