We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excited.”

Nausicaa, National Sea Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.06*
and up
Entrance Ticket to the NAUSICAA National Sea Centre in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: More than just a simple aquarium, Nausicaá, National Sea Centre, is the largest European complex entirely devoted to the universe of marine life. Nausicaá offers an entertaining, educational and scientific, visit raising public awareness about the need to act responsibly towards the world's seas if their resources and beauty are to be maintained. Let yourself be astounded by the immense variety of the sea life: 5 000m2 exposition space 36 000 living creatures 1 000 different species housed in 4.5 million litres of water which is dispersed into 50 aquariums, large tanks and terrariums Nausicaá proposes you a wonderful chance to discover "the Penguin" a unique marine bird in a revisited environment and alert us to the harmful risks of global warming in the new exhibition "Climate & Ocean: Getting hot in here! What does the future offer?" Nausicaá, take a plunge to discover the diversity of the marine life.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excited.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to Nausicaa with my friend from school and enjoyed it thoroughly there. They were all different fascinating animals there. My highlight was the Moon Jellyfish and the Crocodile. My only improvement would be that they should do seal shows. But overall loved this place and would definitely go again. :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracybeaker132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    916
    247
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“educational school visit to France 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very happy with the centre.lots to see and do to keep 30 children aged 9-11entertained. One child left his bag at the centre.we had our hotel ring them to asked if it had been found,and a very kind member of staff dropped it into the hotel . The lady expained she lived in the village next to our hotel.The boy thanked the lady for her kindness. A big thank you from myself the party leader :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a cold afternoon here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The highlights were the fish and other sea creatures but there are other exhibits on related maritime themes, mostly conservation but also the fishing industry. Despite it being the height of the school trip season we generally had a good view of everything and did not find it overcrowded. I wondered about the size of the tanks for the largest creatures; yes they are big but big enough?
The 'teaching' exhibits did not grab the attention or engage even an interested adult and are the part that could certainly be improved; most people were ignoring them and just making for the aquarium tanks. To see the same tanks from above and below water was fascinating and the variety of fish and habitats superb.
How long you need depends on how long you like to watch each group of fish; we are snorkellers who can watch for ages so you might be a bit quicker than us, especially if you take small children.
I agree it is a bit expensive. 2 Seniors were charged €33.60

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Tatre, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well laid out - this was an excellent experience - I even enjoyed ticking the rays as they came to the side of their tank to have their under-bellies tickled!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You must visit....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great aquarium - has everything for the smaller child and the interested adult. Gives the London Aquarium a run for its money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nausicaa, National Sea Centre also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Nausicaa, National Sea Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing