We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Hotel Beatus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beatus
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved this Boutique Hotel it is in a wonderful quiet setting with lovely gardens. My room opened out into the gardens. A very high standard room with nice decor, a comfortable bed and a lovely well equipped bathroom nice toiletries and fluffy towels just what you would expect of a hotel of this quality. It has a small bar for pre dinner drinks and we had a lovely 3 course meal with fantastic wine and a great breakfast the next day. A very relaxing hotel shame I was only there 1 night. Staff where so helpful and friendly could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    89
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
144
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Now the secret is out, thought I'd better review this delightful Hotel a short walk from the center of Cambrai. We stumbled across it many years ago and must have stayed 8 times over as many years. Rooms seem to have been redecorated and improved on each visit. Reception staff and owner are charming and knowledgeable. As well as being convenient for the channel crossing, Cambrai appears to be a town on the up with a hots of bars and restaurants and quite a nice feel to the place. The other major interest is obviously WW1 history and the discovery of "the tank".
Breakfast is served in a lovely open area and there is a small bar. It's situated off the main road and has lovelky gardens.,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain_Bike_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first stop in France, we came upon this hotel by chance. Set back from the main road in lovely gardens. Rooms are great with lots of character. We ate in the hotel and had a wonderful meal. Service was superb. Breakfast included egg and bacon!!!! Parking is secluded and could be more secure but we had no problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foggyduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a very good and reasonably priced hotel set in flowery grounds 11 mins walk from the centre of Cambrai. Our room had a very comfortable bed with excellent linen and a bathroom with little extras such as a good shelf for toiletries and a real power shower and superb towels. The breakfast included scrambled egg and bacon plus good fruit salad and the usual selection of items and good quality jam. It s a pity the restaurant is not open at week ends as reports are good. The owner is very helpful and welcoming. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have outside seating for when the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

On a guided tour of the area we stopped here for lunch. We were told that we should have stayed here for a couple of nights but it had been previously booked by others. This is a delightful hotel, the grounds are very pretty and well kept. The lunch was wonderful and very satisfying, what a shame we couldn't have stayed there for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaniskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very attractive and welcoming floral entry to this privately run hotel. Stylish and elegant interior. Beautiful garden. Room lovely with very comfortable bed and excellent bed-linen and pillows. Staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. Food plentiful and good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarazed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just on the edge of the town centre, set back from the road and nestling in beautiful gardens the Hotel Beatus is a true little gem. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and the beds are so very comfortable. The staff endlessly helpful and if, like me, you are a Great War enthusiast they have a ready supply of reference material and helpful advice. Indeed the owner has a Great War tank in a nearby barn.

Fabulous stay. Wonderful staff. Delicious food.

The gardens provide an appealing home for mosquitoes but I note since my previous visit each room now has a bug plug provided by the hotel. Excellent.

There is ample easy parking. TV, kettle, tea and coffee in each room. Being an older establishment there is no air conditioning but the sheer character of the Beatus more than makes up for that.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the front have French windows onto the garden and on nice days you can sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddington_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambrai
1.6 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
272 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
1.8 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
55 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
110 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mercure Valenciennes Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beatus

Property: Hotel Beatus
Address: 718 Avenue de Paris, Cambrai, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beatus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatus Hotel Cambrai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing