We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled across restaurant - very good”
Review of Le Hussard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Hussard
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Alencon
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking for a place for lunch and found Le Hussard. Didn't look particularly promising from the outside but food and service both excellent. Great steak, chips and apple tart for the kids and two beautifully cooked fresh tagines for us. Next time we're driving through France we'll make an effort to make this our stop.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank JEJP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

stayed here for the second time, and found this year that the rooms we stayed in had been recently redecorated, as had the hallways, stairs etc. Much better!

Food menu had been updated too - kids found something to eat, which is always good.

Had windows open because of the heat - rooms can be noisy from traffic.

Overall, great value....

Room Tip: find one at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper101_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lewis family and two friends (Wales).Not sure what to expect from the outside, but pleasantly satisfied on entering this hotel. Excellent welcome from Phillipe, who we think was the owner, and who was more than attentive throughout our stay as was the staff. This is not a modern hotel, as it has survived Napoleonic days.It is spotlessly clean and has good bedrooms although if you have a disability make sure when you book you ask for low floor room. The breakfast and the meal in the restaurant is excellent value. Our overall view of this hotel is very good and we would like to thank Phillipe and his staff for a very pleasant stay albeit overnight on our way down to Belabre. We were also glad that we had booked our stay on the return journey.

Room Tip: Room three a good choice. double bed and one single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brialyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As with previous reviewers we travelled, Newhaven-Dieppe en-route to southern France. We stayed in the Hotel des Ducs ( separate review) and that hotel recommended Le Hussard.

The restaurant has good ambiance and n interesting menu, from Couscous and Tagines to more traditional french fare. Our waitress had no English but once we attempted to speak our basic french we got on really well and got things explained just as we had asked. The food was pleasant rather than spectacular but the ambiance and the staff made it an experience that we would be happy to repeat.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank alundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

When travelling through France,( in our case travelling from Newhaven to Dieppe) and following a route to the Vendee, it is always good to know of a real value for money stop over.
Le Hussard in Alencon provides a really good deal.

I telephoned in advance and spoke with Gi Gi, the proprietor.He speaks very good English, his offer of half board i.e. 3 course dinner, bed & breakfast @ 93euros for my husband and I seemed too good to be true. It was true!
On arrival he greeted us and advised on free parking(another plus in France!) Our room with en suite was of a high standard. Evening meal & breakfast very good. Recommend highly!

Room Tip: Just telephone Gi Gi and he will advise according to what you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LilianWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mapicc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alencon hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#2 of 3 in Valframbert
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#10 of 11 in Alencon
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hussard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hussard

Address: 20 Pl du General Charles de Gaulle, 61000, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Alencon
Price Range: $85 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Hussard 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Le Hussard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing