We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, friendly and very tasty food”

Pizzeria Fata Morgana
Ranked #39 of 112 Restaurants in Douai
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We happened to be in Douai on a Monday night - never a good night to eat out in France. We wanted something easy but good and this fitted the bill perfectly. Run by an Italian patron, the pizza's are traditionally cooked in a wood fired brick oven and were very good. The restaurant itself is small and intimate, the staff were very friendly and the prices reasonable. Who could ask for anything more?

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2016

Warm welcome on arrival from a flamboyant host. The overall atmosphere in the small well kept restaurant was one of enjoyment by all of the diners. The blend of Italian/French cuisine was ideal for our needs and wants. Good food, good company and pleasant environment ... the perfect evening for us.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Swagger762fmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident and sat down on the terrace because the weather was good, there were some people eating pizza that looked fine.

The waitress was really unfriendly. We asked if we could eat, she told us to go and ask 'le patron' behind the bar. He said we could eat, so we sat down at the terrace. The table was dirty, and another waitress poured out the dirty soapsuds from cleaning in the gutter in the middle of the terrace, so everything smelled like soap.

We asked for a cup of wine of the house. This is, without exaggerating, THE WORST wine I have ever drunk. I don't mean it was just table wine or so, it hardly resembIed wine at all, and it seemed like it had been diluted with water. I don't know how the dare to serve this, but is an absolute disgrace for both France and Italy, two countries with a long wine tradition.

The food was edible (I ate a tagliatelle bolognaise, my girlfriend a 'aubergine speciality dish from the house'), but far from living up to the expectations (the window says 'Cuisine Italienne gastronomique', not worth it's price and the portions were way too small (more or less half of what you would expect for a normal pasta, my girlfriend got 5 ravioli's filled with aubergine, swimming in watered down cream)

Conclusion: this restaurant is better to avoid, this are no honoust people, it seems like they want to maximize their profit by giving you little portions of crap. >> TO AVOID!

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Fata Morgana also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Fata Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing