We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant of Character”
Review of Les Halles

Les Halles
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Houlgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: "LES HALLES" is more than a restaurant, it is a place where to meet friends and to have a good time around delicious meal.The menu, which is certainly not static, alternates dishes using early seasonal products with meat dishes cooked. The restaurant gives you a varied choice of dishes and menus for a selection of fish, seafood and meat dishes with elegance and simplicity3 menus "à l'ardoise" each day changing : from 15,90 € à 32,90€.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Les Halles is a French restaurant of quite some character, which, for this reason as well as its food, should not be missed if you are visiting Houlgate. It has a cheerful traditional style and a warm atmosphere, as well as a broad menu with an emphasis on French dishes. A choice of set menus are on offer, which are good value, although we found it rewarding to delve further into the a la carte - both the pork fillet and kidneys a la financier are very good - whilst the mussels menu makes for a cracking lunch. We enjoyed both lunch and dinner here in September: both were very good indeed. Strongly recommended and very well worth the two minute walk from Houlgate's main street.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sc6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 469 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We had a perfectly cooked sole meunière and some gamba’s. Unfortunately these were cooked to hard/long and were too dry.
The steak tartare was very nice with all the required ingredients on the site.
We certainly can recommended this place.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 233maikelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Les Halles is slightly more upmarket than other tourist-leaning restaurants. That’s probably reflected in the prices but the extra expensive is definitely worth it.

I had moules mariniere with frites. Absolutely delicious with the frites especially nice. Mrs Badger had the creamy and succulent chicken Normandy. The kids menu also steers away from staples like nuggets etc and serves proper food.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

This was the second time we had dinner at Les Halles. The staff is very friendly and the service is very fast, even though they work with fresh products and every meal is made from scratch. The prices are very fair (€14-18 for a main course) and the food is nothing short of delicious. We would definitely go back if we ever visit Houlgate again!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank hberings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

I was worried that in Houlgate on a Saturday evening in June that every restaurant would be touristy just serving moules and galettes. Les Halles avoids this trap. I enjoyed my innovative fishy starter and my kidneys, although they weren’t as ‘rose’ as I’d hoped. I took a chance on the dessert and asked the waiter what he would chose. The resulting rice pudding was lovely.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank davesouthamptonqpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Halles also viewed

Houlgate, Calvados
 
Dives-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing