We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
272
370
156
85
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
370
156
85
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street fisherman's cottage stay overnight magical place the hotel reception private terrace unique experience bay view mixed reviews parking lot fairy tale travel light twin beds day trip nice room half board few steps
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 959 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2007

I'm so glad we stayed overnight on the mount! Auberge St. Pierre was our choice; perfectly situated so you can access the ramparts from the hotel hallway. Your hotel key gets you right back in, too. Our suite of rooms (considered a quad, and reasonably priced) was ideal. My husband and I had a double bed with private bath, and our two teenagers had a separate room upstairs with twin beds, accessed by spiral staircase. The rooms were small, but pleasant, clean, and cozy. When we booked via email, the hotel personnel responded promptly, and were very cordial once we arrived. We arrived late and tired, so we kept it simple and ate in the hotel restaurant. I liked the food, which was more reasonably-priced than I had expected. The waiter was nice, too. After dinner, we had a blast running around the ramparts, exploring the mount minus the hordes of daytrippers. We also walked out a short distance onto the causeway and got some fabulous photos looking back at the illuminated mount. Back in the room, looking up at the floodlit abbey from our window was a real treat. The location was absolutely quiet even with the window open, so I had a great night's sleep. The weather wasn't great (overcast, drizzly, and windy), but that really didn't detract from the experience which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MECindylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We did our research beforehand and had visited Mont St Michel very briefly before so knew what to expect. We wanted a nice, quiet, clean place to stay which allowed us to enjoy enjoy an evening meal on the island in the evening and walk around the streets when they are all lit up. It was perfect for that.

We had read the reviews so knew to pack lightly and it is very good advice. The hotel is near the entrance to the town but a lot of the rooms in a building further up the hill. We were escorted there by a member of reception staff. Perhaps if you arrive at the wrong time that is why there is a long wait in reception for someone to turn up - they spend probably 10mins walking you up and back and showing you around - there were 3 people in reception waiting to serve you when we arrived. The building was in a very nice,quiet street away from the main crowds. By chance we had ended up with a private balcony area as well with table and chairs provided outside - there were french doors opening onto the balcony. Yes, the rooms are not very big but then you are staying in very old buildings that have been converted into hotels. The size wasn't a concern for us and we still had a small toilet and shower room.

We walked the streets and picked a restaurant that took our fancy at the time (there were a 3 or 4 we liked the look of).

Food and drinks are more expensive that off the island but nothing more than you would expect in any major tourist attraction. The evening atmosphere more than made up for the extra cost.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank Chinny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We booked this hotel for 2 adults and 2 teenagers at the last minute and was taken to a sister site. Thanks to trip advisor members, we were prepared to climb the stairs with the one suitcase between the 4 of us. What we weren't prepared for was no air conditioning in two connected rooms with one small window in each room. We were thankful that it was unseasonably cool that night. Not a single person we met spoke English which was comical because we did a lot of charades with people. We did buy a French to English dining guide that helped us tremendously. My son knew a little French and that was helpful too. And it was Black Saturday, August 4, where all of France goes on holiday! Mont St. Michel was packed that weekend! It was very difficult to tour the museums as 2 out of the 4 were in French only, one had an audiophone in English, but the 4th's museum's audiophones were broken. You had to pay to use the public toilets which was very interesting. Guess I didn't do my homework on this one.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoopermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed on the Mont for one day. The hotel was better than expected considering that this is in the end one big - but very pretty - tourist trap.
The room was small, the bathroom comparable to a ships bathroom and the bed relatively small for two persons but ok.
We really enjoyed dinner, simple but good quality. A great bonus was direct access to the city walls from upstairs hallway.
The best thing is that after 7 almost all tourists have left and you basically have the whole place to yourself. In summer the abbey re-opens at 7 and stays open almost to midnight. The visit was very memorable and looking over the bay at dusk truelly amazing. They even have some live classical music in several of the rooms, superb.
All in all a great experience and at 90 Euros definetly worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RoadMeister71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Hotel is located on the Mount and you are paying extra for the location. The Abbey closes at 7:00 so you can spend the evening eating and drinking. The Mount is quiet as 90% of the tourists are gone.
Mount-St-Michel is unbelievable and worth the trip

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ATLboundAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews