We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We picked this hotel primarily because of the location. It is the closest to Mont Saint Michel of any of the nearby hotels. We were very happy with the hotel. The view of Mont Saint Michel from our second floor room was very nice. The room was spacious and comfortable. Parking was easy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 628 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

While visiting Mont St Michel last summer I booked with a group of friends. 2 of us opted to stay at Le Relais and 2 at another hotel. Needless to say there was severe hotel envy after they saw our room, and view, at Relais (by the by it was only £5 more expensive per night than their hotel when we booked it, and worth every penny). The room was superior in every way conceiveable.

The View was incredibly impressive and every room in the hotel has a view of Mont St Michel. At night it was breath taking. In the morning it was eerily beautiful with a foggy haze covering the island.

The room was equally incredible. The bathrooms luxurious, clean and comfortable. The bedrooms, beds and linens were perfect and without a single thing to complain about. The balcony, despite the chill at the end of the summer, was great morning or night to enjoy the view.

The hotel itself was easy to find, the staff warm and welcoming (and very patient with my poor French skills). It had all the right amenities to make our stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. I could not recommend a hotel more highly than this one.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JNATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon. Greeted very nicely by reception. Had great view of Mont St Michel itself. Excellent frequent bus service along the causeway - roughly every 10 minutes. it's also walkable - allow 30 minutes to get there.
Had thought the breakfast looked expensive until we tried it. The restaurant's picture windows provide an unforgettable view of what looks like a Disney fairy-tale castle.
Yes it's true there are many Japanese tourists here - I'd call that a good thing since my perception is Japanese tourists go for quality.
Lovely atmosphere of quiet calm in the evening.
This is probably the best place to stay if visiting Mont St Michel and I'm very glad I stayed here. Bit pricey but good value.

Room Tip: Try to get at least a first floor room facing Mont St Michel. Our room had an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelOCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over a long weekend in November 2013. We had a prestige room with an amazing view of Mont Saint-Michel. The room was clean and functional, and the bed was comfortable, but lacked a kettle with coffee or tea, which is something expected in a 4-star hotel. Standards are a little different from country to country, but typically a 4-star hotel in Belgium or the North America would offer this. The staff in the restaurant and at the front desk were very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast, at 28 euro, was a big disappointment, and the selection was even worse after being plundered by Japanese tour groups. We had dinner there and while OK was also overpriced for the portions and the quality. The oysters were fantastic though! Before checking in, make sure you have the access code for the road to the hotel or you will be making a phone call at the gate (like we did). It was a nice trip and we would return to the hotel, but probably eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a prestige room and a view. The light and changing landscape makes for beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked and paid for a deluxe room with a view of Mont St Michel in May 2013, for our trip in September. When I called to get the parking code, I was asked if I had received their email telling me we had been relocated to a hotel a mile or so away. Long story short - - they had a tour come in and so relocated us - just a one room reservation.
Frederick, the manager, was professional and extremely nice, and acknowledged this is no way to run a business. Apparently it happens frequently. As it turned out, the hotel we stayed in was quite beautiful - we had a huge suite. Frederick comped our dinner at his hotel, as well as our breakfast at the hotel where we ended up. I have no idea how the rooms are at the Relais, so cannot comment. Frederick saved the day as well as he could, but I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank 199DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For a once in a life time experience, the best place to stay if you want to experience Le Mont in the moonlight and be there first thing in the morning. Well worth 1st floor balcony (not ground floor) to get the best views. Good room service breakfast, shuttle outside the hotel. Large rooms to boot - I was expecting a small basic room. very pleased overall, even considering expense. loved it .

Room Tip: no less than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Totally amazing views over the castle but that´s it.
High price, rooms furniture from Mitterrand teenage time, not very clean, breakfast very poor as we were in the restaurant after few thousand of japanese.
Did the view compensate all the rest? Maybe...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guxabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Saint-Michel

Address: la Caserne | Bp 31, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: $75 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mont Saint Michel, the 8th Marvel of the World, the Relais Saint Michel is a **** hotel, offering you a panoramic restaurant, terraces, flower gardens, a piano bar and spaces for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Relais Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint-Michel Hotel Mont-St-Michel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing