We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annex room of Mont St Michel Hotel - Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed March 22, 2011

It's wonderful stay on MSM overnight, and the hotel provided a basic, clean, comfortable room in the annex, a short distance from the lobby/restaurant. Very helpful reception personnel. Lots of steps in MSM, and finding our way to the annex, then up to the second story room, added to our exercise regime. Great exploring the main street after most visitors have left the island. The abbey is illuminated and beautiful at night. Dined in the hotel restaurant - delicious meal, reasonably priced. Breakfast in the side cafe by the lobby. Owned by the hotel - 12 euro - good selection of the usual items. Parking in a gated area on the raised causeway, 6 euro per night paid in cash at the lot.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 764 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

Perfect reasonably priced hotel in excellent location. Old hotel with some quirks. Staff were pleasant - restaurant was above average for the what is a tourist hotspot, seprate review on restaurant forum. Staying on the Mont means that you can enjoy the site when all the tourists have left in the evening and first thing in the morning. The Car park for all the hotels is located on the raised causeway approaching the entrance and if you arrive during the daytime you will be required to pay six euro on the approach road. No cars within the Perimeter in fact only fork lift trucks seem to operate to navigate very narrow alley/ road through main thoroughfare. Overall no complaints other than being unlucky with neighboring guest constantly slamming doors at 6am, which is of course beyond control of hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed overnight at Le Mouton Blanc on the 20th October 2010. Mont St Michel is a great place to stay. We wanted to stay on the Mont, not in town, so we searched for a hotel on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is very basic, but for the sort of money you pay, it is more than enough. The rooms are about a 5 minute walk from the reception up towards the Abbey. The bed was relatively comfortable and the bathroom was big enough, and most importantly, had plenty of hot water. It felt pretty secure with a common door downstairs that was locked and our room was on the secong floor. Not much of a view, roofs of some buildings, but we could see the bay. Not that it is really important, because you can just walk downstairs and head to any part of the Mont for great views. We had dinner at the Le Mouton Blanc restaurant as well. The restaurant was quite nice and the food was good value for money. I had the 26 euro Menu and my wife had the 24 euro menu. You get 3 courses and 3 choices in each. On my menu I had oysters and Normandy lobster!
A nice hotel and would reccommend it without hesitation to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejackal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The room was typical of European hotel rooms, small, simple, but clean and sufficient. Wonderful location (not like there's a bad one on Mont Saint Michel) with very friendly and helpful staff. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it to anyone going.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanzosbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed one night in Sept 2010 (booked through hotels.com, and confirmed directly with the hotel by email). We arrived at MSM around 5:30 PM hoping to avoid the daytime crowds, but were not entirely successful. Since we were staying the night, we were given the code for the restricted hotel parking area. Gathered our luggage and walked down the wooden stairway (which was eventually covered by high tide) from the parking lot, through an archway and up the crowded and steep main street. The young woman who checked us in at Le Mouton Blanc’s front desk was very friendly and cheerful while apologizing that we would have climb even further, since we’d be staying in the annex. It was a good thing she shoed us to the room herself because we wouldn’t have found it on our own: up the street and up a small stairway under a stone archway, then through an unmarked door (the key to one’s room also opens this door if it is locked), then up three flights of circular stairs. We weren’t expecting luxurious accommodations and certainly didn’t get them, but the room was fine for one night—and our little window had a great view of the bay. Two twin beds were pushed together, but made up separately and one was a little higher than the other. Bathroom was one molded piece of plastic, about the size of an airplane bathroom plus a small circular shower stall. (Hubby is a big, tall guy and he managed to fit, so I imagine this would work OK for most people.) TV worked fine and even had a few American shows--in English!--something we hadn’t found in most other hotels in France.

We were on the Mont during high tide, so it was entertaining to watch how quickly the water rushed in that evening (and also the following morning), covering the non-hotel parking areas. Signs were posted and announcements were made (in French, of course) for daytime guests to make sure their cars were moved. Everyone cooperated but then the entire causeway became a huge parking lot. After the sun set, things calmed down and it was wonderful to walk around with the place mostly to ourselves.

Had dinner at nearby La Vielle Auberge. Food was pretty good and the view from their terrace was great, but the waiter was gruff and obviously didn’t care if we ate there or not. He also didn’t know (or pretended not to know) how to use an American credit card in his machine--told us two different cards weren’t working when they had worked fine in other restaurants. We finally paid our €45 bill with a €50 in cash and he rushed off. It was obvious that even if we would have wanted change back, we would still be sitting there weeks later waiting for it!

Our hotel room looked down on the main street which was a little crowded in the early evening, but quiet at night till after 7 AM the next morning when the garbage collection started. Sunrise at 7:20 was gorgeous from our window. The daytime crowds started coming around 9 AM, with tour buses letting off their passengers and then going back down the causeway since the side parking lots were once again under water.

We paid €10 each for breakfast at Le Mouton Blanc’s terrace café, Chez Mado. Pretty good selection of pastries, cereals, meat and cheese, baguettes, coffee/tea/juice. We left the Mont out a small nondescript door that opens to the parking lot (presumably only used during high tide). What a unique and fabulous place to visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TM_Trademark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I did the reservation at booking.com and they provided the information that city tax is included in the rate.
The reception lady told that booking.com provided wrong information and charged for the city tax.
At the restaurant of the hotel, the waiter was very stupid with me, may be because I was unable to speak french well. I asked in french if he speaks english but he said in an angry manner a lot of words that I could not understand. At 14:30 I asked in my poor french if I could have lunch. He told "non". I am sure he understood well the question. I went downstairs and asked the reception lady if there is some restaurant that serves lunch at that time. She told that the restaurant of the hotel does serve at that time, it was just not possible the full course.
I had lunch. The portion was small. It was not salty enough and there was no salt on the table.
Breakfast with good variety. But if you have breakfast a little late, it will be probable that there will be no croissant any more.
A lot of birds eat the bread of breakfast and you will eat these breads.
Rooms is good but not possible to see TV. People eating at the restaurant have view of the room so it was necessary to keep the curtain closed all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planettraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I didn't stay here, but we ate here and found the food excellent. What they had on the menu they delivered, and it all proved good value.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
605 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
59 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande rue | Bp 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: $188 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 15 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing