We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic in The North”
Review of L'Escargot

L'Escargot
Reserve with
L'Escargot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 196 Restaurants in Valenciennes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

This is a classic in Valenciennes, it has been allways like it is today, same people, same taste. For sure if you have money go there, menu is the same since years, lange lucullus, salmon, coq, oysters, meat , fish, .......
Prices are litle bit high, but try at least one time in your life

Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seraph59, Propriétaire at L'Escargot, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire si favorable et espère vous accueillir très bientôt au restaurant L'Escargot

Cordialement,

Hugues TENEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 502 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2018

My Belgium friends brought me to this restaurant and I'm glad they did. The lunch was very good. We had the chicken and it was great. The service was very good. We sat outside in the square which was tidy and our needs well catered for. The service was good and food great.
I would eat at this place again when I return to the city.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seraph59, Propriétaire at L'Escargot, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire si favorable et espère vous accueillir très bientôt au restaurant L'Escargot

Cordialement,

Hugues TENEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018

My friends and I stopped her for lunch and we had one child with us. Over the course of our time there, the child spilt a bit of food and her drink and the waiters thankfully didn't seem phased. They even helped us calm her down when she got embarrassed over it. It really is helpful when you dine somewhere that the staff are good with children.

My husband tried as much as he could on the menu and loved it all, so much so we went back the next day for lunch again as we were quite please with the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah Maree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seraph59, Propriétaire at L'Escargot, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018
Google Translation

Madame,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire si favorable et espère vous accueillir très bientôt au restaurant L'Escargot

Cordialement,

Hugues TENEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited with a friend. Friend loved his fish and as I’m a vegetarian, they did their best to improvise a meal for me. 3 legume side dishes combined to make a main dish.
Good effort and tasty.
5* if you can offer an authentic vegan dish on the menu in the future.

Thank a03227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seraph59, Propriétaire at L'Escargot, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire si favorable et espère vous accueillir très bientôt au restaurant L'Escargot

Cordialement,

Hugues TENEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Visited in July. Sat in the front area so as to observe French life on the paved area outside.
This is a restaurant, not a cafe, so do expect to pay a bit more for your food.
Had a delicious rack of lamb, with French beans followed by a crime brûlée. Would recommend both of these.
If you want cheap and cheerful, the Golden Arches is right next door !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DerbyUnbiased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seraph59, Propriétaire at L'Escargot, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire si favorable et espère vous accueillir très bientôt au restaurant L'Escargot

Cordialement,

Hugues TENEUR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot also viewed

Valenciennes, Nord
Valenciennes, Nord
 
Aubry-du-Hainaut, Valenciennes
 

Been to L'Escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing