We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!!!!!”
Review of La Mere Poulard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mere Poulard
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We received an email 2 days before our arrival to inform us they had "IT" issues and had to cancel our reservation and had booked us at a Best Western over 7 km from MSM. They did offer us dinner for two not including drinks. I had called them a month before to confirm our hotel reservation and make a dinner reservation. When I called to reiterate this they said despite that,they were sorry they could not accommodate us. Through our french guide we did find another hotel on MSM for the night. We went to La Mere Poulard that night for our free dinner. The staff was very apologetic about our hotel reservation being cancelled. But the dinner was the worst meal we had during our entire trip through Normandy. Even so dinner would hardly makeup for no place to stay if this had happened during high season?

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhnt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    257
    211
    119
    181
See reviews for
236
528
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

La Mere Poulard is called out in the guide books for its "world famous" omelets and as a place to stay while on Mount-St-Michel. What they don't say is that the place is packed with tourists trying to photograph people making the famous omelet and as a paying guest you have to fight your way in. We stayed in a fourth floor room -- a real climb up -- that was small but ok. We had a great view over the new bridge being built to replace the causeway.

Getting there is a hassle. First you must find Parking Lot 3 and use your pass code (make sure you get one from the hotel before you arrive) to get into the parking lot. Then, you have to cram yourself into a bus jammed with people along with your luggage. Next, you go for drive out on the causeway where the bus dumps you and your luggage out about a quarter of a mile from Mount-St-Michel. Don't carry a big bag, just take what you need for the night. There is a lot of climbing and a lot of steps in Mount-St-Michel. After dragging your bags to the hotel, you'll find you can't check-in until 4:00 p.m. and they have no place for you to store you bag except next to the front door where seemingly thousands of people pass by every day.

The famous omelet also cost 50 Euros! 50 Euros! Waaay too much. Not good value for money. They charge that much because you have no other real options. Beware.

I am surprised the guide books treat this place as kindly as they do. I guess it is all down to location, location, location. It is value for money.

Room Tip: The the causeway project on-going, it will be noisy until they stop at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have never before submitted a negative revue to Trip Advisor but felt strongly enough about our most recent travel experience that we were obligated to alert potential visitors to the treatment we received lest they too succumb to an experience similar to ours. We stayed at and enjoyed Mere Poulard seven years ago so made sure to include another stay in the itinerary for our return to the Normandy region of France on Sept. 10th, 2013 with our son and his wife. Reservations were made in December of 2012 so we were shocked to receive a call from our travel professional while we were in Paris a mere two days prior to our departure to Normandy telling us that due to a, "computer glitch" our reservations at Mere Poulard had been lost. That in itself was very disappointing but when we found that Mere Poulard had provided alternative accommodations at an alleged 3 star hotel a full five miles away on the mainland we were devastated. Due to the construction of a new piling-supported access bridge to Mont St. Michel to replace the existing earthen causeway, access to Mont St. Michel can only be obtained be a combination of inconvenient shuttle transportation and a significantly long (and windy) walk across the old causeway. The alternative hotel shall remain nameless but it is unclear to us how it earned even a three star rating. Anyway, in an attempt to atone for their error, Mere Poulard provided us with free meals at their restaurant as well as paid for taxi transfer to and from the substitute hotel to their facility. Use of the taxi, however, still required the lengthy trek across the causeway, until late at night when the gate was opened to non-construction traffic. This at first blush still seemed reasonable until we discovered that we were to be seated at the ground level dining room observing the passing foot traffic and not the second floor restaurant with the panoramic view of the surrounding marshland that we had enjoyed on our past visit. The reason was explained as being due to the small number of guests that didn't warrant the opening of our preferred venue. While dining we chanced to speak with a couple seated next to us who were incensed that they too had been given alternative accommodations, albeit on Mont St. Michel, at what they described as "nasty" quarters. And their reservations were made a scant three months ago. We were later treated to the sight of a late arriving tour group who were ushered past our dining room window to the previously unavailable second floor dining area for dinner. I give high marks to Annabelle, the young lady at reception who dealt professionally and cheerfully with our dilemma but that only goes so far in diminishing my anger at the situation we found ourselves facing. And although I will never know for sure how the error occurred, I will forever believe our reservation as well as our dining companion's reservations were sacrificed in order to respond to the needs of the larger tour group. I might add that our driver/guide for the Normandy trip as well as our travel professional and others with whom we spoke were not enamoured with the prospect of making Mere Poulard a destination venue on Mont St. Michel due to past experiences. I would never recommend this hotel and should the future include a return for a night's stay on Mont St. Michel I will most certainly seek other accommodations.

Room Tip: I really can't provide the necessary details to fill in the above categories because we never go...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DickandSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has an amazing history both in terms of the length of service and the people who have stayed there. With that age however, comes some challenges.

The hotel is the first hotel when you enter the gates of the Mont. The restaurant is on the first floor, breakfast area on the second floor and a small bar on the third floor. There are no elevators and the stairs are narrow and steep.

Our room was typically small for hotels in Europe but the bathroom was a good size. We were facing the abbey which was interesting because there are stairs that lead up and were right outside our window. Not really a noise problem but you do have lots of people looking in your room. We were disappointed that we had two twin beds particularly when we requested one bed. Not a deal breaker but disappointing nonetheless.

We didn't have any issues with our bathroom or hot water. We did have a heat issue however. The weather was unseasonably hot and our room was uncomfortably hot. There is no A/C.

Parking is a bit of a surprise. You have to park about 2km away in the central parking lot and take a free shuttle to the hotel. Get the code from the hotel before you get to the area. If you have lots of luggage or heavy luggage and you have driven in, consider consolidating to a smaller bag. There are no elevators and the rooms start on the fourth floor.

For the price and the relatively meagre offerings for that price, we would not stay here again. It was a experience for sure but next time we are going to stay near the parking lot where there are other hotels and with the shuttles running until 1am, this seems like a better option.

Note there is considerable construction going on in the area until 2015.

Room Tip: You have to park about 2km away in the central parking lot and take a free shuttle to the hotel. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I stayed in La Mere Poulard Hotel for two weeks. This vacation was our best vacation to remember! We enjoyed every single moment of it!! and we had so much fun!!!. La Mere Poulard is a very nice and comfortable Hotel that anybody would just love to be or visit and they provide an excellent service. Inside is very clean then the other Hotels we've been and the rooms are designed perfectly well with nice comfortable beds ever!! La Mere Poulard Hotel is in a good location and great views and quiet area. Very friendly and helpful people, they make us feel welcome. Very classic restaurant, good breakfast, delicious fresh flavorful food and the price is very reasonable you really truly can't go wrong!!. My family and i really enjoyed every second of it, no complaints at all, anything we needed was giving to us on time! And I can't wait to tell all my friends and the rest of my family member about it!! We had a great time, and we will love to go back there at any giving opportunity because it was just perfect and excellent services that was provided for my family and I.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel itself is at an interesting location inside the island. Dinner was not bad. Famous omlette is worth trying. The problem is very old room and no hot water for the bath. I really felt like back to the old time. By the way, people were all very kind and nice.

Room Tip: Be careful with no hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

An enchanted interlude in a haven of peace. The hotel annex Mère Poulard is on top of steep streets and this is where we were staying at our last trip to Mt. We were very well received by a very serious kind and dynamic team. The restaurant where we had dinner was also very qualitative.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mere Poulard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mere Poulard

Property: La Mere Poulard
Address: 18 Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Mere Poulard 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the only setting of its kind in the world, nestled in the middle of the medieval city of Mont Saint-Michel, La Mere Poulard offers you the charm and comfort of its hotel, the tradition and quality of its restaurant, the warmth and conviviality of its piano-bar: an unforgettable moment in this magical place full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mere Poulard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mere Poulard Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing