We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“les gens de mer”
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“les gens de mer”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

great location with plenty of parking which is a bonus in a big town where parking is difficult.staff very friendly, hotel clean and tidy although could do with a lick of paint.
good breakfast, room a good size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    68
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
33
90
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The North
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Room clean and beds comfortable but just felt grotty. Corridor old, dirty carpet made it feel dirty before you entered your room. Shower small. Staff were really pleasant. Didn't eat here as it was very brief stopover on way back to Eurotunnel. We arrived in the dark and left in the dark so maybe that didn't help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was clean and tidy and exactly what we expected for the price and 2 star rating. Good central location and easy parking. Breakfast was varied and ample, with a variety of breads, meat, cheese and yoghurts.
For us the best feature was the staff. Sadly our (too old for European recovery) car broke down and everyone did everything they could to help us. Thanks to the family connections of one member of staff we found a solution, which was great; however even if it had not been successful the genuine offers of assistance were fantastic and gave us comfort in a difficult situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Yes, the hotel is in need of some refurbishment, but its location is great - just over the bridge from the centre of town and right next to the marina - and it's cheap. Our room had a good ensuite shower/toilet, an OK bed, free wifi and TV. The hotel was warm throughout despite the chilly conditions outside and we had decent night's sleep every night.
We didn't try the breakfast - at €8.50 it seemed a bit pricey, plus there were plenty of cafes and shops nearby to buy a little something for a fraction of the price. Likewise, we didn't sample the restaurant as there were some cheaper restaurants in the town centre, particularly in the old part of town, with wider choices on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leondvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a simple yet well run, well organised and solidly good budget hotel. It is not 5* but nor does it pretend to be. The facade is a little dated - looks more like something from Marineville! - and the design of the public areas reflects this. However... The rooms are a reasonable size, the bathroom a little small but clean, well presented, and a super hot shower. I found the bed a bit uncomfortable but the mattresses are of the 'proper' sprung variety, and I don't have that sort at home so it was different rather than bad quality. My sisterwas happy with hers in her room. Breakfast was standard fare - no coplaints there either. This hotel does not pretend to offer anything beyond a 2* budget stay. And they deliver with alacrity.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look over the Marina and look up the town. There is a main road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Facilities and everything in the hotel are basic, it's value for money and located at the marine area, which is a walking distance to the centre. There is free Wifi and it's not bad, got a free parking area too. The only funny thing was...we put the 'do not disturb' sign outside the door but the maid still knocked on the door and opened the door, we told them 'no thanks'. I bet she didn't understand english well, and came back again in half an hour/an hour, I dont know cos I was sleeping. So we needed to tell her again, we dont need her to make the room. Overall, the hotel was ok and clean, considering it's very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShukLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Doesn't look much from the outside, but this is a very nice, if basic, hotel. We stayed in a double room, which was quite small, but absolutely fine for a short break (we stayed one night). Bathroom was very small with no bath, but shower was very good. Bed was not the best I've ever slept in, but certainly not uncomfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollycall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.8 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
669 reviews
3.3 mi away
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
#11 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Property: Les Gens de Mer
Address: Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Gens De Mer Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing