We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodations - the only way to see Mont St. Michel is to stay long enough so the tour buses leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Croix Blanche
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodations - the only way to see Mont St. Michel is to stay long enough so the tour buses leave.”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Our family of four wanted to stay "on site" in Mont St. Michel to see it without all the tourists, so spending the extra money at Hotel Croix Blanche was well worth it. The rooms are excellent and we had an excellent night sleep. We usually stay in lower-priced hotels, but this was a worthwhile splurge for us. Breakfast was pricey, so we skipped it and ate on our way out.

Parking in the causeway lot was free if you showed the attendant your reservation email.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blue_Bomber_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    18
    14
    16
See reviews for
46
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Pros:
- LOCATION: in the middle of it all. Downstairs entrance from the mainstreet, upstairs entrance directly off the ramparts.
- ROOM: We had the 3 person loft, with the bathroom "down the stairs" in our room. Very charming, newly redone bathroom
- STAFF: Very kind and helpful, english speaking concierge.

Cons:
- No Lobby: Part of another hotel that's cheaper, Auberge St. Pierre, where the lobby is. When you need to check in at this hotel, the entrance off the street takes you to the bar, where the staff welcomes you and helps you right away.
- Not on the cheap side
- Common area on the 2nd floor was kind of tiny with no view of the water


Hotel offers room service, mini bar, full amenities like any other hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were really nice. Was in an old building but the hotel rooms looked newly redone. Spiral staircase up 4 or 5 flights, and no elevator in sight, but there may be one. Had internet and printer on the common area. There's a restaurant with a bar that occupies the first two stories, but didn't eat there so I can't comment on it. Had out door seatings as the windows were right on the ramparts.


Breakfast buffet was a few doors down at the Auberge St. Pierre, the sister hotel, and was held in a 1600's era dining room. Good buffet with scrambled eggs, bacon, crepe bar, fruit, cereal, bread/pastry bar, and coffee/juices.


Very satisfied with stay. Wish it was a bit cheaper, but had no car so we had to stay on the island. Was worth it anyway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VacationsAreSoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Great location right in Le Mont St Michel. It was a bit pricey based on the size and quality of the room (surprisingly large and good) as compared to other hotels in France outside Paris, but the price seemed very reasonable for Mt St Michel. There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up several flights. Checkin is at their sister property - Auberge St Pierre. They provide parking, but chances are you will still have to pay for a days' worth before you check in and receive the pass that let's you into the speacial lot for overnight visitors. My only serious complaint was the absurdly high cost of Wi-Fi internet - easily several euro per hour.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My sister and I stayed two nights in this incredible hotel. Our room was about 10 feet from the ramparts of the Mt St Michel, and we were given a key to a door that let us out right on the ramparts. We spent a lot of time alone wandering the nooks and crannies of the village. The room and bathroom were small, but very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in the heart of Mt St Michel, our room had a view on the main street in the village. During the day the village is packed with tour groups but after 4 p.m. the village empties out and you get to experience the feeling of walking the village the way it has been for hundreds of years. The price was very reasonable, only 97 euro per night for a double and an excellent breakfast was available for 13 euro. The staff was helpful and spoke some english.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Narrow stairs (I know it's petty but that is the only thing I could think of)
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2005

I just returned from a two-day sojourn at Mont Saint Michel during my last trip to France. It was somewhat difficult to arrange this outing. However, the new tour operators of Westcapades were very helpful in making my Mt. St. Michel adverture possible. I took a train from Paris (Montparnasse) to Rennes and was met by one of the owners of Westcapades who made it her business to make my experience a very happy one for a reasonable price. We drove first to Dinan, a medieval town with amazing wooden buildings, and then to Saint Malo, the wonderful walled city where Jacques Cartier was born, before arriving at Mt. St. Michel. My tour guide was informative and personable, but always gave me the opportunity to explore each destination for myself. Westcapades was willing to leave me overnight at Mt. St. Michel and pick me up on the return tour the following day: this proved to be invaluable, as one can only experience the magical side of this special place when allowed to overnight on site. I stayed at Hotel Croix Blanche and found it to be very reasonable, clean and comfortable. The staff was also very pleasant and other than a somewhat limited menu, I found this hotel most than met my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank vivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2003

My husband, 8 month old son, and I visited here in October of 2000. The room was "cozy," and the bathroom(s) reminded us of a motor home -- but they worked fine! We had to hike about 4 floors up a spiral staircase (part of the charm -- really!), and the view of "the village" and the upper part of the church (lit at night) was WONDERFUL. It absolutely took us back in time, and was just simply beautiful. The staff spoke limited English, but were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croix Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croix Blanche

Property: Hotel Croix Blanche
Address: Grande rue | Intra-Muros, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croix Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Croix Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croix Blanche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing