We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location close to Mont St. Michel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location close to Mont St. Michel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are a small cluster of hotels located at the causeway entrance to Mont St Michel, of which the Mercure is likely the best. It is rated as a 4 star and well the rooms are pretty much a standard room. Rooms are clean, lots of towels, all the shampoos and soap you want, tv with BBC as the only English channel, etc. We had considered staying at the Mont itself inside the city walls, but no need to. There are free shuttles that will take you across the causeway every 15 minutes all day until 1 am in the morning (it would take you about 15-20 minutes to walk it). This means you can go out to the Mont in the evening for a meal and walk around (which I highly recommend). While it is busy in the day, it literally shuts down by 7 pm and you have the whole place to yourself. Most restaurants are open till 9 pm. Parking is an issue, so be sure to call ahead to the Mercure, and staff will give you a code to open a gate which will allow you to drive right up to the hotel and park (free at the hotel). So, thumbs up on the Mercure for location and efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloyd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    562
    231
    43
    16
See reviews for
254
605
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
178 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pros:
- Nice location on a village (La Caserne) with some restaurants and hotels
- Free shuttle to Mont Saint Michel right at the hotel's Dior
- Nice bed / sleep quality
- Pleasant staff
- Clean and spacious rooms
- Free wi-fi that works
- Nice shower
- Free breakfast
- Extremely fast check-in/check-out
- Better than regular Mercure standard

Cons:
- Rate
- Expensive breakfast (other hotels have similar and cheaper breakfast on the village)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonardomrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a very hectic and frustrating commute to Mont Saint-Michel from Paris, we had a speedy checked-in at 7:00pm and was given a ground-level room. It was actually the room that was immediate beside the front desk, so we were very worried about noise. Surprisingly, it was extremely quiet, and we had a very good night's rest. It also helped that it was extremely clean, so we had a satisfying sleep knowing that we were in a clean environment (we had a bad experience in the previous nights at an airbnb flat that had mice, eek!)

We did not stay for very long, because we had to catch the train back to Paris early in the morning. However, from our short stay, we found the staff at the front desk to be very helpful and the shuttle-bus that ran from right outside the hotel to the Mont was very convenient. There is a supermarket diagonally across from the hotel where you can get snacks, such as cheese and wine, and the souvenirs there are a lot cheaper than the souvenir shops inside MSM. All in all, it was a great stay and I will choose Mercure again if I ever return to MSM.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms may be better for people who have difficulty with stairs. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmomoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan, ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ended our camping holiday in France with a one night stay here recently. Some years back we started a French holiday with a stop-over here - it's so handy for the ports and beside the beautiful Mont San Michel. Make sure you have your barrier pass code handy on your arrival! The hotel itself has great parking and just outside is a stop for a shuttle bus that runs every few minutes to the rock.We didn't use the restaurant for dinner, dining on the rock itself, but it did seem very busy. Room was very good and the breakfast excellent - the friendliness of the restaurant staff was impressive. Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimger045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is well located. The free shuttle bus to Mont Saint Michel stops right outside the hotel door. If coming by train, the bus to and from Pontorson railway station also stops right outside and costs just 3 euros each way. The rooms are very quiet and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door to the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have an elevator so request a room on the ground floor if stairs are a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 755denisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The place is simply a breath taking location.
As usual Mercure is a 4 star budget chain.

But at saint Michel
Nothing will draw your attention other the the island & it's charm

Great great place. A magical place from the past where you see the wonders of mans well in the past.
The place by it self is amazing. How the water comes up & covers almost a 5 mile radios around the castle. The view from the top is like nothing I've ever imagined to ever see
A historical master piece

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diyaeldeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Property: Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is equipped with 100 spacious rooms. Located at the entry of the dike, 1800 meters of the Mont St Michel and of its Abbey of 11th century, the hotel features a gourmet restaurant with regional specialities, a bar and 6 conference rooms (100 people). Private and free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Accor Mont Saint Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing