We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay overnight and avoid the hordes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is right on Mont St Michel after all, and a lot can be forgiven. Our room overlooked La Grande Rue, so the view was not spectacular, but it was clean and very convenient (and small). The hotel restaurant is ridiculously overpriced and our crepes were bland. But after 5 pm and before 9 am, the tour buses are gone, and you have Mont St Michel almost to yourselves. This is what makes staying here worthwhile. Walk the ramparts at sunset, and go out on the causeway after dark. Mont St Michel is a wonder!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 749 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is not a glorious hotel, but stay here anyway! Remember, this is a medieval building--how many times do we Americans get to stay in a place that's 500 years old? Our room was on the 2nd floor, and was very charming and quite comfortable. We were truly delighted. My husband and I had no problems whatsoever, other than early morning noise from deliveries which we had read about and were mentally prepared for. The whole point of staying here is to stay on the mount overnight. In the evening, the place is transformed into a magical site. (Especially wonderful in June as it stays light until 10 or 10:30 at this latitude.) The hordes of tourists are gone, and you have the opportunity to roam around the ramparts, up and down the street, out on the bridge to take fabulous pictures. Put up with a little inconvenience of having to park, take the bus, lug your bags a short way up the hill--IT'S ALL WORTH IT! The best part was leaving the next morning and seeing the incredible mobs of people arriving.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtrs0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Firstly, may I say what a beautiful and spiritual place the island is if one visits late at night after 9 pm when the streets are quiet, the restaurants and shops have closed and nobody is trying to rip you off!
My girlfriend and I ordered the chicken fillets from the express menu, in the said establishment only to be served what can only be described as inedible mush dressed up as a casserole. I queried it with the staff who went straight into denial. I only hope it wasn't horsemeat, but it was not like any meat i or my girlfriend have ever tasted, ie it was sweet and tangy?? Anyway, this meal completely put me off and they didn't even take it off the bill, which I was foolishly paid in full.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186605Ronan_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful, one-night stay at Le Mouton Blanc. Staying right on le Mont Saint Michel was a great experience and one that we would highly recommend. While the rooms are a bit dated, it only adds to their charm. Our windows opened directly onto Le Grand Rue and we were able to listen to the comings and goings of other visitors. (Since the island clears out in the early evening there was no street-noise issue overnight.) The next morning we had the island to ourselves before the hoards of tourists arrived for the day. It was a fantastic experience.

A couple of things to keep in mind...
1. If you want modern comfort then look elsewhere. A stay on le Mont is about the experience of the island rather than the perfect hotel room.
2. Bring your own hair dryer if you need one. The rooms don't have them and they only have one to lend out so if it is being used you are out of luck.
3. Have dinner in the hotel. Despite the overwhelmingly bad reviews we decided to chance it and we were so glad we did. The service was good, the food was delicious and the dessert was the best we had on our nearly month-long trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelemouse19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were told by some people who had been to Mont St-Michel many years ago that "you must stay on the island". We regretted taking that advice. First off, the property. The rooms are very dated and the walls are paper thin ; we could hear everything being said in the room next door as well as some noisy kids. Our room had a window to the main "passage" on Mont St-Michel and early morning there are all kinds of deliveries going (e.g: wine bottles on trolleys) on which woke us up very early.

In recent years, Mont St-Michel has implemented a new system where you have to park +-2km away on land and take a 5 minute bus ride to the island. So if you are staying on the island, you need to lug all of your luggage on the bus and then walk a further 500 meters to the hotel. Since we did not want to carry all of our stuff, we left a lot in the rental car trunk which we were not very comfortable with. Had we simply booked a hotel not on the island, we could have parked the car at the hotel, taken all our stuff to our room and then simply go to Mont St-Michel via the bus without all our stuff. The bus service runs all day and are very frequent. If we every go back to Mont St-Michel its a no-brainer to do it that way.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotels just off the island. If you have time, go for a guided walk on the sand at low ti...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roombaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Remember that Mont St Michel is not accessible by car. You have to park in the out of town car park (get the car park access code from your hotel first) then catch the free car park transit bus to Mont St Michel (about 10 min ride). The hotel is close to the entrance of the island which is a Godsend when you're carrying heavy luggage. The rooms are small as expected with mainly French tv channels. It's a good idea to take water and juice with you as the island's retailers are very expensive. For dinner I would recommend Concale (30 miles away) which has excellent seafood. Whilst Mont St Michel is a must see it is very pricey. With this in mind the hotel was well priced at €90 per night

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omartennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a surprisingly comfortable hotel considering its age and the age of everything on the island. The room was dark, but had plenty of lamps and lighting and I was impressed by its cleanliness. The bathroom was small but adquate and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very decent. The location, of course, was excellent. We had two meals there. Lunch on the day we arrived and dinner that same day after visiting the abbey. The lunch was okay. I guess I don't really care for those Madame Poulard-style omelettes. The dinner in the hotel's restaurant was quite good, and convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: $107 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 15 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing