We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Charming and good”
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Grand hotel is where the French author Marcel Proust stayed every summer until 1914. However, the hotel has been renovated several times since then. The room was spaceous and nicely decorated with a "French balcony" overlooking the sea. We travel a lot, mostly staying in five star hotels. This was definitely one of the best rooms we have had. Compared to prices of other first class hotels, the price (255 Euros) was reasonable as well considering the quality of the room and the high service level of the hotel. If you plan to stay in the Normandy area for some days, this is definitely a good hotel choice. However, remember to ask for a room with sea view. The view from the other side is towards a square and parking lot and not particularly charming.

The hotel restaurant was not of MIchelain star quality; the service level mediocre, but the food was nevertheless good, however somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrik Frederik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    435
    98
    38
    18
See reviews for
277
979
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Fronting the ocean and in the centre of town, the position of this hotel is ideal. The hotel itself is in an extremely tired state, even by French accommodation standards. While I can't say that it was wholly uncomfortable (the reason I give it 2 stars and not 1), it most certainly does not offer value for the money they charge. Our feeling was that based on their location and the fact that it is the only "4 star" in town, there wouldn't appear to be any real incentive for the owners to refurbish the property to an acceptable standard.

If you want to stay in a proper 4 star hotel, I would look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank grho4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Not a 4 star hotel, only for the memory, a room garden side is noisy rooom overlooking the place of the city.
General appearance is good hat don't look at the details.
One positive thing, very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank graciane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Yes it is a nice and quiet place ; but no it not a palace. It is a 4 stars by is historical position, that's all. The peolpe are nice ; but the bed are bad ans need new cover and sheets. It needs a litle work (on the painting...) ; the food were just not good. The breakfast has no interrest. Don't go the Grand hotel restaurant but prefer "The beau site" (web site) 200 meters on the beach ; food are good specially sea food.
Please make the "Grand" back, mister Mercure.

  • Liked — the view, tranquillity
  • Disliked — need work
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Boulderfromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

There are many great grand hotels in France but this place is not one. My children summed this place up in the Haiku poem which follows:

"Mr Marcelle Proust
Had crappy taste in hotels
Madelines are hard"

It was expensive, old, and not at all up to the usual standard you would expect in France. We have stayed at many expensive and good hotels in france but his place is poor.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daviesukmkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Lovely old hotel with Proustian connections - right on sea front at Cabourg. We had a sea-view room just down the corridor from M Proust's. Lovely views across a wide horizon.

Rest of hotel retains its Edwardian charm. Staff were discreet and helpful.

Prices are a bit savage - we stayed 2 nights as a treat.

Breakfast excellent - plus the madelines!

Cabourg itself is a bit of a dull place - few decent places to eat if you can't afford the hotel restaurant. However, it is within easy reach of lots of other places - landing beaches, Bayeux, Deauville etc., and v handy for ferry from Le Havre.

  • Liked — romanitc style of hotel
  • Disliked — prices
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2007

If you have a young family that you want to let loose on the beach, while being able to retreat to reasonable comfort nearby, then this hotel is absolutely spot on. If you want a sophisticated holiday with regular meals in Michelin-starred restaurants, then you shouldn't consider Cabourg at all.

Cabourg is an unsophisticated seaside town and does not pretend otherwise. I took my wife and 2 year-old son to the Grand Hotel for about a week in August 2006, mainly so that the boy could play in the sand and splash about a bit in the sea. For this purpose, the Grand Hotel is ideally situated. It fronts immediately onto the beach: at high tide the sea is just a few dozen feet from your window. Food is not of the very highest standard, but it is good and consistent; and we found breakfast to be very good. We are fairly exacting when it comes to levels of service, but we had no complaints in this regard. Choose a big room with a balcony overlooking the sea and you'll get a dramatic view, good fresh air, the lovely sound of the sea together with some "outdoor space" for little picnics which our boy adored: all perfect for a young family. There are also some cheaper rooms overlooking the town garden, though these are really more suitable for the nanny.

Cabourg has few attractions of its own and the roads leading directly into and out of the town get congested at peak hours. But if you time your journey correctly you can motor quite easily to the more interesting parts of Normandy for nice day trips. Caen, Bayeux and even Rouen (eg, for the very good Restaurant Gill) are perfectly manageable, and such places as Honfleur and Deauville are in very easy striking distance. We found the Grand Hotel to be a good place to come back to.

Parts of the hotel could certainly do with a lick of paint etc in places. But I have found this to be typical of almost all French hotels much below the Crillon category. The price is also on the high side. However, overall we were not deterred; and we will be going back for more this year.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach
  • Disliked — No real dislikes; some parts of hotel could do with redecoration - as is typical in France.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.1 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#8 of 14 in Cabourg
271 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
9.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Address: Les Jardins du Casino, 14390 Cabourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be captivated by the timeless charm of the Grand Hôtel Cabourg, immortalized by Marcel Proust. Its spacious rooms have sea views or overlook the gardens & flowers. The restaurant faces the promenade & offers exquisite Normandy cuisine & memorable snacks. Come for a family vacation or a weekend away with your partner; the Grand Hôtel Cabourg offers you undivided attention for an unforgettable stay, whatever the time of year. (MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing