We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience at top of Mont St. Michel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Saint Pierre
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Experience at top of Mont St. Michel”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a small room near the top, near the Abbey, with outstanding views of the countryside. The room was small but adequate; however the experience of being on Mont St. Michel was the real benefit of staying at this hotel. The room did have a big deck to sit out on. One night, quick stay and shower, and off to Normandy before the next day crowds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavebearagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    331
    130
    68
    52
See reviews for
220
458
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Staying on Mont Saint Michel is something you should do if you intend to visit this extraordinary sight. The Auberge has a choice of several styles of rooms and we chose the former fisherman cottage style. This requires you to climb up steps and inclines to be higher on the mount than the reception area of the hotel. It is well worth it. The cottage style rooms are small though ample room for two people and their bags. The bathroom is also of a good size. The view from the room was outstanding.
Staff were very helpful and ready to answer any questions.
Tip: the hotel recommends you do not bring heavy amounts of luggage to the mount. That is a very good recommendation. Only bring what you will need for your stay and leave the rest in the car. There are special parking lots on the mainland for hotel visitors only

Room Tip: The fisherman cottage style rooms are a very good choice. They will give you an outstanding view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A damp,dusty and smelly room with a mediocre view, two nasty grey bath towels, foam mattress and pillow and all for €250 per night! But that did include one sachet of instant coffee in the room! The hotel restaurant was a joke, full of non French tourists being served awful food by uncaring staff. We suffered a dinner here comprising of warmed up overcooked moules and tiny lamb chops with frozen chips and unidentifiable vegetable puree. The bar staff were equally uncaring and we needed to drink to get through our two nights here. I would not recommend staying anywhere in this tiny place as it is a tacky tourist trap. You can see everything in a couple of hours walking round but be prepared for lots of people and queues. The whole place is geared to short-term visitors which is why they don't bother. If you do stay remember it is a long walk from the bus to any hotel and there are lots of steps. The food is very poor everywhere and everything is overpriced. This is without doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in by any measure. We left early, drove to St Malo and had great food and stayed in an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank accipitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing else like this experience. We had a room high up on the mountain ( the hotel seems to have rooms in several locations). It is small (by needs) but the views are shattering and the food at the hotel restaurant is excellent. Be aware that there is a LOT of climbing, bring ONLY what you need.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel was nice & well positioned. Rooms were very small but I guess to be expected given the nature of the place. Probably a touch expensive but you should definitely stay if you can afford it. The amount of people who make a day visit to this place shocked us. After telling a few friends they all admitted how horrible it had been they visited due to the volume of visitors. Ok place to stay but a much better option than a day trip!! The church opens at 9.30am & you can have the run of the place & after 6 the streets are deserted, so you can have a nice walk around

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice room with an incredible view. Yes, you can stay off th island and get more for less. That is not the point. Once the crowd has left, you can take you time and stroll the lanes. If you want to experience this spot on your own terms, stay on the island.

Room itself was nice, not big. Good bathroom with modern shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were really disappointed in our stay at Auberge Saint-Pierre. The room is ridiculously expensive, there is no breakfast included, and you have to pay for parking off of Le Mont, which we didn't learn about until the day of leaving - in the emails we received from them it looked as if that was part of the price of staying at the Auberge. Everyone makes a big deal about staying on Le Mont as you get to experience it once the tourists leave, but really, I didn't agree. Everything shuts down and there's nothing to do at that time of day - I also disagree about it being neat to see the tide come in - I think it would be better to watch the tide encircle Le Mont from the mainland as you actually get the full picture. I would never recommend staying on Le Mont - much better to stay off it, save money, and spend a few hours on it during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint Pierre

Property: Auberge Saint Pierre
Address: BP 16 Grande Rue | Intra-Muros, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Saint Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing