We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Meal We Had in France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Bon Fermier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge du Bon Fermier to your Saves list
Auberge du Bon Fermier
64 rue de Famars, 59300, Valenciennes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“The Best Meal We Had in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although we did not stay at the Coach House we did visit it for our evening meal whilst staying at nearby Le Domaine de La Frenaie.
We were welcomed warmly by a young lady whose English was superb. We had a couple of drinks and were then taken into the restaurant which was formerly the stables. It oozed character and the slow pork spit at the end of the room produced some fantastic flavours. The meal was not cheap by English standards but was incredible. Everything was superbly laid out and presented and the flavours were to die for!
If ever we venture back to Valenciennes we will definately be eating here again and would more than likely stay for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
51
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a charming old inn which is lovingly maintained. (Consistent with description in various guides). If you require modern facilities avoid! Rooms to a high standard, with decent bathrooms.very friendly service. Happy to stay on return trip.
Niggles- stairs are awkward if you frail, parking on the street -free 6pm 9am, breakfast basic. Restaurant: food rustic - basic even though fellow travellers thought it OK. Wine list basic, with some of interest.
On edge of interesting town square. In summary, merits a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chbeaumont89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel on the way to the south of France. We were hungry and tired and could not find anywhere else to stay. The price of 140 Euro was more than we usually pay but we felt we deserved a treat. We had our dog with us and he cost an extra 10 Euro (this wasn't mentioned when we checked in). He thought he was worth it! Our room was on the ground floor and it was huge and very comfortable. I do not like having to sit down in a bath to shower though - I am sure there are other rooms with proper showers. Breakfast was an extra 10 Euro per person. It consisted of croissants, jam, coffee and juice. I know this is a typical French breakfast but it wasn't really worth what we paid. We ate at dinner at the restaurant in the in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was great, albeit a bit impersonal. The owner spoke good English and he took the time to explain the specials to us. All in all - I would stay at great places like this every night, if I could afford it. (Who wouldn't?) I loved the fact that this hotel was very old with a history and that it had been restored maintaining many of the original features. Can also add that the holder for shower creme and shampoo was empty in our bathroom and this meant my husband had to go to the car to get shampoo for me. Of course I didn't find this out until I was in the shower. I don't expcet things like this to happen in a top quality hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the street on the ground floor. We could hear the people on the street right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

None of the floors are flat, neither do the doors fit well in their holes, but this place oozes charm. Don't expect a modern luxury chain hotel, but go expecting quality touches in huge rooms with all necessary amenities. The staff were very friendly, efficient and accomodating. Park outside the front door and the staff will take the car to their reserved garaged parking area.
Surprisingly quiet given it is in the centre of town.
Dinner was devine; we only ate for one of our two evenings there, I now wish it had been both. Classic French with some modern interpretations.
The pillows are an interesting concoction, but as we didn't ask for alternatives the we can hardly complain.
Would definately stay here again should there be a need in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soarer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Saw this hotel on the Alastair Sawday Special Places for stay. I agree it was a very nice beautiful hotel. Staff very friendly and polite (not much english with the exception of the owner). Weren't offered the chance of a full breakfast until the morning we left. Went to stay with friends there room was infested with ants. All rooms and the place was very clean and tidy. Restaurant was very very expense although found the whole town very expensive to eat out in. Would agree probably only stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

Very sweet but old hotel in France. Very nice staff. Excellent restaurant (though quite pricey). Not-so-nice town but good stopover place. Overall very good experience and would go back to this hotel again for either stopover or meal.

  • Liked — The food and wine
  • Disliked — The price and the town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tcdf080305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenciennes
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valenciennes
Ibis Valenciennes
#2 of 14 in Valenciennes
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
#6 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Valenciennes
Mercure Valenciennes
#1 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Duc
Le Grand Duc
#4 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau d'Aubry
Hotel Chateau d'Aubry
#1 of 1 in Aubry-du-Hainaut
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
10.4 mi away
Auberge du Bord des Eaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Fermier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Fermier

Property: Auberge du Bon Fermier
Address: 64 rue de Famars, 59300, Valenciennes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Valenciennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valenciennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortably established after four hundred years of existence.All spruced up, it offers its Henry IV style, interpreted with regional inspiration in its proportions, harmoniously decorated in total respect for the region and its history.When Louis XIV made his “joyful return” to Valenciennes in August 1680, the Auberge was called “A la Ville de Troyes”. A souvenir of the great fairs of Champagne, with the travellers, salesmen and drapers stopping in our town to rest and restore their strength.in the hearth, there would be capons and haunches of meat roasting with a stew bubbling in fat jugs, swaying with the bawdy songs which barely covered the sounds of horses and their hooves on the round paving stones in the courtyard.The inn had a great reputation; Jacques Fontaine managed the establishment until 1701 and its successors’ were still roasting in the fireplace in 1789. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Bon Fermier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing