We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very small”
Review of Hotel Du Guesclin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mont-Saint-Michel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Du Guesclin
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night on the Mont. the hotel is well located and staff were friendly
We had a room on the First floor , so no real problem with getting luggage up one flight of stairs . The room was right next to the stairs and also the toilets, so was a bit noisy until after 10.00pm
The room was tiny,wifi was patchy ,plumbing was noisy when upstairs flushed the room vibrated and the shower so small that one arm touched the wall and the other arm stuck to the shower curtain
However the bed was comfortable ,the room was clean and the price was reasonable. If you want to stay on the Mont it is still worth considering but you may want to get a room above the restaurant with a view

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We (myself, spouse and another couple) spent a night at this hotel the week of Apr 23, and overall had a very nice stay. One enters through a storefront like door into the ground level bar, and then directed to the next level where reception is. Our room was up another flight of stairs, and overlooking the bay towards the mainland. The room was adequate in size, clean, and had a decent mattress. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of hot water. The windows are double paned and the room was quiet. Sound insulation between rooms was also OK- couple next door was coughing a lot but could not hear it too loudly (or they took cough medicine)- have been in much worse, and also better. The restaurant food was fair at best - chicken was overcooked, and I had the cod which also was overcooked. But the mussels were decent. Remember that this rock has a multitude of overpriced, tourist restaurants, so cannot speak to comparison to the others. The price is very reasonable, and a "continental" breakfast is 9 euros. The parking - make sure you tell them at the parking lot cashier that you are staying overnight so that they put you in the closer lot that is NOT flooded by the tide. And you will have to carry or roll your bags about 100 meters over the flat parking to the entry of the Mont, then another 100 meters or so up the ascending tourist street to get to the hotel. We arrived in the mid afternoon, spending the rest of the afternoon exploring the Abbey (worth it, but hey, not much else to do on the Mont), then had dinner. My friends and I are photographers, so we ventured out around sunset and again at sunrise to the causeway for photos. After around 5 PM, and before around 9AM, you have the Mont to yourself. The tour bus loads of tourists are gone between those hours.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The view, well all I can say is that I wanted to keep the curtains open so I could stare longer. The reception was vry friendly!

But.... Our sheets, while clean had at least one small tear in them, and the whole thing could use some tlc. We ate at the restaurant, which we felt was reasonalbly priced.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank AustraliaMaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

One of my husband's top "bucket-list" sites was to spend a night on Mont St.-Michel. I arranged for us to do this at Hotel du Guesclin. We were awarded with a room--albeit quite small--which had two windows that afforded us with views of the tides. What an incredible experience--as was the amazing venture up to the Abbey! Although small, our room was quite adequate in size as well as being very clean; and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: I mentioned that we were celebrating a significant (40th) wedding anniversary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gailtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed one night at the Hotel du Guesclin. The hotel is not far from the parking lot - assuming you tell the attendant you are staying on the island and he directs you to section 1 - but there were a great many people between us and the hotel, nearly all of them Japanese. Once we got there, we were shown to our room, which was not really ready yet (it was around noon) but we got to drop off our stuff.

We were okay with the room - it overlooked the busy street and was noisy, but it was very quiet after dark. No hair dryer. It was a little confusing because they don't really have an obvious way in, and some of the rooms are reached through the restaurant.

Breakfast was just okay. We had to ask for most things, until (I guess) the regular guy showed up.

Mont St Michel is crowded and chaotic, more like Italy than France, but the hotel was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very easy to find, staff was very friendly, rooms decorated very charmingly, and everything was clean! We did not eat in the restaurant dining room but it looked very nice, to get to the rooms we were in we had to go into the restaurant slightly and then up some more stairs to our floor. There are lots of stairs so if that is a problem, ask if there are rooms on a lower floor.

Our party had 3 rooms all overlooking the sea, well worth the extra euros in our opinion. We overlooked the ramparts and loved the view! The bathroom in the room we were in was very small but it was clean and modern. I had not packed an alarm clock and the staff was kind enough to find one for me to use as there is no wake up call by phone. Mont St Michel is a one nighter as far as I can tell since after you walk the "town" and tour the Abbey there isn't much left to do. So if you go, this is a great place to stay while there. Clean, friendly, and you get Mont St Michel to yourself after the tour busses go. If you would like to see photos I have some here on my blog.

http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/wendy2007/5/1309469223/tpod.html

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Great hotel for the money. I had a room in the annex overlooking the water. Room was clean and well maintained. The front desk staff spoke English.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csteets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
609 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
866 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Guesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Guesclin

Address: 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Du Guesclin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing