We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$276
$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Le Relais Saint-Michel(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$400
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vert(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$96
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$387
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Digue(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Relais du Roy(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$163
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gabriel(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$217
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Auberge Saint-Pierre(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$247
$238
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Croix Blanche(Mont-Saint-Michel)
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
263
279
225
127
198
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
279
225
127
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomeletfamous hotelmont steuros per persontop floorwalk aroundlit up at nightunique experienceview of the baypoulardentrancestairstouristsabbeymicheltideparis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is located inside the island, near the abbey, it is an old hotel but with charming. There is not elevator, the bathroom is not so good as desired.
It is expensive but you paid for the location. It has a restaurant where cooking the most famous omelet in Mont Saint Michel, and you can see how they cooking the omelets.

Room Tip: Choose one with views to the bay
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coqueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked a Triple via the hotel website, then received a call saying that their triples were all booked and offered us two connecting rooms. One double in one room, two twins in the other. It was great having separate baths and toilets. Our rooms in the "red building" had a view of the bay, clean, warm, bedding comfortable, QUIET, water pressure reasonable for an island, shampoo, soap, minibar with space for your own drinks.
Right outside the red building up a staircase is a terrace from where you can see a million stars and the bay. We chose this weekend for the high tide as on our previous visit there was no tide. The MSM tourist office website lists the dates and times so plan accordingly. We were advised to go to the ramparts right below the abbey entrance at the very top of MSM one hour before high tide to see the tides coming in. We were the only ones there at 8am and the time went by quickly. At high tide we returned to the hotel via the ramparts walk and saw the waves hitting the island. We had tried to see the high tide the night before but it was too dark, it being winter in Europe.
Parking, you drive to Lot 3, from where you can easily see Lot 1 where the shuttle bus to the island departs from(you need a code from the hotel to enter this lot reserved for hotel guests, handicapped parking is in lot 1). The buses run every ten minutes, a five minute ride and is free for guests. The stop on the island is two minutes from the hotel, very convenient. The office of tourism is there and it was the meeting spot for our 3 hour 6k Tombelaine Island Quicksand tour with Stephane GUENO, sport-evasion-fr.com. Excellent guide, great fun jumping on the quicksand, climbing to the top of Tombelaine Island to look at MSM, crossing knee deep water currents, watching the sandcliffs drop down... we were the only ones on the tour. Wear waterproof pants and buy neoprane windsurfing boots 25-30E at the Decathlon 15 min. away(but on the route from Paris) during the winter.
Dining at Mere Poulard... if you must, order one omelette but no more. Their other menu options included a delicious main course of scallops in a delicate cream sauce.
We had a quick breakfast at a cafe with a fireplace between the hotel and abbey to make it in time for the 9:30am opening. Croissant, coffee, & OJ. At MSM, we rented informative audio-guides, but they offer free English(10:15am?) and French guided tours with your admission. Mass at 11am(?) on Sundays. The gift shop was more Museums of France than Mont Saint Michel religious relics which was a let-down.
Hotel check out at 12pm and they will hold onto your luggage for the rest of the day! The individual WIFI codes must be asked for at check-in, and the front desk closes at 9pm! The receptionists are very kind, friendly and speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VolcanoGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner and I decided to spend a romantic night on the Mont, and as this was my first time visiting we wanted to stay on the actual island and not in one of the hotels on the mainland.
The hotel was the first one we came to which was good as I didnt fancy carrying our bags up the cobbled high street.
The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in room 44 and this was on the 4th floor, having to carry the bags up 4 flights of winding stairs was tiring but you have to expect there not to be a lift in these old buildings.
The room was ok, very dated and tatty but it was warm, bright and enough room for two of us. The view out of the window was amazing over the sea (or it will be when they have finished rebuilding the causeway!)

We didn't eat at the hotel, we didnt even have breakfast as this was sold to us for £22 per person....we decided that was way too expensive!

The location is what helps this hotel sell rooms, as I was excited and amazed to be staying actually on the Mont I overlooked a lot of faults. My partner on the otherhand was not so forgiving!

Not sure I'd stay at the hotel again but it was definitely a once in a lifetime experience and I loved every minute!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KDBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I read about this restaurant in one of our travel magazines. It said, "A destination if you are going to Le Mont St. Michel, with the world's best omlettes." Naturally my wife and I had to try it. When you enter the Mont's portal it is the very first restaurant on your left. You can stick your head in and watch them make the omlettes in the wood-burning oven. Really interesting. Then you get seated in a very pretty dining room, and you are given the menus. Then reality sets in. If you thought you might be in the mood for, let's say, a mushroom omlette, you will be sadly disappointed. There are no a la carte omlettes. You can only order a full prix fixed meal; upwards of 45E/person depending on your choice. There are only two omlettes; Mere Poulard's lobster omlette which, if I recall correctly, would have made your lunch come to about $100, or a prix fixe lunch with a plain omlette for 45E. In fact, two couples, after getting their menus stood up and left. We decided to soldier on because, even though we did not want such a big lunch, I had to try this world-famous omlette. Well, it was kind of bizarre. They whip the egg, and whip it some more until it is like foam. Then they put it in a pan and cook it. When you cut into it, and put it into your mouth, it is like eating egg foam. I don't get it or their reputation, frankly. My wife, who doesn't eat eggs got a broiled fish plate as an entree, which looked very pretty. The food was plentiful, but a little overcooked for her taste, but she does like fish almost raw. Anyway, if you want an unusual experience, and $150 lunch, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkarpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After reading many negative reviews about this hotel, our expectations were fairly low. The experience was better than we expected. The hotel staff was relatively friendly and helpful and the room, though a bit on the dated side (think 1980's Best Western room decor), was clean and functional. The hotel even had free wifi. Luckily, we didn't need air conditioning and having the windows open in early September gave us some wonderful sea air to sleep by.

As many others have noted, the reason to stay at this hotel is to stay on the Mont at night after the crowds depart. We timed things as well as one could. We arrived around 4:15 PM, dropped our bags and ran up to the Abbey, getting there at around 4:30. We practically had the place to ourselves and had a good hour and a quarter before the staff started to shoo us out the door. The Mont at night is spectacular and it was worth staying overnight.

The trick with this hotel is getting there and managing your luggage. We were driving from Rennes and called ahead to get the parking lot code. Visitors to this hotel park in Parking 3 which is easy to find (I called a week before and received a map via email). The code ends with the letter "v". We were able to leave most of our bags in our trunk (hidden from public view) and take day packs for our overnight needs. The shuttle to the hotel leaves from Parking 1 which is a short walk from Parking 3. The shuttle drops visitors off at the front of the Mont. The hotel is almost the first thing you see once inside the walls. At the hotel, expect several flights of stairs. Our room was on the top floor of the annex building, which meant that we climbed six flights of stairs (three in the main building, three in the annex).

Our restaurant experience was a little disappointing. The "world famous" omelettes, although very big (my wife and daughter shared one), were kind of tastless. I ordered mine with vegetables which were served on the side. If I didn't take the opportunity to stuff my omelette with the vegetables, it would have been like eating slightly buttered air. The rest of the meal wasn't bad. They offer a good (but relatively expensive) wine list and the first course and dessert were well done.

After our night walk around the Mont, we stopped for a drink in the Piano Bar. The service there was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rt66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews