We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location - Fantastic buffet breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location - Fantastic buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Accommodation located within walking distance of quaint Cabourg main street. Pleasant view overlooking racecourse. Rooms were clean, comfortable and enough space for 3 adults. Enjoyed the generous in the buffet breakfast. Only disappointment was the restuarant was not opened on the nights we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Munchkinsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    330
    122
    32
    9
See reviews for
198
329
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great location to use as a base for a break of three nights visiting the D Day landing beaches and associated history of Normandy. Very helpful and pleasant reception staff and even got upgraded to a front balcony room....Bedroom and bathroom can be described as good with what was expected of a hotel in this category... Carpet was a little harsh on the feet though !!! A bonus was watching the morning 'Trotter excercises' across the road at the Hippodrome......Being out of season the restaurant was closed on the Sunday and Monday night... However, there are numerous restaurants within a 10 minute walk.... Meal at the restaurant on the Tuesday night was extremely good and can be recommended. Breakfast selection was extremely good. Unfortunately, due to lack of time we didn't use the swimming pool or sauna facilities... All in all a good little hotel that can be recommended and we would use again....:)

Room Tip: Room 102 was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve311059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Required a room for one night, no food requirements and service requirements limited to check-in and check-out, so not exactly a demanding customer. Wanted a hotel with enclosed parking and not 'centre-ville' so this was good. Quick and easy access from the autoroute with no congestion. Good access to the rooms with luggage - plenty of entrance doors so no need to embarrass ourselves by taking our multitude of scruffy luggage past the reception desk.

For those who are not prone to drowning there is a nice looking pool. I only sink so didn't use it. We got there early enough to grab a parking space but parking could be tricky for late arrivals or when the hotel is really busy. I would use it again. Smart looking bathroom/toilet, as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. The room was at the rear of the hotel, basic but clean & quite spacious, with just TV and tea/coffee facilities. We initially only booked Room Only but decided to have breakfast each morning, which was the usual buffet style with a fairly good choice of fruit, breads & hot foods.
The room served its purpose of being just a place to sleep as we spent all our time exploring Normandy in the day & out at night in Cabourg for the great choice of seafood restaurants.
We didn't make use of the pool or sauna facilities during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topaz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

An attractive hotel with good views of the Hippodrome races. Great pool and a restaurant on site.
A well stocked breakfast buffet each morning, which had bacon,scrambled eggs and sausage if required. The building will need some painting and tidying in not too long to keep it attractive to guests. Can recommend, and would stay again. Three minutes to centre of town and it's attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Hippodrome for entertainment value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I have been using this Hotel as base for visiting Normany over many years and usually book a weekend package inclusive of ferry which make this a very economical break.
Rooms have recently been redocorated (we had room 26 on the ground floor) which found to be excellent. TV, Fridge and a better size of bathroom than many hotels we have stayed in.
The reception staff are efficient and friendly - bar available and small breakfast room.
Dont usually have breakfast and go into Cabourg for its excellent choice of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.7 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#6 of 14 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 14 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Les Mots Passants
Villa Les Mots Passants
#4 of 14 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
9.9 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Property: Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Address: avenue Michel D Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 77 rooms and situated near the city centre and leisure centres. The Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome is a modern, comfortable and quiet hotel with rooms refurbished in a warm and welcoming style. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and 6 modular meeting rooms. Rooms for persons with limited mobility, a indoor heated pool, a hamman, sauna and fitness area are also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing