We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, basic hotel”
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value, basic hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Doesn't look much from the outside, but this is a very nice, if basic, hotel. We stayed in a double room, which was quite small, but absolutely fine for a short break (we stayed one night). Bathroom was very small with no bath, but shower was very good. Bed was not the best I've ever slept in, but certainly not uncomfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollycall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    68
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
33
90
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I chose this Hotel due to its proximity to the Marina, where our friends' yachts were moored. We received a warm welcome upon arrival, and allocated a room overlooking the front and the road. The noise of the road kept my wife awake the first night, and her bed was uncomfortable, so we requested and were allocated a room at the back. This was much quieter, until the wind got-up; not the Hotel's fault. The facilities in both rooms were adequate, and the free WiFi most welcome. Breakfast was good. At all times,mthe staff were bery friendly, and a number spoke English. All in all, a good basic hotel, which we would chose again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 20H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

POSITIVE

The location was probably the best quality. Room 112 had a view to the road and the marina, (better than looking at the back of the building). They had a restaurant if you didn't want to go out. Staff were friendly. WiFi was good and free. There was free parking on site.

NEGATIVE
Lack of a lift is a bit hard with heavy suitcases. English is not spoken by many staff. Breakfast was available for €8.50 per person but I wouldn't recommend it for the value or freshness - go into town. Our bed wasn't that comfortable. We stayed 2 nights but the morning after the first night the cleaner knocked on our door to change towels at about 9:00 am! Unbelievable! Lucky we were awake to say go away. The neighbor wasn't so lucky as I heard the maid say sorry, so she must have walked in. The maids are in the hallway a fair part of the day, quite a nuisance trying to get past.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I booked this hotel twice by mistake and didn't realise until too late to cancel, however the manager (i think it was the manager) said he would sort this for me. I did pay a little extra but I definately did not pay for two rooms. Room was small but clean and it was for one night only. We picked this hotel as it had car parking and was in the harbour, but its not quaint harbour. It is in a great situation for walking into the town. Our room overlooked the road. Breakfast was a continental buffet, there was plenty of it and it was good. We will prob book it again when we go in two weeks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mridsdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Positives First - Location good for walking to centre of town and the hotel has off street parking, friendly staff, free wifi

Negatives - One of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a while - needs drastic refurbishment - yes maybe it’s at the cheaper end of the pricing scale but no excuse for stained carpets, curtains linen holes in walls, wall paper peeling off etc etc -- Disgusting smell in top corridor also fire exits and extinguishers blocked by old furniture and cleaning materials. We went into the centre for a meal and left as soon as we woke without visiting for breakfast – we could not wait to get out!!!

The other half of the hotel building is a derelict wreck with broken windows and litter about – not an appealing sight

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewanwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here as part of a group of walkers and having read some of the comments was rather apprehensive - especially as the hotel's own website doesn't do it justice, either! Bearing in mind that this a 2 star hotel, I found my room to be good size, warm and clean with a lovely view over the marina and town. The breakfast was more than adequate, even in preparation for a days' walking! The group ate in the restaurant one night - a set meal, admittedly - but it was lovely. The fish was beautiful and the service excellent. In fact. the staff were all lovely.
As a budget hotel, this certainly delivers and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YayaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulogne-sur-Mer hotels
0.8 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
669 reviews
3.3 mi away
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
#11 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Property: Les Gens de Mer
Address: Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Gens De Mer Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing