We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de la Motte Fenelon
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Quirky location next to a rather ugly council estate, but don't let that put you off, or some of the other negatives listed below. Its an old chateau so just bear that in mind. It has period charcater. We stayed in the Orangeri annexe. Rooms were small but ok, got a bit warm though even with rad turned off !

The food in the restaurant was very good (a bit pricey but worth it) and its a nice setting in the cellars. No English menu so take a phrase book, although the staff will do their best to help. Top marks for the chateau in providing a gluten free meal for my wife. This was the first time abroad since being diagnosed
but the staff were excellant despite their limited English. No adverse reaction which was a change from some British attempts at "gluten free".

Breakfast was continental with sufficient choice and served in the lounge area.

The basic chalet rooms set in the grounds do not look particularly appealing so would suggest you go for the main part or the annexe rooms.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful.

We only stayed one night but had a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 236 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere to stay while visiting the Somme area then please look elsewhere this place is awful. There isn't anything that is good to say about the place, the accomodation is very, very tired, the food isn't acceptable (a colleague of mine found a snail in his salad - it wasn't an edible snail!) and the service is poor (they even failed to acknowledge the aforementioned snail!). We stayed here as a party of 14 guys visiting the WWI battlefields, we stayed across the range of rooms available from the top priced suites (tired and dirty) through to the standard rooms that are situated in cabins in the woods in the grounds (think 1950's Butlins chalets). We ate in the breakfast room and the 'Les Douves' restaurant, both were poor. The only redeeming point is that it is so bad we didn't stop talking about it and the guy that booked it will never live it down. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: If you must stay go for the more expensive rooms in the Chateau building....other than that go elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanPCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were looking forward to staying here and having a gourmet meal. Appearance from outside was charming. However - when we went to reception, we were concerned when we were told that they had no record of a reservation for us, and questioned how we had done this, and when. Fortunately we had printed off evidence of the reservation and advance payment having been made. They then rang the kitchen in front of us and told them they would have to cook dinner for us as we were unexpected guests. So - hardly welcoming..

The bedroom was somewhat fusty and décor was dilapidated, although bathroom and furniture was ok.

When we went to dinner it was clear that we were the only guests, the restaurant looked charming - however it was cold.

Dinner - we had purchased what had been advertised as a gourmet dinner, however it was clear that they had pulled this together from what was in their freezer and store cupboards. Presentation of the food was excellent - very attractive, but the food was very poor standard. Starter of fishcake was cold, tasteless and revolting. Starter of confit de legume bruschetta was comprised of a slice of white toast with guacamole, pickled carrot, one piece of pickled pepper and lettuce - hardly French gourmet!! Main courses - pork - tough and ropey, beef - quite nice.
The wine was too cold, and since it was put on a table out of our reach, and service was inattentive - we had to get up from the table to serve ourselves.
After we had gone to bed, we had a phone call to the room telling us that we could not have breakfast downstairs, we could only have it in the room which we were really not happy about.
Breakfast - babybel cheese served when we were in a supposedly gourmet location in France!!!!

Really very disappointed in this, if we had not prepaid, then I would have refused to pay Euro 165 for the dinner and b&b (drinks obviously were extra).

Would most definitely NOT recommend this.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandCW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Motte Fenelon, we stayed last November and thought OMG on the approach, the approach if anything was worse this time.The hotel and Chateau is set within wonderful grounds and seems very secure.
The location suits us we used it last October on our way south and this time on our way back to the ferry, we also explored some of the graves and battlefield sites from the later end of WW1 although it is also close to the Somme battlefields.
On our 1st stay we had a dinner bed & breakfast package and stayed in the Orangerie which is adjacent to the Chateau, (cost was circa €170) This time we stayed B&B in the main Chateau (€130) which was worth the extra and we booked the evening meal at the hotel (€82 for 2 including wine & water).
We found the hotel clean, comfortable; it is worth noting the rooms either have no Air con or a very basic unit.
The food is excellent evening meal works out at about £20 each and wine is from £22 up and in my opinion is good value for the quality of food of and wine we have had on both occasions. Breakfasts are buffet style with fresh breads, croissants; meat etc., the only problem with breakfast is the croissants are massive and irresistible.
The Chateau is rated at 3 star and that is fair, some decor is a little dated and the breakfast room needs re decorating, if you want a Concierge fawning all over you and your luggage carrying don't book, if you are going to stay in the garden rooms (100 metres away from the Chateau) and not planning to have a meal in the hotel i would book a Formula one or other budget hotel.
We will stay again, we are thinking of booking 3 or 4 days and touring the WW1 battlefields, we have friend staying at the end of August on our recommendation.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Main Chateau as the 1st choice we had room 10 which is located iover the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,571,964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

After following the google map directions through a rather shabby council estate, we found the chateau. It looked a little unwelcoming with the front door being closed and no sign to say it was the reception entrance. Having gone in, we were registered and given room 1 in the chateau on the 2nd floor. Lift goes up to 1st and no offer was made to help with the luggage from the car or to the room. The standard of housekeeping was poor, the hall carpet hadn't seen a Hoover for a few days, there were dead insects on windowsills and the windows on the landing were dirty. However room 1 was clean and well appointed.
The gardens are huge and would be a wonderful place to stroll in if kept in good order, the paths were covered in weeds and only the lawn was tidy.
The restaurant "les Douves" was FABULOUS, if a little pricey (90€ for 2 including drinks), but well worth a try. Service there was efficient and unobtrusive. Breakfast was excellent with the usual choice of items.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ghislaine334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was our last stop before heading back to the UK and after a week in Italy
At first, we were wondering where the sat nav was taking us: through a council estate. And suddenly, here it was in all its splendour !
Very traditional chateau with loads of original features (piece of furnitures ...)
Staff is very polite and helpful
Our room was in the chateau, on the last floor. It was a pleasant room, from which you could see the grounds
As we had a drink outside, we were offered some home-made nibbles
In the evening, we had dinner there too. The restaurant is located in the cellars. Very nice and full of history. The menu is a gourmet one, a bit pricy but worth it.
Breakfast: buffet type and excellent but fresh orange juice, fresh croissants/pains au chocolat ... ham, cheese .
(you can buy the famous sweets "Les Betises de Cambrai" at the hotel !
It is worth taking the car and go the city centre as this location will not give you a good impression of Cambrai !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katia_bensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in the Chateaux although we were originally offered rooms in the Orangary - although a bit too warm in the room, even with a fan running, I couldn't really complain.

The grounds were expansive, the breakfast was superb (best one I've enjoyed for a long time), the ambiance and decor was delightful.

Ok, the negatives, for not making it 5 stars....you have to drive through (I presume) a university campus to get there, and late at night there was an amount (not a huge amount) of screaming/laughter.....which would be fine, but we had all the windows open.

But a very pretty chateaux, friendly staff....so quite a find

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambrai
2.5 mi away
Ibis Cambrai
Ibis Cambrai
#2 of 13 in Cambrai
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Beatus
Hotel Beatus
#1 of 13 in Cambrai
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Logis Mouton Blanc
Logis Mouton Blanc
#6 of 13 in Cambrai
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tabl' Hotel
Tabl' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-Notre-Dame
121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Chope
Hotel La Chope
#7 of 13 in Cambrai
48 reviews
13.7 mi away
Novotel Valenciennes
Novotel Valenciennes
#6 of 14 in Valenciennes
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Motte Fenelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Motte Fenelon

Address: Square du chateau, 59400, Cambrai, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cambrai
Price Range: $80 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Motte Fenelon 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau de la Motte Fenelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Motte Fenelon Hotel Cambrai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing