We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stop over point”
Review of Mercure Alencon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Alencon
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Alencon
Izon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good stop over point”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

family rooms are good size for 4 people. A pleasant quiet location very convenient for the Motorway. If travelling from UK to southern France it is an ideal stop over. Parking is easy and security feels good for loaded cars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardlaurnce33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    78
    38
    11
See reviews for
51
97
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed in family room. Staff at reception very nice, spoke English. Breakfast very good buffet. Good-sized bathroom and large flat-screen t.v. Very pleasant experience and will definitely use again as stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria66044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I booked on the Accor website at €120.00 room only, as that was the only rate offered. Mercure have always been a premium brand, with good facilities for a business traveller so............As I approached the hotel I saw €74.00 on the display outside. I mentioned this on check-in to be told that the "superior" type room that I had booked was the only type available. At this point I would like to say that the staff were all very pleasant. The room was in need of a proper clean - the dust was thick on the shelves and surrounding woodwork. There was no plug in the bathroom sink, and the microscopic piece of soap was almost comical. OK so this is only a 2* hotel (beware!) but even so. There was no restaurant, but one within walking distance next door that was packed with hotel guests as it was a captive audience. This was quite a good meal, but at €33.00 for a TDH menu, rather expensive. Breakfast would be OK for an IBIS hotel, but really rather limp. I was one of the first down so it was not as if other has beat me to it. The carpet in the breafast area had seen better days and needed a severe cleaning - not nice at all. The thick plastic tablecloths had a "smeary" look that also added to the overall grimy look.
Overall I felt cheated at having paid €120.00 for what was a €40.00 experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alencon hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is a very easily found, small, typically French hotel which made a perfect mid-point stop en route through France. The room we had was large, as was the bathroom, although some of the fixtures and fittings were in need of an overhaul - that said, it was immaculately clean, the staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast was high quality and plentiful. The only disappointment was that the restaurant next door was closed when we visited, but we found a local "Flunch" nearby which filled the bill very well. An added bonus was the delightful English lady who was running the breakfast service! Highly recommended and - for the price - an ideal stopover.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donandkumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alencon hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Hussard
Le Hussard
#7 of 11 in Alencon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alencon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alencon

Property: Mercure Alencon
Address: 187 avenue du General Leclerc, 61000, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Alencon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Alencon 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 min from the city center, 1 km from the freeway (exit no 19 on A28), this hotel features 53 rooms. Restaurant and shopping district nearby. Meeting rooms ( 80 delegates ), bar with terrace, free private outdoor carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Alencon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Alencon
Mercure Hotel Alençon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing