We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location for getting around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    369
    131
    36
    10
See reviews for
223
371
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Booked a duplex room for on the way back to Le Havre ferry. Room was great for us with kids tucked away upstairs. Balcony overlooking the racecourse with an evening meeting taking place was a real bonus also. Take the chance to have the buffet breakfast as it is very good value. We didn't eat again until the evening. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the shopping streets and about another 10 to the beach, a very pleasant stroll in the summer sunshine. Highly recommended as a stopover or a short break base.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Have used before and does not dissapoint.

Very good private parking. Rooms average for 3 star but with flat screen TV, very good fridge and clean bathroom.

Breakfast is excellent and all staff have a friendly and positive attitude. Only draw back is restaurant closed for dining in off season.

Pleasant walk into Cabourg and very pleasant pool, steam and sauna when you arrive back.

Very good WiFi throughout.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Had to stay in Cabourg unexpectedly and this was one of the few hotels with a room for the princely sum of 155 euros, about £120 w/o breakfast. The receptionist didnt seem to enjoy her job and took several calls inbetween checking me in which was rude. The room was good by French standards in that it had a bath and a kettle with tea etc. Short walk into town for breakfast groceries - didnt want to pay 14 euros for the hotel - with nice bars and a posh seaside vibe. One really positive thing was the bike storeage - we were travelling on bikes and this was no problem at all - they had an allocated room in the hotel for the bikes! Would I stay here again? yes, if I pre-booked and got a good offer like I have in other Mecure hotels in the UK

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised by the town of Cabourg with its superb beach and pretty centre comprising many interesting shops and restaurants. If you find Deauville and Le Touquet a bit over the top, try Cabourg for a refreshing change. The faded splendour of the Grand Hotel gives way to some underwhelming hotels in the hinterland of the town. Near the racecourse you will find the Mercure, a two storey (no lift) three star establishment. When we checked in we were told that the restaurant was shut - no explanation was offered. The receptionist was otherwise busy with some paperwork which we had interrupted, so there was a total lack of eye-contact. The rooms are adequate - some French accountant has figured out precisely how much space would be acceptable as a minimum for this standard of hotel and that is what you get. However we found some interest in watching the trotting horses doing their stuff on the next door track.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

On the outskirts of Cabourg near the horse race track but only 10 minutes walk to the centre and the sea. Low rise modern hotel with small but well furnished rooms. Tea/coffee making facilites but no fridge or mini-bar. There is no lift so those with disabilities or very heavy luggage should opt for a ground floor room. Small indoor heated pool and sauna with towels provided at reception.
There is a restaurant overlooking the race course which offers mid-range cuisine at reasonable prices.
The hotel was full when we stayed and this seemed to strain the resources. The reception staff were courteous but curt and the breakfast buffet seriously overstretched and crowded, so much so that on the second day we took the car into town and breakfasted at a cafe there. Parking was also an issue as the car park is too small for the hotel when it's busy and many people had to park on the street outside or further afield.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for one night when we got bumped out of our booked at the Mecure Hotel at Omaha Beach the night before as the U.S. Secret Service needed to stay there for checks for President Obama's forthcoming visit. We were not disappointed - only inthe housekeeping which was below average. Bathroom floors were in need of a good clean. Rooms were excellent size wise and comfortable beds. Both rooms and beds were large. The hotel has air conditioning that WORKS - excellent too! Tea and coffee facilities with china cups - not the plastic crap you get everywhere else. Good heart breakfasts and dinner too. Just improve on your housekeeping and you will get five stars next time guys!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#9 of 14 in Cabourg
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 14 in Cabourg
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Les Mots Passants
Villa Les Mots Passants
#4 of 14 in Cabourg
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Cabourg Dives sur mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Property: Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
Address: avenue Michel D Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 77 rooms and situated near the city centre and leisure centres. The Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome is a modern, comfortable and quiet hotel with rooms refurbished in a warm and welcoming style. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and 6 modular meeting rooms. Rooms for persons with limited mobility, a indoor heated pool, a hamman, sauna and fitness area are also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing