We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TheSonicTraveller
Paris,Franve

Staring at the Sea.Truly Grand

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 17, 2019via mobile
Stayed there in early Jan. The hotel dates +100yrs, oozes history & Belle Epoque architecture. Its reputed for having hosted Marcel Proust for an extended period. You can feel the reminiscence of past days while walking around the hotel.Rooms are very spacious and hotel is really on the beachfront with great open view. Nice personal and nice breakfast (a bit slow though...). We didn't try tue restaurant at evening as there are bunch of nice restaurants in the main street of Cabourg a stone's throw away. Definitely the place to stay in Cabourg!
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this review
Responded Feb 21, 2019
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind comments and permit me to congratulate you for your deep knowledge of our hotel and its history. We hope to see you again really soon and welcome you in our restaurant this time.

Our whole staff sends you its kind regards.

Yours truly.

Corinne Dupont - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$102
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $100
  • Tripadvisor
    $100
0.5 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
$248
  • Expedia.com
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $248
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • eDreams
    $181
0.2 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
Room service
$176
  • Mercure
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $175
0.8 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
$140
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $139
0.5 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
neige sur Sweet Home
$157
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    $157
0.9 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free parking
Pool
$74
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $74
0.5 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
$83
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $69
  • Expedia.com
    $86
0.3 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Le Champagne Ardenne
  • eDreams
    $83
0.3 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
422.2 miles from Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
View more hotels in Cabourg
Reviews (2,390)
Filter reviews
2,390 results
Traveler rating
1,506
618
166
59
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,506
618
166
59
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view perfect stay town accor france le charm euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 2,390 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

We visited Cabourg for one night, the hotel was classy and well preserved. The personnel were very attentive and polite. The rooms were very spacious and the bed super comfortable! We liked the bathtub too, only minus was the slighlty too warm indoor temperature when we got the room. Best part of our stay was the breakfast, definitely worth the price and excellent quality and wide variety. If you stay at this hotel, don’t forget a nice walk by the beach before you leave!

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank FiskFlickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your impressions shared on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at Le Grand Hôtel Cabourg - MGallery by Sofitel.

With Kind Regards,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

This hotel dominates both the small city of Cabourg in Normandy and the 6km-long sandy
beach on which it sits. Grand and "chic", it was the playground in the 1950s and 1960s
of the French aristocracy. That belle epoque atmosphere is still present in its
stately lobby, restaurant and tea room. The (more expensive) rooms facing the ocean
have large balconies, and are worth the extra cost, I think.

My room, with balcony, had all the modern amenities a demanding traveler
could desire. There was an eye for detail in he design: plenty of plugs everywhere,
a perfect bathtub / shower with great hot water control, expensive
sturdy furniture, comfortable chairs, and progressively dimmed lighting.
Plus The New York Times at breakfast every morning.

The service was impeccable---fast and polite. In my view, it was a tad "forced polite",
almost a caricature of the way French waiters are portrayed in American movies.
The breakfast buffet is extensive.

The bed was huge and comfortable. The sheets were not changed all week,
and I can only surmise that this is ecologically motivated, as even
the laundry bag is bio-degradable.

There is no way that this hotel does not deserve five stars. There are
a few weaknesses. The carpets in the corridors and rooms are old, and
should be replaced by classy tiles or wooden floors---it's the modern
way, better for the health, and more stylish. Also, the wifi did not work
in the rooms upon my arrival---it took 24 hours to fix that.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the sea side.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments and you guessed just right for our hotel is ecologically-minded hence the fact that sheets are not changed everyday. Neverthless they can be changed by our housekeeping department whenever you ask for it. We are deeply sorry for the temporary loss of wfi we have endured.

We just hope that this experience will not prevent you from coming back to the Grand Hôtel de Cabourg for we are impatient to welcome you again and be sure that you will notices changes for we are about to offer our establishment a renewal.

Until your next stay, please receive our kindest regards.

Yours truly.

Corinne Dupont,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Lovely old hotel on the beach, lots of beautiful streets around. Easy walk to eating places and shops. Room and bathroom very spacious overlooking the English Channel. Breakfast was well done with local fruits and cheeses. Will visit again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are all glad to learn that your stay went so well and also that you intend to come back to the Grand Hôtel de Cabourg for it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Waiting impatiently for your return, please accept our kindest regards.

Yous sincerely,

Corinne Dupont,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, right on the beach front. Rooms are very nice, the toilet is separate from the bathroom which is slightly weird. The breakfast was very good and well presented. Clearly this isn’t a cheap hotel though.

1. Both the views into the picturesque town of Cabourg or the sea are equally lovely in my opinion. But on Friday and Saturday night it gets busy in the square so you won’t sleep much during the warmer months until the restaurants and bars in town close. As an example we were woken at midnight by someone repeatedly pressing their car horn.
2. The air conditioning wasn’t good in our room and it was very warm inside despite outside temps of only 12-14 degrees. So request a fan!
3. In the evening the restaurants in Cabourg and in most places don’t open until 1900hrs European time so have a big or late lunch. If your starving then you will have a 15-20 minute drive to the nearest fast food restaurant. Similarly breakfast places don’t seem to open until 0730-0830. So that’s why we had breakfast at the hotel a few times.
4. Parking is free outside the hotel in the square but it gets busy in the evening (worse on Fridays and Saturdays). If you can’t find a space I just drove a few times around the square and usually something opened up. But be careful they do park very close so it may be tight to get your car out.
5. There is a fridge inside the room, it’s not great but better than nothing so there’s a carrefour (supermarket) express store just down the high street where you can get a few drinks, snacks etc.. if you need to go to a bigger store I would suggest the carrefour at Mondeville 2, it’s just outside Caen and has pretty much everything you will need there.
6. Lots of people don’t speak English (understandably) and not all restaurants have English menus but a lot do so you can get away with not speaking french in the main but a few words of french does go along way, even if it’s being able to ask “do you speak English, please”. Thankfully virtually everyone at the hotel did speak English.
7. The hotel restaurant cooked a special dessert not on their normal menu (floating island) for me at my wife’s request which was a lovely thing for them to do as it was my birthday. So they will try and make your stay a special one, if requested.
8. The food at the restaurant was expensive but very nice, small portions but many courses so you shouldn’t leave hungry.

Have a lovely time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your constructive views with us. I am sure they will help us a lot in our continuous quest for improvement.

Toilets are often separated from bathrooms in France, French people tend to prefer. We are deeply sorry if you had to open your window because of the heat and therefore be disturbed by the noise (being located near a casino can be very noisy during the weekends), yet we could easily have brought you a fan for we have some for such situations. Additionally there are a few restaurants open during the day in Cabourg. When you come back, please do not hesitate to ask our staff for advices and our valet could also park your car if you cannot find a place (he is usually here until 10 PM).

We are impatient to welcome you again for another stay that will hopefully satisfy you completely.

Until your next visit please accept our kindest regards.

Corinne Dupont,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This was the best hotel I have stayed in for at least 50 years, of a kind I could never normally afford. We had a brilliant room on the second floor overlooking the sea. The service was excellent. After thinking we would not do so, because it would be too expensive, we ate in the restaurant twice and really enjoyed our meals.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Sir,

We are deeply moved by your story and your congratulations. We hope you will be able to come back to the Grand Hôtel de Cabourg very soon for it was an honour to welcome you.

All our staff cannot wait for your return and, until then, please accept our most sincere regards.

Yours faithfully,

Corinne Dupont,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews