We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of course, it is a rip-off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Terrasses Poulard
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Of course, it is a rip-off!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our room in the Terraces Poulard didn't even vaguely resemble the photos on their website! No nice vistas over the water and no stylish, comfortable room! More 3rd-rate motel, but up many flights of stairs. Small, pokey room which last saw maintenance and decoration in the 80's.
And way expensive!
However, and it is a big one, staying on the island is the only way to go. After the buses have departed, the place ceases to feel like Disneyland and becomes a magic island. Mont St Michel is a victim of it's own success. During the day it is hell on a stick, with surging crowds up the narrow medieval street and in the overpriced coffee shops and souvenir shops.
After hours is is a sublime remnant of a lost age.
The hotels are disgustingly bad value but the island at night is worth being ripped-off over!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    199
    148
    91
    151
See reviews for
171
329
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

After our visit to the Abbey, we were longing for a cappucino. From the outside Les Terrasses Poulard looked nice. The menu outside didn't show prices for drinks but how much can a cappucino cost?

Service was rude but the biggest surprise was when the bill came: EUR 8 per cappucino: that is quite a bit of money for an espresso with some whipped cream.

We didn't let it spoil our trip in any way because it was only a few euro's too much per cappucino. However, this little cappucino scam doesn't reflect well on this restaurant. So be at your guard at this restaurant for pricey surprises!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels

Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

They have a a great view! The food was good. And we had a nice time. We ordered a 3 course meal. Tried their famous omelette. Thought that the price for the meal was a bit higher than the others around.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phalgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night. We expected the steps and were glad it turned out to be so near the entrance to the Mont, hence fewer steps. We had a 'village' view and that was the first disappointment. We had a view of the Rue between three shops that dragged their wares in at night and set up about 5:30 in the morning. In addition, those walking the ramparts could see right into our room (about 15-20 feet away) when the window was open to cool the room off. There was no airflow at all.
The 'village view' noise level made sleep difficult. The trucks driving up and down the Mont to deliver goods start early and make much noise. I would definitely stay away from village view. In addition, there was no tide to speak of during our stay, so there was no 'sea view' either. If contemplating a stay on the Mont, check tide, not only for parking, but also for the view that you will see.

The room itself was dingy, dirty and dark and the bathroom had mold around the tub and floors. The carpet was stained and torn. The walls had peeling paint and marks. It was not inviting at all. There was only one electrical outlet in the room and it was in the corner behind the television. We required an elecrical cord for my husband's sleep breathing machine. It took them several hours to locate one and it was so short that we had to gingerly step over the stretched electrical cord to get out of bed. But, most distressing was the unsecured window in the hallway on the floor above that swung on its hinges and banged open and shut in the wind most of the night. After an hour of that I went out in search of the cause of the noise. Upon finding the banging window out of reach, I attempted to climb a chair and latch it, but the latch wouldn't budge. It kept banging in the wind.. So, between the night pedestrians, the street cleaners, the trucks, the delivery people and the banging window, we got about two hours of sleep. It was awful.

We went to the downstairs restaurant for a continental breakfast (not the 22 euro room rate breakfast) - got croissant, juice, baguette (that would tear your mouth apart) and coffee for 9 euro. That seemed reasonable considering the Mont, but the restaurant bathroom was the worst I'd found in 4 weeks in France. The smell was overpowering and nauseating. Worse, the baguettes were piled in the kitchen about 6 feet away. Had we known, we would have eaten elsewhere.

I can think of no reason to stay at this hotel or eat in the restaurant immediately attached and below it. Many names are similar on the Mont, so it can be confusing. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip to Paris, Reims and Caen and it was by far the worst. Look elsewhere. Visit before the tourists or after they have left, but don't stay overnight. It is easy to drive out, park, walk in, have dinner, climb the Mont and drive back to a hotel where you might actually be able to sleep.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historygrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed one night at Les Terrasses Poulard in Mont-St-Michel during August and a very busy tourist season. The first challenge was finding the hotel. There is a restaurant in the town with the same name as the hotel, but they were not very helpful with directions to the hotel. It took us several wrong turns to finally locate it. We arrived before check-in time so we were able to leave our bags in the main reception area while we explored the town which was absolutely jammed with other tourists. We were literally shoulder to shoulder as we walked down the quaint cobblestone road. When it was finally time to check in the woman and the desk was very unfriendly. Those in the service industry should be much more pleasant and if they are unable to smile they should be in a back room doing bookkeeping, not out front with the customers.
The room itself was just average. The carpet was very stained and needing replacing. The bathroom had no shower curtain and the blow-dryer was hopeless.
We choose this hotel because it was in the town and would allow us to roam freely in the evening when most tourists went home. Although we enjoyed our evening strolling around town I don't know if it made up for the room and poor service. It was just one night, two would have been miserable. We would not recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Absolutely terrible. I hope they read this review. My girlfriend and I popped in for lunch after visiting the abbey, and it was by far the worst meal we've had in France. Approximately 45 seconds after we ordered our food, it arrived on the table... because it had been microwaved... Now, do I have any real evidence of this? No. However, my girlfriend's eggs were cold and you could see where the grease had separated from the sauce for my salt meadow lamb. Also, eggs, a cup of tea, lamb, and a coke were 64 euros. The people who own and manage this restaurant must be evil, evil people.

A real miracle at Mont Saint-Michel would be an asteroid straight through the front door and burning the whole place to the ground.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcalibanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel works if you're just staying one night. Rather dull and lacks charm but clean and comfortable for a night's lodging. Everything on the mont is expensive for the amount of time one spends in their room. Staying on the rock was good because at night the tour buses leave with all the tourists and the mont is relatively quiet. Its nice to enjoy the isolation. It was a thrill to stay inside the walled medieval city.

Our room had a view of the bay and was in the lower building not the annex further up. Yes there are many stairs but not so much that you can't make it up! When one is in Europe there are stairs to climb everywhere so you get accustomed to stairs! This place was suitable for one night, clean bathroom and bedroom. I believe we were in Room 203.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.0 mi away
La Mere Poulard
La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,022 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
#13 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Terrasses Poulard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Terrasses Poulard

Property: Les Terrasses Poulard
Address: Grande rue | Bp 18, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Terrasses Poulard 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Mont Saint Michel, facing the bay, historic homes, we offer a charming, individually decorated for an unforgettable stay in the Wonder of the West. Panoramic views of the bay or the Abbey or the medieval village or and flower gardens. Direct dial telephone, mini bar, flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Terrasses Poulard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Terrasses Poulard Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing