We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room Nothing More” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Matelote
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Kents Bank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Room Nothing More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for our yearly Christmas jaunt to France for shopping etc which is always good in this area but we were not that impressed with our stay here, the room was nice and clean and quiet but the bathroom was terrible there was no window and the extractor fan was not working and the radiator was stuck on full blast, we could not stand it in there for more than a few minutes we reported this and was assured it would be fixed it was not! we stayed for 4 days its very overpriced 12E for breakfast 12E for parking a really expensive restaurant no atmosphere and quite a hike to the centre but there is little or no choice of Hotels in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beamer_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    151
    78
    23
    15
See reviews for
54
235
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Despite Boulogne feeling quite tired since the catamarans stopped their UK crossing route, this hotel is a real gem. Fantastic tasting menu €250 for two person tasting menu with food, 20mins from eurotunnel in Coquelles. The spa, cold pool and jacuzzi are smallish but well delivered.

Classical but well maintained.
Expensive but worth it as a romantic treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matelote R, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Matelote, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! La Matelote hopes to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am sorry but I am not going to be able to give you an unbiased review. The reason being is that I really love staying at La Matelote on the grey, green and in some places grim dock front of Boulogne whenever I am visiting Nord pas de Calais.

I was staying with a group who were spread around the town but I was lucky enough to bag the plum spot at Le Matelote, which would be the fifth or possibly even sixth time I have stayed here. I was on the ground floor to the rear of the hotel and the room, though spacious and clean, is not as pleasing to the eye as its equivalent on the first or second floors with a sea view. If possible always try and book one of those to make the stay complete.

With a comfortable bed, a decent desk area to work from and a splendid deep bath I was more than prepared when I sloped into the bar for a delicious and spicy bloody mary before heading off for the highlight of any stay at La Matelote which is the restaurant and chef Tony Lestienne's superb kitchen.

My three companions all had the set fish menu but, having a fish allergy, my set meal had to be entirely reworked. And it was, with the minimum of fuss. Snails, lamb en croute, interspersed with delicious tasting dishes appeared seamlessly, rounded off my a magnificent locally sourced cheese board and some sweet and delicious desserts.

La Matelote is not the place for young people looking for excitement but for those of us who appreciate a warm welcome from reception, a comfortable bed room, equally restful communal areas and Lestienne's fantastic cooking then there really is only one place to stay whenever one is in this part of Nord pas de Calais.

Room Tip: Book a superior room on the upper floors and make sure to reserve a place at the hotel car park if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matelote R, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Matelote, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your sheer enthusiasm about our hotel and restaurant. We are doing our best to ensure that our guests spend a beautiful time with us and share our passion for food. We love to receive people. We make sure that they spend some good quality time with us. Hope to see you soon. Cheers! La Matelote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a very charming hotel with a Michelin restaurant. We loved our room--it was quiet and spacious with a very comfortable bed and nice furnishings. The man at the reception desk, who also served as our bartender in the comfortable living room-like lounge, was extremely helpful with a more than adequate command of the English language. The location is across the street from a beautiful beach, although the view is not great due to a large building blocking the views. We ate at the restaurant and had one of our best meals ever. Well worth a stop here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matelote R, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Matelote, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your warm comments about our hotel and restaurant. We are delighted to learn that you spent a lovely time with us. The building in front of our establishment is Nausicaa, one of the biggest aquarium in Europe. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, La Matelote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

the hotel is nice with good location lots of easy parking facilities around.
good value for money. Internet free
the little negative, the TV was not working at the time I was their

but the restaurant is just the must.
a little bit expensive but so worth it and some real good wines

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matelote R, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Matelote, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We greatly appreciate all the inputs from our guests. We are very happy to learn that you had a great time with us, although your TV was not working. It is unfortunate, but this sort of disagreement happens in all establishment. We did have some issues with the TV during your stay but we have been working diligently on it and the problem has been all resolved. All the very best, La Matelote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great room and great staff. Immaculate double room and dog friendly.
Very quiet rooms - double glazed with no street noise.
Helpful staff. Can't fault the rooms.

Ridiculous extra €12 for parking though - despite free parking in car park under the nautical centre opposite.

This is a good hotel but grossly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedoclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadine, Switzerland.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is so convenient when crossing the Channel; by Speed Ferries before its demise, and now by Eurotunnel, and is well worth the drive from Calais.
They have some nice larger rooms which are worth the extra. Also the garage is a bonus when traveling in a car full of valuables. The breakfast has improved over the last 2 years.
A few years ago the adjacent restaurant deserved its Michelin Rosette for food, wine and service.
But recently, for the price, the food has declined, in quality and generosity, and the wine list, although varied and interesting, is mostly expensive for the quality. The menu is still interesting and mostly well executed, and occasionally there are exceptional dishes which were previously the norm. In our experience this decline in the quality and execution of cuisine is becoming common amongst previously outstanding restaurant. One suspects that many of the dishes are prepared, frozen, and then by some technical magic converted back to a hot meal in minutes; to save costs.
Despite these comments, this is a nice high class restaurant, but if for a change you want ordinary good French cooking, friendly staff, and a wonderful view of the sea, go to Nausica/Seaworld centre opposite, which is run by the same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatriate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Matelote R, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Matelote, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your input about our Hotel and Restaurant La Matelote.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant has been holding a Michelin star for the past 30 years, a sign of consistency in the products and food we offer to our clients. We are surprised to hear that we were disappointed by the generosity of our plates. In fact, our guests always comment about the opposite, which is the generosity of our plates. With regards to the quality of our dishes, they are made fresh every day with the best ingredients we can find on the market. We certainly never froze our dishes just to heat them back at the last minute, that would be totally contrary to our doctrine and our passion for food!

We hope to see you soon and we will be delighted to invite you in our kitchen so you can have a privilege look at how we prepare our delicacies.

All the very best,

La Matelote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulogne-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cathedrale
Ibis Boulogne sur Mer Centre Cat...
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les Ports
Ibis Boulogne Sur Mer Centre Les...
#4 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Matelote

Property: Hotel La Matelote
Address: 70 boulevard Sainte Beuve, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Matelote 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Côte d'Opale,La Matelote profits by this unique landscape. A few minutes from the town center and the beach. The hotel is composed of 35 air conditioned rooms, each with its own style and a secure parking. Wellness area at your disposal for a relaxing moment during your stay. ATTENTION !!!Swimming pool and Jacuzzi closed for works.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Matelote Hotel
La Matelote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing