We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable family room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable family room”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Once you have decided to spend the night on the mont, where to stay? We chose this because it was not as stupidly expensive as other options, and were happy enough with the result. Our child loved the beamed bedroom with high ceilings. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly on the phone and on arrival. Being on the top floor was a bit of a trek but kept you slightly further from the noise of the tourist traps. Breakfast was good enough, and probably worth paying to avoid finding food in the shops in the morning. Our room had two windows; one with views of the bay, and the other overlooking the main street to the abbey. On the whole we were happy with our experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidstonekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    261
    180
    84
    88
See reviews for
196
338
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Le Mouton Blanc was a perfectly pleasant hotel; our room had a loft for the kids and was spacious considering the location. We loved having the window open to hear all the sounds of the village and the sea. The staff was attentive and we were happy with the service. After dinner at La Mere Poulard, we strolled around the island, which becomes much quieter at that time. That evening was one of our favorites during a 10-day trip to France, and it was a great way to spend quality family time in a completely unique setting. We recommend packing as little as possible for your overnight stay because luggage must be transported through cobblestone streets, crowds, and many steps in the hotel. Also a good idea to bring jackets and scarves because it was windy and cool at night.

Room Tip: Room 107 has a nice loft for 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staying at Mont Saint Michel is an experience that I wish everyone could have. It was like being in a fairy tale within this walled village with it's cobblestone streets and it's magnificent Abbey at the top of the mount. The Mouton Blanc was an amazing hotel. The rooms were roomy and clean. The bathroom had been recently remodeled. The only down side to staying here is that if you arrive after 9:00 pm the hotel is closed and you must find the owner of another hotel to get your keys. This took us nearly one hour and left us feeling a little frightened that we might be spending the night alone in the Mount with the feral cats to keep us company! We did eventually find the other inn keeper and he brought us to our rooms and was more than accommodating! All in all it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

So glad we stayed overnight right in Mont St Michel. The view was nice and the room fine, but it was a drag that the reception desk was down the steep busy street.wishwe would have been told. Breakfast was way overpriced and not very good, but I'm afraid that's unavoidable there. Would shop for alternatives, but would go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Withorwithout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Given the number of tourists that visit MSM during the summer, it really is quite a treat to stay overnight and get to experience it in a much more peaceful and reflective way. I found the Mouton Blanc to be delightful. The staff was warm and welcoming, extremely helpful when I had questions about my train ticket, and overall very friendly. The room was comfortable and clean, with a view up to the abbey when I leaned out the window. Yes, you'll hear the service workers in the early morning, but they pass by quickly and it's easy to go back to sleep. The buffet breakfast was great and staying overnight allowed even more time to explore MSM before the hoards of tourists arrived. I'd recommend going late in the day, spend the night at the Mouton Blanc, then leave after lunch. Plenty of time to really enjoy this magical place!

Room Tip: Know what to expect--this ain't the Hyatt! But for an unforgettable opportunity to feel as if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a 2 star hotel that met our expectations. We received a friendly checkin. The bathroom and bedroom were both very clean and were a reasonable size. The bed was comfortable. The early morning noise from the street did wake us early. The upside is sleeping in an Medieval town and having the opportunity to explore the island later in the day without huge crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Mouton Blanc is a hotel having a location which is probably unbeatable. However, we found this hotel extremely expensive and it certainty did not meet our expectations. The room was very old, dirty (the carpet could even be described as filthy) and some things were even broken. Furthermore, the service was not particularly nice nor professional.

I would therefore recommend to other travellers staying in a hotel outside the Mont Saint Michel, as this option will be much more economic and will offer more comfortable and cleaner rooms, while at the time will still give travellers the chance to visit the Mont at night as there are shuttles running until pretty late in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
810 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Property: Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Address: Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing