We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that easy to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you book an Ibis you know what you are going to get. Both in terms of the room and the food available. So I'll not repeat anything about that. I suggest that you will need a satnav or GPS to find the hotel as it is located behind some residential apartments down a side road. The co-ordinates are on the hotel website. When busy the parking is very full, so arriving late might mean that you may have to park outside of the gated area (we parked on the road in the car park even though there were signs saying not to). We stayed here to visit Lille's famous Braderie. The metro station is about a 5 min walk away and is located above the bus station. From there the centre of Lille is about 10 mins away. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They provided maps of Lille plus a metro map. Also very near is the local football stadium (10-20 mins walk). Not really much more in the area. If you want to eat the hotel does do meals (limited menu) or you need to go into the centre of Lille. The area seems OK after dark but not many people on the streets so may feel a little unsafe the later it gets.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the lift and it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over for one night. The beauty of this hotel is that it is only a couple of stops on the train (station located a few minutes walk away) from Lille centre and unlike most of the hotels in the centre has plenty of parking. Though if you don't want to travel into the centre there are a number of restaurants & a very good shopping centre within a few hundred metres.
The hotel itself is basic and showing it's age but perfectly suitable for a few nights stay whether enjoying the sights of Lille or just a nights stop over, the rooms are clean & comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I would agree with other reviews regarding finding the hotel. Even with sat nav it was difficult to find, but a good location and car park was safe. Rooms a bit on the small side, but kept very clean. Some staff were English speaking and very helpful, others were particularly 'french' . Overall it was fair value for money for what it was

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
65
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is an excellent well run hotel. It can be difficult to find (it is not well signposted) but once there we found the hotel very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Excellent location for V2 shopping and the Lille Metro. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel is your expected Ibis with light airy reception reception area with friendly staff who can converse quite readily in English and were very helpful with a good knowledge of the local area. Bedrooms and public areas were clean and well maintained. Would be nice to have more than one English speaking chanel on the television but that is a minor complaint. Hotel well positioned within the town in a quiet residential area with easy access to the major roads, 5 minutes walk to a new shopping centre with entertainment and dining establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Very easy to find. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. Before arrival I was a little concerned about potential noise from the motorway immediately adjacent to the hotel. However, the reality is you hardly hear it, even out in the car park. The rooms are double glazed, so it’s pretty silent inside. The only noise comes from the corridor as people walk past.

First impression upon entering the room was “WOW! Is this really an Ibis?!”. The room was extremely fresh looking and in an immaculate condition. Housekeeping had done an excellent job at cleaning it, it really was spotless. It appears that there is a slight deviation from the usual furniture used in Ibis rooms, although this is in extremely good taste and also extremely well designed and practical. There was a full height mirror in the bedroom, and plenty of storage space in several locations. It appears that the side of the spare bed doubles up as a desk – design genius. There were several mains sockets available for use.

The bathroom also looked spotlessly clean. As usual with French hotels, they seem to defy all Health & Safety legislation and have decided to fit a mains 230V socket immediately above the toilet, along with a mains powered hair dryer beside it.

Unfortunately, this is where the great first impressions with this hotel partially ends. There was only a single pillow per person with none of the usual spares available. These pillows were wafer thin, and compressed to nothing when lying down on them. Although the bed was comfortable, I woke up several times with a backache due to the lack of neck support. In the end, I folded the pillow in half. I suppose I could have asked reception for another, but we didn’t turn in until gone midnight, and I couldn’t be bothered to walk along the corridor. This is the first hotel I've stayed in where the pillows are wafer-thin AND there are no spares.

The shower wasn’t all that either, with quite low pressure. There was literally just a few mm of movement in the mixer tap between scalding hot and freezing cold. The wash basin had an identical problem. The shower curtain, whilst very clean, was very thin and as such, wanted to make physical contact whenever you got close. Yuck! This problem was slightly alleviated by opening the far end by a few inches, but I just don’t understand why they couldn’t have fitted a slightly thicker one to start with.

Noise from the corridor and (presumably) other rooms was an issue though. It sounded like somebody in stilettos was patrolling the corridor for much of the late evening and early morning. Doors were heard crashing and bashing too. We were then woken up at 07:30 by what sounded like a industrial-strength (i.e. LOUD!) vacuum cleaner being carelessly bashed around an adjoining room. This lasted for around 20 mins.

Breakfast, however, was good, even if slightly over-priced. There was a good selection of bread, pastries, jams, meat & cheese, yoghurt, fruit juice and tea/coffee. There was also a varied selection of cakes too, a nice twist on the usual breakfast formula.

This hotel is a great alternative for a cheap trip to Lille whilst avoiding the hassle of a city centre hotel. The closest Metro stop is less than a 5 min stroll from the hotel, and is only 7 stops/15 minutes to the Gare Lille Flandres station. Current price (2011) is a bargain E1.40 for a single ticket, or E11.00 for 10.

The following morning, the staff kindly gave us permission to leave the car in the car park for several hours whilst we made one final trip into central Lille.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ASHTEAD
11
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Attended the great braderie at Lille - this hotel is well located and the staff friendly and helpful - made it an enjoyable trip. At 90 euros a night not great value but the Hotel is clean and secure with bar ..........
Apparently during saturday evening the weather was awful - I was asleep my wife told me in the morning. At 10pm the braderie was cancelled due the poor weather by the authorities-. Sunday morning the traders were there- simply carried on as normal - I love the French way of doing things ....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villeneuve d'Ascq hotels
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#3 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Ascotel
Inter-Hotel Ascotel
#7 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand Stade
Park Inn by Radisson Lille Grand...
#1 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Morphee
Hotel Morphee
#2 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
#4 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Lille Est - Villeneuve D'Ascq
Campanile Lille Est - Villeneuve...
#5 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq

Address: Rue du Vercors | Quartier Hotel de Ville, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille > Villeneuve d'Ascq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Price Range: $56 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq hotel is located in the middle of the Villeneuve d'Ascq business district, close to the Pierre Mauroy stadium, V2 shopping center, Musée d'Art Moderne LAM and the Stadium Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq. Reach Lille city center, Lille Grand Palais, the Lille Flandres and Lille Europe train stations by car or metro in just 10 minutes. Free enclosed outdoor parking. Metro station 328 yds (300 m) away. Ideal for business stays or family getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Lille Villeneuve d'Ascq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing