We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$266
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/04/23
Expedia.com
$268
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/23
Trip.com
$242
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/23
MGallery$253
Hotels.com$268
Algotels$306
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveler rating
1,474
606
166
56
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,474
606
166
56
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room service belle epoque sea view perfect stay large room comfortable rooms town accor france charm euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Old world charm, but completely updated and beautiful, AND reasonably priced! Perfect location right on the beautiful wide beach yet close to town. Rooms are large, luxurious and comfortable. My only complaint was there were no coffee makers in the room, and none for guests in the lobby. A hotel of this quality should have a Keureg machine at the very least.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us this summer, and it certainly sounds like you had a most enjoyable experience.

We highly appreciate you bringing this coffee machine issue to our attention, as it will help us to improve the level of service at Le Grand Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon!

Kind regards,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

As we drove towards this hotel we were struck by its grandeur. It was a magnificent building and we expected to have a great stay.

Reception was friendly and efficient and we soon had our room which was huge with a massive balcony overlooking Cabourg's beach and the Promenade Bar and snack area - beware the French idiosyncratic opening hours though. We were lucky and July was one of the months where everything seemed to be open most hours.

The hotel is not too far from Cabourg's main street with its bars, shops and restaurants so there should be plenty of choice if you want to eat/drink away from base.

One night we ate in the hotel's Balbeck restaurant, advertised as gourmet food, and we were not disappointed - the food was excellent albeit somewhat pricey but that was to be expected. On the down side, the dining room was uncomfortably hot despite doors to the promenade being open.

Parking was on-street and didn't seem to be under control of the hotel at all. I suspect it was first come first served.

If it was possible I would have given this establishment 4 1/2 stars. Not quite up to a 5 star standard, but certainly better than a 4. The main problem being the service at the Belle Epoque bar which was very variable and definitely not 5 star standard.

We would go again, it's a good location and if the Belle Epoque annoys you there are many other bars in the vicinity.

Room tip: Go for the sea view and watch the gendarmes riding past on their Segways!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

For a hotel charging €600 per night for a standard room it is fair to say the service upon arrival should be better.

Having been told the parking was free outside the hotel, what was not explained was the chance of finding a space was similar to winning the lottery. "Private parking is available" we were told as cars starting beeping at us for stopping in front of the hotel, but it only operates from 9am to 10pm (no good if you are leaving at 7am as we were). Meanwhile my wife jumped out of the car to ask for help with at least unloading bags. "No one is available said the front desk". And the parking? "Try going round and round a few times" was the rather unhelpful reply!

What time is breakfast? 7.30am. Ok, can we get something earlier as we're leaving early? No sorry. Maybe room service. Oh no, not before 7am!

Ok, dinner tonight? No. Sorry the restaurant is fully booked!! (which turned out to be untrue).

So apart from the parking, breakfast, dinner and help with bags, the welcome was perfect!!!!

To be fair, the young bell boy eventually found us a parking space and did help with the bags so in the end we got checked in.

Five star hotels like this that treat you poorly and then take top dollar from you need to be on Trip Adviser as much if not more so than the great hotels we've reviewed on this trip. Sorry Sofitel. Must try harder if you want to charge these prices!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank philkennedy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Corinne D, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedbacks with us in regards to your recent stay.

I was sorry to learn that your arrival experience was disappointing and that the staff were unable to meet your expectations with luggage service and the valet parking. Rest assured we do take your comments onboard seriously and that we do everything possible to prevent future occurence.

However I am very surprised with some highlighted points in your review.

First of all, the price you mentionned is not the one of a « standard room » but the one of a « Superior Family room with a Sea View ».

Concerning early breakfast, be informed we are able to serve continental breakfast before 7am. In your specific situation, complementary coffee and viennoiserie were offered to your family before departure.

Lastly, regarding dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, it’s true that we were originally fully booked but we found a solution to accomodate you and your family. You declined our table proposition after checking the menu because you were seeking for something more « simple ». We finally booked a restaurant for you in Cabourg.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

There's no doubt this is a very good hotel. The location is brilliant. Our sea-view room was spacious, luxurious and quiet. Staff were courteous; breakfast was very good in terms of both choice and quality. Dinner in the restaurant was superb - but also one of the most expensive meals we've ever had. On the down side, the free parking outside the hotel is public parking so you take a chance at busy times unless you pay for expensive valet parking. So overall, it's very good but seems not to feel any need to price itself competitively.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 589annew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Corinne D, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay!

We are glad that you found the staff courteous, the room spacious and that the location was brillant.
However we regret that the service at the restaurant was not up to your expectations (value for money). We are sorry because we don't want to give this pretentious image for our restaurant, quite the opposite, and the encouraging feedback from our customers testify this.

Be assured that your kind words will be shared with the entire team, and will surely encourage them in their good work.

Thank you once again for your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Yours sincerely,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We stayed here for 4 days with 2 adults and 1 teenager. The superior room with sea view was very spacious. This historic hotel was renovated recently. It was a very hot period and there were some small flies against the (old) windows.
You have a direct access to the beach. However, the parasols are mostly occupied (for several days). The service was very friendly and helpful. They were clearly very well trained. There are a number of parking spaces in front of the hotel, which however are mostly occupied. You can have your car stalled in a parking space in a street a little but further (for 18 € a night).
In general, this is a very quit hotel. If you have a room with a sea view and if you like to open you window during the night, you could get disturbed by youngster making noise during the night after the nearby casino closes (they use the seats of the terrace of the casino to sit and play music).
Breakfast in the hotel is excellent. There is a large buffet of high quality foods for both continentals and Americans. Service is very good and you can sit in the restaurant with sea view.
In Cabourg itself, you have a nice high street with several simple brasseries. The restaurant in the hotel itself is excellent, but largely overpriced. You can find some very good restaurants in Cabourg or in the neighborhood (on walking distance or a 10 min trip by car – see my other reviews for some of them).
This is a ideal location if you plan to visit the D-day memorials and some well-known Normandy cities such as Honfleur (and Deauville).

Room tip: Go for the higher floors with sea view
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 625derrickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Corinne D, General Manager at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Le Grand Hotel Cabourg and also about your visits in Cabourg and in Normandy.

Your special mention to our helpfull and very well trained staff is a very nice reward. Be assured that our team was honored to receive your positive feedback. Glad as well that you enjoyed your accommodation, breakfast and our perfect location next to the sea.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews