We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but a little expensive for a very simple bedroom...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location, but a little expensive for a very simple bedroom...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not in the island, but at the beginning of the path. There are restautants around, a market and the buses to go to Mont Saint Michel stops in front of the hotel. Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant food was very good, with a very affordable menu (drinks and wine were expensive). Bedroom was clean, with a lot of space. Bathroom was nice, but there are no extra power plugs! WC was separated, a very small and claustrophobic room, as usual in France. Parking is free.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fernanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    608
    245
    49
    17
See reviews for
284
660
65
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Globus tour. The hotel has a main lodge and an outbuilding which -- please note -- is NOT the two story stone pictured in the photo above. The hotel buildings are in modern, standard motel structures akin to a motel built in the US in the 1960s-70s, so do not expect any ambiance. The room was adequate, clean, etc.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was a multi-course meal with multiple liqours, palate cleansers, etc that took over 90 minutes. One curious moment in the meal service was that when we sat down, there were two plates of appetizers at our table, but no small plates before us. So none of us ate the appetizers, but when the wait staff came to our table, they took away the appetizers without asking us if we were done! We watched them carry away completely untouched plates of appetizers from every table.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
326 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Supposed to be the premium hotel in close proximity to Mont St. Michel, but seemed average. No real complaints but some observations:
1. Separate toilet and shower seems like a great idea at first. Just beware that as a result, both are very tight and cramped.
2. Not enough wall plugs - with some many mobile devices today, need power outlets when you travel.
3. Hotel restaurant was good, but putting it in a separate building sort of spoils the fun on a rainy evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Needing to stay in Mont St Michele overnight, but wanting to avoid the island due to luggage the Mercure pleated o be the best option. The room was functional, but hardly impressive. It reminded me of conference accommodation. Rather frustratingly while the hotel provides a kettle, they refused to provide ceramic mugs and was forced to use paper cups. The beds were comfortable.

Staff were friendly, and lent us an Umbrella.

Rather frustratingly, while the access code to the compound was provided over email, they forgot a digit and I was forced to ring the hotel anyway. I booked directly through the Mercure website and was frustrated that payment cannot be made in advance as with all other Accor hotels.

The hotel serves its purpose and is functional.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is a Mercure and so one would expect a fairly nice facility in the centre of the attraction. Rooms are spacious and feature a third bed in addition to the large king size bed that is convenient if u have a child. The srtip where the hotel is located is still about 25 min walk to Mont St Michel. It looks close but is not. Take the shuttle across the street that runs about every 10 minute. There is adequate parking and free wifi.
Caution about accessing the hotel strip at the Mont St Michel. There are traffic attendants in that area that would just send you round and round in circles to direct you to pay parking or away from the strip. To access the strip, you need a code to get in at the gate. So once you are outside the strip or near it, you need to ring the hotel to get the code and tell the traffic attendants you are staying at the hotel and have the access code. Otherwise you will be misdirected away. No fault of the hotel. Just how things roll at the location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is located after a gate that prevents cars from going near the bridge that access M. Saint-Michel.
This was definetly the great point of the hotel, since as guests of the hotel we could park the car (with no cost) close to the point were the shuttles depart. But, attention: you need a code to open the gate, and of course we only found that out when we could not pass the gate. Fortunately we were in two people, so while my husband drove around (no parking close available) I went to the hotel, got the code and went back to the car.
Others were having the same problem as us, If the hotel could simply advise their guests, that would be a lot more simple.
The room is ok, the location great.
We were not lucky with the lady at the reception: when asking her if she could give us an advice of where to eat inside the mountain she just said to us "The hotel doesn't own any restaurant there, so I have no idea". Not very friendly!
But there are not much choices of hotels near the bridge, so it was ok.
And the hotel had a very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel. Free WiFi. Shower could have been better designed.
Very convenient for getting to Mt St Michel and good value for room (but cost of breakfast was extortionate.. go opposite to the cafe/bar by the supermarket!)
Hotel restaurant was good (but wine was very expensive) but the service got slower and slower as the place filled up and was pretty poor by the time we wanted to pay and leave - almost impossible to attract any attention (we could easily have left and nobody would have noticed!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_T58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel

Property: Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Address: Route du Mont Saint Michel | BP 8, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is equipped with 100 spacious rooms. Located at the entry of the dike, 1800 meters of the Mont St Michel and of its Abbey of 11th century, the hotel features a gourmet restaurant with regional specialities, a bar and 6 conference rooms (100 people). Private and free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Accor Mont Saint Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing