We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shambolic and sharp practices” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Rhein-Neckar Kreis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shambolic and sharp practices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I will start my review with a warning: I haven't actually stayed at this hotel. This is because they contacted us one week before we were due to stay there (September 13th, 2012), saying that our confirmed booking (made on March 4th) had disappeared from their system. This was apparently due to a bug in their booking system, which was only noticed after a group booking was made. Any idiot can see they simply bumped our booking to accommodate a group (they basically admit this is the case), but they 'helpfully' made another booking for us at another hotel, 10 kilometres from Mont St. Michel.

They were still prepared to charge us 190 euro for this room, even though that price included the premium we were paying to actually stay on MSM itself. They also offered us dinner, but since we'd booked half-board, that was nothing we weren't already paying for.

So, they apologize, but they don't honour their bookings and they don't really want your business if they can fit in someone else instead, and they're happy to gouge you on a booking elsewhere. If you're happy to take the risk and actually try staying there, then please do so but this could just as easily happen to you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    260
    174
    76
    72
See reviews for
182
324
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

2 adults and a 5 and 7 year old arrived 4pm to check in to our room on first floor. Easy pleasant check in to our room overlooking the main strip (no window restrictors so be vigilant with kids). Double bed and two singles for kids which is a nice change to cramped sofa bed. Tv in room. Decent sized bathroom with toiletries. The mont was cramped till about six but after thatvwe were able to walk around with hardly any people. Easy check out and continental breakfast on terrace in the sun. Be vigilant with kids on the mont a few drops and lots of steps but evening and till eleven am hardly any people. Shuttle bus convenient. Just pack overnight bag rather thsn great big suitcase. You can hear the people above using the bathroom but when you consider when this place was built its not a problem. we did abbey in the son et lumiere which was lovely but our daughter was spooked by gargoyle projected onto wall. Go for it! I thought stauing on the mont for four with breakfadt for 150 euro was a respwctable price for what we had

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymru1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August and were right up at the top of the building. We loved the old beams on the ceiling and the old windows. It was totally in keeping with the island. We were glad that we stayed on Mont St. Michel rather than in a modern hotel on the mainland even though it was a little bit more expensive it added to the whole experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and there was no problem with this. The only thing is that you would need to be able bodied to climb up the steps in the hotel as it is high and narrow and actually the whole of Mont St. Michel is much the same

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We checked in at 9 pm (after a day of travel) and were shown to our room. While it was quaint it just wasn't inviting and comfortable. The bathroom was really tiny and you can hear when the room upstairs was taking a shower or flushed the toilet. We actually walked around around the abbey grounds at night to avoid being in our room.

Breakfast was not anything special and we assumed it was part of our room rate and learned it wasn't. Don't forget to ask when checking in. They removed the charge as part of our honeymoon gift.

We really wanted to check out after breakfast but was given different instructions on who to speak to (go to the restaurant, no go to the front desk, etc).

The only positive was the location. Despite our uncomfortable setting, it was nice to walk around at night and early morning before the crowds arrive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle2sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Que esta situado en la abadía.
Starting with the positive: it has a great location as it's inside the Mont-St-Michel - and that's pretty much it!

On the negative side: the staff was really unpleasant with us, at the check-in it seemed that we were bother them... we didn't ask for anything as the reception afraid that the experience even got worse. Later on we went ask for a map and they just throw it to the table, with no information given. Obviously with this attitude we didn't asked either!

The room was not in the same building of the reception desk, as it looks like in the photos. It was in a hidden building, and you have to go up the hill, which is quite unpleasant when you think you have already arrived - forget that anyone is going to help with luggage, you take it up the hill of a medieval street ground very irregular and with steps... Once inside the building: more stairs!

The smell was not from a hotel, rather from a hostel. The abbey and the mont-st-michel is incredible, but this place is just awful!!!

Room Tip: Good room? Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luísh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Staying at Hotel le Mouton Blanc was a great experience. The hotel is a 13th of 14th century building, and really adds to the whole experience of being in such a historical area. The room we stayed in was a good size, had an ensuite which was clean and functional. The room was simple but comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Perfectly located a minute or two from the stairs up to the Abbey. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_sl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked a room at "Hotel Le Mouton Blanc" and expected to stay in the hotel. Instead we were first given a room in their "annex". Here is the low down on the annex.

1. It is of an awful quality - I have seen better places backpacking in the worst parts of europe.
2. The bathroom smelled of URINE and damp.
3. There was NO security, the outer door was always open, there was no staff in the annex and the room doors were no more than cupboard level locks
4. There was no view of anything from the window other than old ciggarette butts, pigeon droppings and roof tops - but no sea,

We obviously complained and demanded a new room in the actual hotel that we booked a room in. What we got was 10 times better than the annex, however the room suffered what ALL hotel rooms suffer from on the Island - Noise in the early hours of the morning.

Explanation: All supplies can only be delivered to the hotels on forklift trucks due to the narrow streets on the Island. The Island has cobble streets. Forklift trucks + Crates of beer bottles = NOISE! All of this takes place between 4.00am and 6.00am and that equals = BAD NIGHT OF SLEEP!

A final summary:
1. Car parking is on the mainland and there is NO SECURITY at night / during the day. Park at your own risk - and you pay for the parking even though there is NO SECURITY???
2. The Annex of the hotel has NO SECURITY - stay and leave your belongings at your own risk
3. Annex rooms are unfit for purpose - stay only if you are a student and are willing to accept ill health in compensation for the accomodation.

My advice:
1. Stay on the mainland near the hotel - there are plenty of hotels with a view of the Mont and where you can park your outside for FREE.
2. Staying on the Island sounds like a good idea to beat the tourists in the morning - but fact is you can get a bus for the 5 minute ride from one hour before the Abby is open from the mainland - so why bother?
3. If you must stay at this hotel - DEMAND A ROOM IN THE HOTEL PROPER and make this part of your booking. Do not accept the annex unless you are under 20 and / or are happy to throw away your money...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i24get
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vieille Auberge
La Vieille Auberge
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Property: Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Address: Grande rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing