We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for families”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

As a family of 4 we stayed here for 1 night. It is out of the town centre but I wanted to visit the LAM museum of modern art and it was only a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It is situated on a science park. It felt a bit like being on a big ship. The apartments are all around the outside of the building with a central bar / breakfast area on the ground floor. The children loved it because they could run round in circles! And I loved it because we could put the children to bed in their own room and still have an evening. It had everything we needed - towels, shampoos, tea, coffee, kitchenette. It was all clean and the apartment was warm. The staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. I would definitely stay here again. It was really good value and the breakfast was included. It could be a bit noisy trying to get to sleep if people are in the bar area but the bar closes at 10.00pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    125
    47
    18
    5
See reviews for
99
39
11
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niort, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a stay at the Olivarius as we had stayed there several times in the past and enjoyed it, but five years on things have changed. The hotel is becoming tired and we found the experience disappointing.

To be fair, due to my mistake, we booked a studio rather than an apartment and the difference in accomodation was quite marked. The studios are tiny - bascially a hotel bedroom with a sink and two ring hob in the corridor to the door, whereas with the apartment, there is a kitchenette and a seperate living area with dining table, sofa, TV etc.

We had problems with the shower - a lot of the jets on the showerhead were blocked and the shower ran cold periodically. The lighting in the rooms was very poor - ladies beware there is not sufficient light to apply make-up - even the light in the bathroom was dim. Internet connection in the rooms was very poor - extremely slow and cut off regularly.

The hotel seemed short-staffed. When we called for a drink at the bar, the barman/receptionist had quite a crowd in. We waited out turn, but there were also two ladies waiting to check in, so when he had finished a large drinks order, he tended to the guests waiting at reception.

We stayed for 3 nights and our room was not serviced at all during our stay. So, no change of towels and no replenishment of the two teabags and two coffee sachets, which really is not acceptable. Anyone booking longer than a one night stay, bring your own tea and coffee!

On a positive note, the breakfast was good. A wide range of choice, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, toast, galettes, bread and charcuterie.

Sadly, we will not be returning as apart from the breakfast, everything else fell short of the mark.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an apartment - the studios are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWoftheW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were a group of 10, and we had a totally amazing time here. Since this wasn't a very expensive place, I wasnt expecting such a lovely experience : ).

The lobby is large, open, well-lit (with a large skylight)and relaxed(there are even a few dwarf-trees indoors). The apartment is clean, well-furnished and much better than a hotel room. When we asked for a couple of extra pillows, it was given with a smile.

The kids enjoyed the foosball table in the lobby, and the free breakfast provided was one of the best spreads I've seen. All in all, I'd highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Dont get one on the ground floor, if you have the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this place, I don't have very high expectations of somewhere low cost like this but the pictures looked good so went with an open mind. Nice clean and modern room, everything you could hope (and more) in the kitchenette area. Good car parking too. Breakfast was by far the best breakfast that I have had in any hotel. There is not a huge amount in the close area, so did drive around a little bit to get dinner (Pizza and Pasta restaurant in the town was very nice, but cant remember what it was called.) however the hotel sells food that you can then cook in your little kitchenette which is a really good idea.
I would recommend this to anyone and would stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curacao
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

we ,as familly of 4 have stay a this hotel over 20 times during the last 5 years.
it a great place when you travel with kids. much more space then a hotel room. the breakfat offers crepes with nutella.
the housekeeping is not always very good .
the hotel offer large and much more luxuring appartment via the phone to return visitors. call and ask for a room in the new part. they are much nicer.
the hotel schould think of building a small playground, it would make it more familly friendly.

Room Tip: ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellaguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Raphael, France
Level Contributor
198 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a surprise when i got in, a big open space with a bar, tables, lounge and music, it s like a bar. The atmosphere is very pleasant and it s young. Custommers are very different here and it s nice (families, students, business men etc...). The rooms are very modern and comfortable, no noise in the rooms you are able to work quietly. My apartment was named : "rock" funny, by the way you may have a chance to sleep in Rumba, samba, Disco.... Nothing to say about the rooms they are clean and with al facilities.
breakfast is brilliant ! Viennoiseries are delicious dont miss that !

I will go back tou this hotel cause i love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is perfect for a stopover from or as we were going to the Tunnel. For a family it is perfect and there are fast food eateries all around the area.
It still looks like a young offenders institution which adds to is almost charm!! However the apartments are clean and the breakfast is just brilliant and the staff make you very welcome and are really helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an apartment on the second floor looking outward as the inward facing ones maybe n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve d'Ascq
4.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Ascotel
Inter-Hotel Ascotel
#7 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand Stade
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand...
#1 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#4 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Morphee
Hotel Morphee
#2 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivarius Apart'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivarius Apart'Hotel

Property: Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Address: Rue du President Paul Doumer | 6 Avenue Halley, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille > Villeneuve d'Ascq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olivarius Apart'Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Olivarius Apart'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivarius Apart` Hotel Villeneuve d`Ascq
Hotel Olivarius Apart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing