We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
1 review
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location was perfect,room was clean but lacking in storage, ok for a one night stay, not a longer stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly, take a large wallet with you if you wish to frequent the bar, very dear!!! Food at breakfast time ran out very quick. The hotel needs a lounge area not just at the bar. Definitely not a four star about a two and a half

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    288
    104
    30
    8
See reviews for
172
277
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Accommodation located within walking distance of quaint Cabourg main street. Pleasant view overlooking racecourse. Rooms were clean, comfortable and enough space for 3 adults. Enjoyed the generous in the buffet breakfast. Only disappointment was the restuarant was not opened on the nights we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Munchkinsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great location to use as a base for a break of three nights visiting the D Day landing beaches and associated history of Normandy. Very helpful and pleasant reception staff and even got upgraded to a front balcony room....Bedroom and bathroom can be described as good with what was expected of a hotel in this category... Carpet was a little harsh on the feet though !!! A bonus was watching the morning 'Trotter excercises' across the road at the Hippodrome......Being out of season the restaurant was closed on the Sunday and Monday night... However, there are numerous restaurants within a 10 minute walk.... Meal at the restaurant on the Tuesday night was extremely good and can be recommended. Breakfast selection was extremely good. Unfortunately, due to lack of time we didn't use the swimming pool or sauna facilities... All in all a good little hotel that can be recommended and we would use again....:)

Room Tip: Room 102 was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve311059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Required a room for one night, no food requirements and service requirements limited to check-in and check-out, so not exactly a demanding customer. Wanted a hotel with enclosed parking and not 'centre-ville' so this was good. Quick and easy access from the autoroute with no congestion. Good access to the rooms with luggage - plenty of entrance doors so no need to embarrass ourselves by taking our multitude of scruffy luggage past the reception desk.

For those who are not prone to drowning there is a nice looking pool. I only sink so didn't use it. We got there early enough to grab a parking space but parking could be tricky for late arrivals or when the hotel is really busy. I would use it again. Smart looking bathroom/toilet, as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. The room was at the rear of the hotel, basic but clean & quite spacious, with just TV and tea/coffee facilities. We initially only booked Room Only but decided to have breakfast each morning, which was the usual buffet style with a fairly good choice of fruit, breads & hot foods.
The room served its purpose of being just a place to sleep as we spent all our time exploring Normandy in the day & out at night in Cabourg for the great choice of seafood restaurants.
We didn't make use of the pool or sauna facilities during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topaz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

An attractive hotel with good views of the Hippodrome races. Great pool and a restaurant on site.
A well stocked breakfast buffet each morning, which had bacon,scrambled eggs and sausage if required. The building will need some painting and tidying in not too long to keep it attractive to guests. Can recommend, and would stay again. Three minutes to centre of town and it's attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Hippodrome for entertainment value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.7 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#6 of 15 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Les Mots Passants
Villa Les Mots Passants
#4 of 15 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 15 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
6.4 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Property: Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Address: Avenue Michel d'Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 77 rooms and situated near the city centre and leisure centres. The Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome is a modern, comfortable and quiet hotel with rooms refurbished in a warm and welcoming style. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and 6 modular meeting rooms. Rooms for persons with limited mobility, a indoor heated pool, a hamman, sauna and fitness area are also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing