We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Medieval Charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Medieval Charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Le Mouton Blanc Hotel is inside the heart of Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel.

My hotel was housed in a historical building right near an old Gothic church that was open to guest late in the evening. The room I stayed in was small, but there was a window that overlooked the bay surrounding the abbey. My room was equipped with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathroom was very small, about the size of a ship bathroom and was fitted with a shower. After I checked into the room, I had to wait over two hours in order to use the water in the hotel room; perhaps it was due to repairs. Overall, the hotel room was clean and located near everything in the Abby, so I didn't mind the small convinces. I was told Breakfast was served daily, but didn't try it. Over all the experience was a good one. I was near everything in the Castle and loved the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcross2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    260
    174
    76
    73
See reviews for
183
324
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will make this brief as this hotel and restaurant is easy to review. Hotel and our room fine although generally it was a bit shabby and needs a bit of TLC. Did not see evidence of the bed bugs that other visitors have reported.

The restaurant was the worst we have ever eaten in. I cannot emphasize this enough. No other restaurant we have eaten in comes even close to being as bad. All three courses that my partner and I had were shocking and took ages to arrive. That would explain why they were all stone cold, no exaggeration no heat left in the food at all. After a heated discussion we did not pay for the food.

Mont Saint-Michel is lovely so please visit. The hotel is fine if you don't mind the risk of the bed bugs others have reported (I personally would not stay again after reading that). DO NOT EAT HERE!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Del-Boy-K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Mont Saint Michel in winter is worth the experience! You get the island for yourself. We booked last minute at Hotel Le Mouton Blanc and got a triple bedroom for 80 euros a night no breakfast. At our arrival, we were given a quadruple bedroom in an annexe with direct Abbey and Bay views on each side of the room. Room 308 was clean and recently renovated, it seems. We had nice comforters on our beds. There was enough room to move around. A great FREE !!!! fast WiFi connection. We had no contact with the hotel at all as the room was in another bldg above the main street and all we can say is that the entrance and front of the main bldg are extremely charming. Staff was nice.
Would I recommend this hotel? How good are he other hotels in comparison? what would be the experience in summer? most probably hell. So enjoy Mouton Blanc Hotel and Mont Saint Michel in winter and enjoy the beauty of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here in December and really loved our triple room on the second floor. This little hotel excels in Medieval charm. Our room had thick chunky exposed wooden beams on the roof and at the end that fronted onto the street the whole wall was old medieval style wood with two little shutter windows from which, when opened, you could lean out of and almost reach across to the building on the opposite side of the alley. It still had its old fireplace which had now been turned into a decorative alcove with its original huge wooden lintel embedded across the wallspace. The room oozed charm and was actually quite spacious with two single beds and a double. Everything was very clean and we all fell in love with it. If you are staying at a hotel on the Mont you have a special car park on the mainland in which to leave your vehicle and then you jump on a little shuttle bus that takes you across the causeway to the main entrance gate. It is a short walk up a steep rough cobblestone alley to the Mouton Blanc so you might want to keep your luggage to a minimum (we packed an overnight bag rather than lugging all our suitcases with us). The only thing that let this place down was breakfast which was not the greatest spread we had seen and the sole waitress was not very attentive however as it was off season I can forgive them for this. Another very helpful staff member allowed us to store our bags so that we could tour the Mont and the check in staff were also pleasant. All in all we loved our stay here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay on the Mont and relish the tranquility of this very special place after the day trippers have left.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel and rooms, nice breakfast, excellent location and good prices. Employees are very nice. And we had a nice surprise at our arrival at the cozy rooms: even if in the webpage it says that there is no wifi we were so happy to see that we had wifi in our room. Very good deal!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aafarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Mont-St-Michel and stayed at Hotel Le Mouton Blanc on my 50th birthday. Wow! What a gift! I e-mailed the hotel before we left, requesting a room with a double bed and with the best possible view. It took my breath away! Although in an annexure of the hotel, we sure hit the jackpot. Our room had 2 double beds, with a view over the bay on the one side (where we saw sunrise), and a view over the Cathedral (which is lit at night). Because we were "off the beaten track", we were not disturbed by any noises. Our reception was friendly and warm and we felt very welcome. We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant Le Mouton Blanc. Quite expensive for South Africans but it was good. It was a privilege to spend my 50th here! The special shuttle service for hotel residents are an added bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for room 308 for view on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were located on the 3rd floor with a room for four. The room was not big but was clean. It was convenient and nice to have stayed on the Mont. The breakfast was good and with a wide variety of choices. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Property: Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Address: Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing