We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loverly little hotel”
Review of Hotel Beatus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beatus
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loverly little hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a nice hotel just on the edge of town. It's about 15 mins. to the centre were there are lots of places to eat. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great. The restaurant is closed at the weekend and all of August, so we didn't get to try it. The owner is a charming man who has dug up a WW1 tank and you can arrange to go and see it. Enjoy the late evening with a nightcap in the beautiful gardens. I'd stay again, but next time I want to try the restaurant as i had heard it was good !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    87
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
143
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stopped for one night on our way back from Switzerland to the UK. We were charmed. The hotel has a style of it's own, slightly quirky, but clean and spacious. The staff were all very welcoming. We had two rooms upstairs, each facing the garden, one superior double and a standard twin. Boutique style, with very large and nicely done bathrooms. It was very hot, but we had a fan, which actually we had to forfeit for our girls room, but we left the shutters and window open all night and it was fine, very quiet. The dinner was superb, lots of choice, and very good value. Perhaps because we had come from German Switzerland where the food is pretty poor and everything horrendously expensive, this seemed all the more welcome. Best dinner we had on our whole holiday and a perfect end to our travels. Only 1 1/2 hours from Calais too! Will be going back to tour the area as so close home, and much to see.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with view of the garden are spacious, with nice bathrooms. Decor is boutique, some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AN500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First impression good.
We were met in the car park, by the owner, Phillipe Gorczynski and taken to recepion under a colourful floral arched walkway. Typically French in period style the foyer and side lounge offered quiet seating areas. We arrived on a very hot day…30+ ºC. With no air conditioning the hotel offered no relief from the heat outside which was a shame but not unexpected.
We were taken to our room by Phillipe. The room was dark and hot but beautiful in style and once the windows and shutter were opened the room was filled with light…no respite from the heat though. The shower offered a cool relief from our tiredness and we rested before dinner.

By the bar, is a large seating area with soft lighting and plants. Dinner was taken in the open plan dining area with doors open to the garden. It had been raining earlier so we could not enjoy sitting outside as the furniture was still wet. The garden, all to the front of the hotel, is delightful although a little overgrown with wisteria at this time of year, but full of pots and roses.

My husband chose the 3 course regional menu whilst I had a starter with steak to follow. Both meals were delicious, the meat being accompanied by a good selection of vegetables. I had a large gin and tonic with mine whilst Alan had a 50 cl pichet of a very fruity Bordeaux red.
We did not take breakfast but there was plenty on offer with hot and cold choices. Cost 10:50 euros.

On day two, Phillipe bought a fan for our bedroom and we enjoyed a better night’s sleep. All the staff were very helpful and spoke English although we were able to convey our needs in French in a reasonable manner.

Because it was so hot we did not explore the area at all. We stayed there to be a short drive away from the WW1 cemeteries. Both of us have family members killed there in the summer of 1916. Phillipe has a great interest and knowledge of the history of the area in respect to the wars and there is considerable amount of memorabilia from WW1 to see. Phillipe has written a book which is on view. The hotel is a lovely place to stay to explore that area of France.

We visited the Matisse museum in the nearby town of Le Cateau de Cambresis on our first afternoon which has beautiful gardens too.

We greatly enjoyed our stay and would go again, in the Spring or Autumn tough when it is cooler, so that we could enjoy all that these small towns have to offer. A delightful culinary area of France although the countryside is very ordinary. If you have an interest in the history of the wars, especially WW1, then it has lots to offer.

Any minus points? Not really; The new hospital is to the rear of the hotel hence the lack of garden, maybe there was at some stage. Hot and humid inside so book dates with this in mind.

Room Tip: Rooms face afternoon and evening sun so can get rather warm at height of summer. We were given a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfingers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is very quiet with a nice garden - Our room was on the ground floor and very dated. Strip away the wallpaper and given a fresh coat of paint and lose the stained carpet may do wonders. The food in the evening and breakfast were fine but overpriced for what it was. Next time I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tucked away in Cambrai, you wouldn't expect to find such a beautiful oasis of calm as this, but here it is, on the St Quentin road (just south of the hospital complex), a most considerately run hotel furnished in a most beautiful manner. If the weather is good, take time to sit in the delightful garden and enjoy a drink. The hoteliers will even recommend a selection of nice places to eat in Cambrai (that rare thing, a lively town in northern France) if you don't want to eat in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I too feel that this hotel is growing very tired. Our room wasn't particularly clean and disappointingly maintained. The previous review says it all. Rather dark, and dismal. We have stayed here before but clearly the room we stayed in had seen better times.
The restaurant was fine but not good enough to attract me back. From all the hotels on this latest tour, it was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here to explore the Battlefields of Cambrai. Owned by Phillipe Gorczinski,the man who found the Tank at Flesquieres, the Lounge is devoted to his passion with stylish tank models. The Hotel is situated off the main road next to the Hospital. Spacious parking, surrounded by trees and flowers with a nice garden. The extensive tree foiliage does result in reduced light in some rooms, but was awoken each morning by the birdsong. Clean , dining area, used the restaurant for one night, nice but opted for variety in town. Bar offered normal French/Belgian beers. Bed's very comfortable, large bedroom and bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe space.
Town centre, 10 minute walk away. One of my friends, needed a taxi and was told there were only 10 taxis working on a Saturday night, so would potentially be a problem. There are plenty of restaurants in Town and not one let us down, in fact overall one of the better small French towns for quality bars/restaurants.
As stated, visited for Battlefield Trips and served the purpose, getting to meet Phillipe and visit the WW1 Tank Deborah that he recovered in Flesquieres. Would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrai hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
271 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
1.8 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Chope
Hotel La Chope
#8 of 13 in Cambrai
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
hotelF1 Cambrai
hotelF1 Cambrai
#7 of 13 in Cambrai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beatus

Property: Hotel Beatus
Address: 718 Avenue de Paris, Cambrai, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beatus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Beatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatus Hotel Cambrai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing